Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent BBC wildlife documentary series
This captivating series follows a family of Indian tigers from when the cubs are 10 days old to when they reach maturity. Using modern filming techniques (and disguised cameras carried by elephants), this film gets amazingly close to the tigers, their prey and their rivals, and captures their hunting and family behaviour in ground-breaking detail. There are fewer than...
Published on 6 May 2008 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fair chunk missing
I bought this for a present having seen the original enthralling series on the BBC. Imagine my surprise when we watched it together as only part was included on this DVD. There is a chunk of the televised version that is not in the package, so the narration rather stops in mid-flow. The cubs/young tigers are in peril...what happens? Those with the DVD will never know...
Published on 25 Nov 2008 by Julius


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent BBC wildlife documentary series, 6 May 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This captivating series follows a family of Indian tigers from when the cubs are 10 days old to when they reach maturity. Using modern filming techniques (and disguised cameras carried by elephants), this film gets amazingly close to the tigers, their prey and their rivals, and captures their hunting and family behaviour in ground-breaking detail. There are fewer than 3500 Indian tigers left alive in the wild, and this is probably the best footage we'll ever see of a young family.

The narration is top-notch as usual from David Attenborough, although the infatuation with 'rock cam' and 'trunk cam' and the like is getting a bit old. However the pictures are well worth the techno-wheez, because we see the four cubs from their earliest days in intimate close-up. It's unusual for a tiger litter to be this big, and the young mother has real trouble keeping all four of them under control (even when they can hardly walk straight!)
The filming and script are unsentimental, if a little bit dramatic to keep things pepped up. In fact the tiger cubs are under constant threat. They live on a wildlife reserve but even so must be protected from poachers. The only protection from other animals is their mother, who must hunt for herself and the cubs, and keep away leopards and jackals, and fend off any strange male adult tigers. She also has to do a formidable amoutn of hunting to keep the cubs from starving, and it's fascinating to watch her stalking, chasing and -- sometimes -- actually catching the deer she regularly preys upon.

OK, so if you've seen many wildlife films then you're used to the life cycle of a tiger and there are no great shocks here. But the level of depth is remarkable; the cubs are utterly unafraid of the cameras and frolic around next to them, swimming in pools to beat the summer heat. The cameras also capture the other animals which share their territory -- monkeys, deer, sloth bears and red dogs and more.
The series follows the family for two years as the cubs grow to maturity, and survive the threats from their surroundings and other animals. Finally the play fights turn to real aggression and the family has to break up, so that the young tigers can find territories of their own. If you aren't moved by their story then your heart has indeed turned to stone. Watch it before they are all gone...
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 Jun 2008
By 
Boof (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD (from the BBC series) is truly stunning. It grabs your heart from the first minute and doesn't let go until the end and beyond. It is the story of a female tiger in India and her 4 cubs (2 girls, 2 boys) from when they are 10 days old and we follow them through babyhood, adolesence and watch them as they make their first steps to becoming independent. Most of the filming is done by "trunkcam" which are log shaped cameras that elephants carry on their trunks as they wander through the jungle. The cubs don't seem at all phased by them and indeed are sometimes so intrigued that they get so close that one trunkcam ends up submerged in the pool and being tossed around by an over excited tiger cub!

The DVD is a story, narrated by David Attenborough, rather than bitesize chunks about various animals. It's narrated cleverly so that we feel compelled to keep watching the tigers as they go about their daily business. There are some very funny parts and some sad parts but ultimatley it is a joy to watch them develop into adulthood. I may be bisaed as I am a tiger fanatic but I would wholeheartely recommend this DVD to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what can you say but- wow, 12 Aug 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Covering 2 years in the life of a tigress and her 4 cubs, this 3 part documentary is truly - well- amazing. I'm so pleased that it remains unsentimental- the only tiger with a name is the father, "Charger" (after his unnerving habit of charging the film crew). (I just couldn't watch Meerkat Manor which I found cloyingly anthropomorphic). Yes it does slightly overplay the tension in the 3 episodes (will their mother return after a mysterious absence to catch them dinner?). But injury from territorial scraps with other tigers is a real threat to survival- as evidenced in the documentary. It's quite astounding that these cubs grow so quickly, yet are incapable of learning to catch their own food for such a long period of time- in fact they bounce around interfering with their mother's stealthy attempts, setting off the deer alarm calls.

It's great that technology presumably derived from the robotic equipment developed to explore Mars is being targeted at a better understanding of this planet and its vanishing inhabitants. The film crew use both static, elephant held and remotely controlled self propelling cameras to catch intimate shots of the tigers and other inhabitants of the park. One seeming problem is that most of the resident wildlife likes to check out its reflection in the camera lens- and one of the cubs wasn't adverse to giving a camera a dip in the pool.

When the cubs grow and start scrapping you suddenly see the unleashed raw power of what started as bundles of fluff tumbling uncontrollably down rocks. You wouldn't want to meet one of them unexpectedly. Yet you so admire their strength and beauty. Also available by the same production company are Spy In The... Complete featuring lions, bears and elephants and a two parter Trek: Spy On The Wildebeest [2007] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great, never seen before insight., 11 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. R. J. Spratley "spratters" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD a few weeks ago after becoming very interested in knowing more about the lives of wild big cats. I must say I am amazed at the quality of footage that you get from this DVD. It contains three episodes, which are about an hour long each, which follow the growing up of four cubs, their mum and their dad who you don't often see in other Tiger programs. It starts off with the cubs I think a few weeks old. They have just started venturing out in the open and still have their eyes shut. It is quite amusing watching them falling all over the place while their mother goes around collecting them.

You also get to see many other rare, hardly ever filmed animals in their habitat as well which makes the DVD all that better to watch.

I could go on about the amount of content you get with this DVD but I will be here all day and will spoil it.

It is all filmed with the help of camoflauged cameras placed by elephants, which turns out to be a fantastic idea with some amazing footage.

The commentry is by David Attenborough who I think is the best you can get. He makes you enjoy the experiance so much more.

I have already watched this DVD twice through and as it is so watchable i'm sure this will never gather dust.

I would definately recommend this to anyone, whether they have a love for wildlife or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tigers, leopards, sloth bears and wild boar. what more could you ask for?, 23 April 2008
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
this is aces, this miniseries. (or it was when it was on TV anyway) maybe there's a bit too much banging on about 'bouldercams' and 'trunkcams' and for all i know 'apecams' and 'pigcams', and maybe Sir David has been corralled into doing that annoying 'ramping up the tension' thing they do on Big Cat Diary (will Simba's cubs be eaten by jackals? of course they won't! we wouldn't put that on the telly!). But its long enough that it can take a good, leisurely look at the animals and their world - something that isn't always the case with the flagship 'life' series - the photography is as stunning as you'd expect, the pacing is good, and - well, what's wrong with you? tiger cubs! look at their little faces!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 22 July 2008
By 
Ian E. Hall (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best and most detailed insight into the Tigers secret life. Superb close ups of a Tigress and her four cubs from birth to adulthood. As always superbly narrated by David Attenborough, which holds your attention during the three programs.
As the programs were filmed in High Definition, I am hoping the HD version in Blu-ray will be released in the near future.
Not to be missed by Tiger and other Big Cat fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Tiger/Animal Series i've ever seen!!, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you want to see tigers, this is the DVD to go for! It follows the mother and 4 tiger cuds, and sees them grow up. The camera gets in to places and sees things i never thought possible on film. The tigers are not aware of the presents of any one watching them. David Attenborough's narration is excellent. Not only does he help you understand the life of tigers, but is at times very witty and funny. Its a delight watching the spy series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into tiger's life, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
The insight into the tiger's life is quite surprising; the approach is completely different from what one would expect when it comes to such big carnivores. If one is used with Sir David Attenborough's style he would know that his documentaries are not presenting nature's aspects in an predictable way. That combined with supperb video quality; extraordinary images and his pleasant and inspiring comentaries makes this small series an excellent and educational way of understanding how one of the worlds biggest cats lives in a peacefull and rich environment protected from the human impact. Combine that with the extremely interesting insights on how the whole filming operation was carried on using elephants and the newest hi-tech technologies you got the recipe for a brilliant story not only for adults but also for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tiger spy in the jungle, 1 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this on the BBC I knew how brilliant the dvd was, so it is really nice to have it on demand. It continues to amaze and astound at every viewing. Cannot not praise the wonderful photography enough. For a tiger enthusiast like myself it never fails to thrill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fair chunk missing, 25 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for a present having seen the original enthralling series on the BBC. Imagine my surprise when we watched it together as only part was included on this DVD. There is a chunk of the televised version that is not in the package, so the narration rather stops in mid-flow. The cubs/young tigers are in peril...what happens? Those with the DVD will never know. A great show, but a poor show, BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD]
Tiger - Spy in the Jungle [2008] [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2008)
£6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews