Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Glory review
As a 14 year old I find Imperial Glory is a very good strategy game, the graphics are very good on all the units and the maps are suitable for everybodys' game preference. The tutorial helped me a lot when I first started playing - it explains basics very well. I would recommend this game to strategy game beginners.
Published on 2 Sept. 2012 by Margaret

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Glory
Imperial Glory is an obvious copy of Total War but is now available at a bargain price, and I even got it to run quite easily on my laptop. The graphics are very impressive and easily as good as you can find in Total War, however it does have a few faults.
In the campaign play the game mixes ecomonic and technological advances with your military campaign. So you can...
Published 19 months ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Glory review, 2 Sept. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
As a 14 year old I find Imperial Glory is a very good strategy game, the graphics are very good on all the units and the maps are suitable for everybodys' game preference. The tutorial helped me a lot when I first started playing - it explains basics very well. I would recommend this game to strategy game beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It!, 27 Jun. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Yeah Sold Out Software,

We should be grateful for this kinda stuff.
The Game itself is engrossing and will take up much of your time. Ok the graphics are not eyecatching but still fine.

The price is outstanding, you can download easy keyboard instructions instead of printing off reams of BS from the disc.

No Steam Crap and no Internet Interface, just real old fashioned PC Strategy Game which will keep you entertained for weeks without worry about O/S Operating Microsoft System, will work on anything almost nowadays.
Highly Recommended...I wouldn't worry about the Historcal Accuracy, its not what this game is all about, however almost accurate.
Enjoy and have great Fun at a knock down price without outside interference.
Regards,
Greg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 9 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This is a great simple game that does not go too far into details of management. Been fun to play although some of the battles can be over quicker than thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Glory, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Imperial Glory is an obvious copy of Total War but is now available at a bargain price, and I even got it to run quite easily on my laptop. The graphics are very impressive and easily as good as you can find in Total War, however it does have a few faults.
In the campaign play the game mixes ecomonic and technological advances with your military campaign. So you can end up with some very unusual battles far removed from written history - having no heavy cavalry or no artillery for example.
There are about half a dozen historical battles which can be played as one off's outside the main campaign as well as quick play battles of your own design. The historical battles are small scale representations of the real thing. These are great fun and look fantastic, but I found the troops move too quickly even on the lowest speed settings and its hard to control your men as effectively as you might like. Most battles are over in minutes and without any simulation of moral often result in mass slaughter on both sides, with you as the general frantically rushing to move your units where you want them with little time to sit back and watch the show.
That said on those occasions you do get a chance to relax and watch your men decimate the enemy (usually by hitting Pause first) it does look great. The different unit types are well defined and you can order simple formations of line, column and square to simulate basic Napoleonic tactics.
So no, its not a great game but for such a low price it can provide several hours of entertainment. Its also quick and simple to play, unlike some more advanced wargames. Well worth giving it a try, what have you got to loose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On to glory!, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Atkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Easily the best Napoleonic game i've played.(note: i haven't been lucky enough to play Napoleon: Total War,yet!)

Good control system during battles - though the camera is a little bit tricky to handle at times - click and drag to gather and control your troops, hotkeys for formations, firing, att/def stance etc. Graphics are decent for a game 8 years old, though of course not of the standard of the Total War series. Plenty of units on-screen at any onetime and you can have some good-sized battles (Division level).

Campaign is good and can be addictive once you get going! You start as you chosen nation (France, Britain, Austria, Russia or Prussia,) and try to lead your empire -through the nuances of alliances, resources, commercial treaties, invasions etc - to glory. Once you get to grips with the system winning is pretty easy even on hard mode.

You can also reply famous battles of the time (Waterloo, Austerlitz etc), with the option of customizing how the forces line up.

All in all, a good game, and i've more than got my £3.50's worth out of it!!!

Vive la glory!!

ps: If anybody finds that their game freezes during campaign mode, try running the game in Windows 98 mode(r-click on Imp Glory desktop shortcut, Properties, Compatability, then select win98). I had that problem and after a quick search online found that switching to win98 completely solved the issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO total War, 25 Feb. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
No comparison to the Total War franchise. THe strategic part of the game is average with no individuals to control (spies??)and a rather basic soldier development tool. THe really poor part is the battlefield the controls are crazy, the camera has a mind of it's own and there is no way to control time - so you are waiting for ages for forces to advance to range. Also in the historical battles you cannot move units before starting battle - if the computer has put your artillery in a dumb position than you are screwed if your a defender. Games like these are sold on how interesting the fights are and every time I play the game it feels as though reasonble tactical manovers mean nothing, so calvary can charge uphill just as well as they can on flat ground. Every European forces have their own equivalent of Riflemen which is historically inaccurate as is the Russian artillery. The game is just not in the same league as other games of this ilk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good game if it could be updated and expanded!, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Great game, a bit dated. If only the other big nations like Ottoman and Spain be included as active participants, it would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and Fun, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Great game, educational and fun, good for history, good for finance and maths, perfect gift for the teenager and fun for the adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Potential...., 26 Feb. 2012
By 
Flower "Flower" (Qatar, Middle East) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Imperial Glory is a good game but very slow paced indeed and there is a great limit to the factions you can play. I would definitely recommend Total War over this. However, Imperial Glory is a good game for its historical setting and the campaign map is quite nice. The game also has a strong element of diplomacy and has helped me understand more about his period in history. I would recommend it for strategy fans but, if you've played Total War, it doesn't come close I'm afraid.
The game hasn't reached its potential...simple as. The game engine is not good, the graphics are poor and you can only play as Britain, France, Prussia, Austria and Russia - it totally ignores Spain, the Ottoman Empire, Sweden, Egypt...These factions were powerful historically and in my opinion I don't think they should have been ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Glory (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
very good quality thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Glory (PC DVD)
Imperial Glory (PC DVD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows XP)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews