Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good bike racer
Bought and played this over the weekend and have to say I am rather imrpessed by the game.
I have previously owned moto GP 06 and moto GP 07 and have bought this to fill the time for moto gp 08.
To start with the game is very easy to pick and play but there also many options for the more daring. There is options like quick race and race weekend along with a full...
Published on 4 Aug. 2008 by Simon Donald

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game with a chasm in the difficulties
My first impressions of this game coming straight from playing SBK 07 on the PS2 was that the handling was a bit tame in comparison. But after playing this now and getting used to it and tweaking and testing all the settings I've found its much better than I previously thought.

My only real critisism of this; and many games have the same problem is that there...
Published on 5 Aug. 2008 by Amazonian Native


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game with a chasm in the difficulties, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Amazonian Native (Amazon Rainforest) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My first impressions of this game coming straight from playing SBK 07 on the PS2 was that the handling was a bit tame in comparison. But after playing this now and getting used to it and tweaking and testing all the settings I've found its much better than I previously thought.

My only real critisism of this; and many games have the same problem is that there aren't enough difficulty levels in racing games, and the ones they have usually jump up too far in difficulty, Amateur is too easy, I won it with about 250 points to spare over my closest rival, and Professional level too difficult for me to win a season with, I don't even get close, so you can see the huge gap there is in the levels, it would have been great if they had smaller margins between difficulties and more of them, then when a player improves they can step up to just the right amount, this problem won't be so for everyone, but if you do find yourself in the same position it can spoil it somewhat.

Graphics are nice, bike dashs are great, handling and ai are good, and its great fun to play online, and there's a demo on Xbox live marketplace if you want to check it out.

Incidentally the same makers of this game are releasing Moto GP 08 next month under the 'Capcom' publishing name , so expect that to be very similar, but of course with all the tracks and riders of the Moto GP season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good bike racer, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
Simon Donald "thugernomics666" (Scotland, Montrose) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought and played this over the weekend and have to say I am rather imrpessed by the game.
I have previously owned moto GP 06 and moto GP 07 and have bought this to fill the time for moto gp 08.
To start with the game is very easy to pick and play but there also many options for the more daring. There is options like quick race and race weekend along with a full championship, time trials and challenges
Graphically the game is very convincing the riders react in a life-like manner and the bikes look very detailed. The AI is superior to Moto GP, and handling is a lot kinder (you can touch the grass without falling off).
To compare it to a moto gp game:
Pro's - better tuning options/more technical detail, realistic AI, easier to handle
Con's - more basic (if more populated) online experience, less tracks, no custom character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 3 Aug. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've found this to be a better game than either of the 360 versions of Moto GP. Okay, graphically, Moto GP 07 is a lot better, but to be honest the lack of track detail doesn't detract from the racing. The most annoying thing about Moto GP was the god-awful AI that would knock you off at every corner. Thankfully, that doesn't seem to be an issue with SBK. Overall this is a decent motorbike racer with some realistic sim options for the fanatic. If you enjoyed Moto GP this is worth a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not ground-breaking, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Andrew Bushby "Fatbloke" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's a good fun game, but seems to lack some depth and playability.
The bike setup can make a lot of difference but takes some learning and the difficulty levels don't seem very 'even' - 'Easy' is very easy and 'hard' is almost impossible.
The graphics are awesome and equally the audio; you can tell when a Ducati is approaching without looking!
There's only one view in the game, from behind the bike, and it's quite low. This can make it tricky when speeding into a braking zone as you can't see who's in front of you and you both end up in the gravel.
The weather effects are good and you do have to play it differently when it's raining.
There's plenty of practise/warm up/qualifying sessions for each championship race so there's time to play around with the bike, although it'll take a patient person to pursue the perfect setup. You can also skip these sessions and jump straight into the racing.

It's a good fun game, good online (if you can find enough people to fill a grid), but its appeal probably won't last too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Moto GP 08, 9 Mar. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There is a lot to love about SBK 08. For a start it doesn't have the suicidal AI of the Moto GP series and that alone makes this a better purchase.

Graphics and sound are great and the AI gives you a really tight race. Handling is superb, if you're new to bike games you may struggle for a bit but anyone used to playing Moto GP or similar should get to grips with things quite quickly.

If you have Moto GP and love the concept but are sick to death of being sideswiped on every corner then this SBK 08 is the option for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars W SBK 2008, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a great game. Perhaps the cost of those bikes that you can sit on in Arcades should come down a bit though so we could all have one.
There are some people who obey the instruction "as the bike leans, you lean with it" and there are those people who die.
If you ever enjoy riding a proper motorbike at 120mph going round a corner, remember this fundamental truth. A faceful of lampost is definitely going to hurt you.
99/100 kids who tried a real motrobike for the first time after playing this game should be OK. Unlike Forza.
Enjoy.
P.S. I do however, now drive with my head tilted to the left (even in the car) as the corners do not look right otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always been the best gaming series and remains so, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Historically the SBK game series started on the PC in 98 and ended in 2001 before resurrection last year with 07 PS variants. Graphically the tracks are gps mapped to perfection so any complaints around this aspect should be ignored. The SBK series has been lovingly nurtured as a simulator unlike the arcadey MOTOGP series which has always been a poor cousin to the SBK games, unlike in real life and the original Microprose GP500 game.

The great thing is you can start with as much assistance as you need and work your way up to the full on simulator style. Unfortunately there isn't a handlebar/foot switch controller option on the market to really do this game the justice it deserves.

Listen ye not to the naysayers, this is the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SBK, 5 Oct. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game, at great price. Delivered quickly and had no surface scratches on the disc at all...very pleased with the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars After recieving my game in 'very good condition' I was rather dissapointed when the game came ..., 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After recieving my game in 'very good condition' I was rather dissapointed when the game came more with more scratches on the disk than somebody who had been attacked by a large group of viscious cats, game will not run past the start menu, very dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Game but..........., 1 Aug. 2008
By 
Derek Williams "biker heaven" (Chester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Graphics are excellent, all tho there is little off track detail, bikes look and sound great and there is lots to do in the game. but the big downside for me is that the right analogue stick is defunct, unlike the ps2 version. Why they decided to do this is beyond me, so because of this I would rate the game 7.5 out of 10 instead of 9 out of 10 if you could use the right analogue stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SBK 08: World Superbike Championship (Xbox 360)
£8.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews