Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Action review by Erik Steaggles
This album was the beginning of Alice Cooper's major career (we won't mention the first album, PRETTIES FOR YOU- because the music in it is great, but at first listen you wouldn't recognise it was them). They were signed to Frank Zappa's Straight label in 1969 and cut 3 albums from 69-71 (those being PRETTIES FOR YOU, EASY ACTION & LOVE IT TO DEATH). This album was...
Published on 26 Jan 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting ..............
What can you say that has not already been said ??
Yes, it is a little weird but it's actaully very good. Mr and Misdemeanor is very accesible and could have made a good single. Shoe Salesman and Beatiful Flyaway are both 'nice' little ballads. Return of the spiders is really a great song showcasing Neal Smith's formidable drumming skills.
Below your means is a...
Published on 6 Dec 2001 by Mark Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Action review by Erik Steaggles, 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
This album was the beginning of Alice Cooper's major career (we won't mention the first album, PRETTIES FOR YOU- because the music in it is great, but at first listen you wouldn't recognise it was them). They were signed to Frank Zappa's Straight label in 1969 and cut 3 albums from 69-71 (those being PRETTIES FOR YOU, EASY ACTION & LOVE IT TO DEATH). This album was released in early 1970. Let's review it track-by-track, shall we? "Mr. & Misdemeanour" is a rough vocals and slow music track. The vocals on it are gruff but sound very unique. "Shoe Salesman" is a weaker track- more of a ballad. "Still No Air" sounds like it should be on PRETTIES FOR YOU with it's fast-changing sections and an all-of-a-sudden shouting climax between the whole band. "Below Your Means" is a pretty good track, turning into a jam session in a jazzy form. It lasts for around 7 minutes and begins to fade on the 5th minute (talk about inventive). "Return Of The Spiders" is a classic, personally my favourite on the album. With its driving drums and battling guitars, it is absolutely a headbanger all the way through. I even contacted Neal Smith (the drummer) and asked him how he kept that drumming going all the way. It's pretty unbelievable. "Laughing At Me" is OK, but not particularly the best track on the album. "Refridgerator Heaven" is the second best track on the album, clocking in at only 2 minutes. With its inventive lyrics and music, it's pretty strange but good. "Beautiful Flyaway" is a nice piano-guitar-drums-bass track and is also a good'un. But, the strangest one of all is "Lay Down And Die, Goodbye", the last track on the album. It starts with a little guitar warm-up, but eventually makes its way into free-form, then into some mindless noise (try it with the headphones- wow!) and then the words come in. All in all, it's a great album. Get ahead of the game and buy EASY ACTION before you no longer have the chance. ES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early nugget, 8 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
Good, but not as wild and psychedelic as "Pretties for You". This is where he is beginning to meander out of the 60's hippie psychedelia and set up the roots for what would come later (and project him to stardom). Essential for the late 60's rock fan, or a die-hard Cooper fan. But if you are searching for "classic" Cooper material (i.e. "Welcome to my Nightmare") you wont find it here. However, "Easy Action" is an album full of late 60's/early 70's solid hard rock numbers with Beatles-ish harmonies/melodies. But if you really want a superb nugget of deranged late 60's psych/hard rock check out his brilliant first album "Pretties For You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive Early Days, 7 Aug 2008
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
Everything I said about Pretties for you, more or less, is relevant here. Difficult, inventive, messy, shambles, cool, and a host of other words. Though this has slightly more traditional approach to songwriting, and is the, slightly, inferior of the two.

The Cooper band always struggled to reach the forty minute mark for their albums, and here its, Lay Down and Die, Goodbye that outstays its welcome, but with a great finish! (Well Ive written home to mama!).

Below Your Means has a similar structure to Halo of Flies, passing through various rock themes on its extended journey, but maybe is more 'West Coast'. Beautiful Flyaway sung by an uncredited Michael Bruce, two garage tracks, (Still No Air and Return Of The Spiders), and a number of off-kilter pop songs.

Again, not a gem, but a solid four stars, if you like Zappa or The Doors, Killer or Love it to Death, and all that late sixties underground, theres no reason not to have this. Pretties For You is better, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars early cooper,vital,but not for the faint hearted, 25 Jan 2001
By 
jbofmauldslie@aol.com (law village,scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
non cooper band fans would be well advised to steer clear of this one,however die hards,will love the surprisingly clever and idiosyncratic songs. this, the album before love it to death,which catapulted the band onto the world stage,shows the band finding their feet.the original "undiscovered!"cooper album.first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids I guess!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
Bought this some time ago on vinyl when I was about 12 or 13 under guise of "School Days" and didn't really understand it and it collected dust in my record collection. However, now that I am much older I recently heard one of the tracks again and thought that's not bad and bought the CD; particularly at this price.

My opinions and tastes have changed over the years no doubt, but it did reminded me a bit of the Sid Barrett era of Pink Floyd or even early Hawkwind. It is somewhat raw in a nice way, with the band showing the potential of greater things to come. I guess it's just not for kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alice cooper easy action cd, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
great early alice cd here first heard this on album over 30 yrs ago thought it was deleted at one point ,great to see it,s been remastered ,great phychodelic sound etc,guitars.It became a template of what was to come later great albums followed with very heavy rock guitars.Not so good period in those punk era albums but anyway this a great alice album starter if you love alice you,ll love this enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Igor Freitas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
For people who really likes Alice Cooper, will like this album. But it's very different from the new ones.
Some songs remind me Pink Floyd or Beatles.
It's a very good album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting .............., 6 Dec 2001
By 
Mark Goodman (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
What can you say that has not already been said ??
Yes, it is a little weird but it's actaully very good. Mr and Misdemeanor is very accesible and could have made a good single. Shoe Salesman and Beatiful Flyaway are both 'nice' little ballads. Return of the spiders is really a great song showcasing Neal Smith's formidable drumming skills.
Below your means is a bit of an epic classic in my view. Good guitar work and an interesting lyric even if Michael Bruce is doing the singing ( should have been Alice !! ).
The album is let down by Still No Air, Refrigerator heaven and the utterly lamentable Lay Down and Die, Goodbye. The first minute or so starts out by promising much with some driving guitars but soon degenerates into utter chaos, and no, it's not even innovative just awful.
Still a good album, for die hard fans a must have, but possibly something interesting for others also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than given credit for, 31 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
I have to admit i gave this album a wide bearth after hearing pretties for you thinking it would be more of the same jumbled mass of half ideas.But how wrong i was!!After hearing 2 of the tracks off this album on the life & crimes box set I plucked up the courage to finally buy it a full 10 years after purchasing pretties for you. There is great some great stuff on this album. It kicks off with Mr & misdemeanor which is a great Doors sounding opener.Then we have Shoe Salesman which in my opinion is the most underated Cooper song ever.I would even go as far as saying this is a better ballad than Only Women Bleed.I even played it to a friend who likes Cooper`s 90`s material & he didn`t recognise who it was.Still no air is a great track . Someone on a previous review on here said it sounded like it should be off the first album. If this was the case the first album wouldn`t be off my stereo. I just love the bizzareness (is that a word) of it.Below your means is ok but nothing special.Return of the spiders is a great driving rocker which shows how much of an underated drummer Neil Smith actually was.Why this guy wasn`t compared with the likes of Bonham , Moon & Paice is a complete mystery to me.Lauging at me okayish track not great but not bad either.Refridgerator heaven is kind of a taste of how the band would progress in their later albums and wouldn`t sound out of place on Love it to death or Killer.Beautiful flyaway is a kind of piano driven 60`s pop ballad with a little bit of bite to it .Not a bad song but i`m glad they didn`t do to many of these songs later on.finally the album closes with Lay down & die , goodbye.This is just plain wierd with some great guitar riffs between all the feedback & noise.Actually this kind of reminds me of the band Mogwai for some reason.All in all a pretty good album with some interesting concepts.Not all those concepts hit the mark but a lot do.Out of all the Alice Cooper albums I own (and i own all of them except Lace & Whiskey)this is probably my 5th favourite(behind Love it to death,Killer,Billion dollar babies & Welcome to my nightmare).Only three stars but thats only because the band bettered themselves on later albums.All in all a great album worth listening to. Now all i have to do is pluck up courage to buy Lace & Whiskey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From Zappa's Stable, 15 Nov 2008
This review is from: Easy Action (Audio CD)
This band were famous in LA for being able to clear a room, such was the awful noise they made. Not put off by this Fank Zappa invited them over to play at his house. "Come 'round at seven" said Frank.

At 7am the band turned up and set up their gear to play only to wake Zappa who came down in his underpants to indicate that he meant 7pm.

Well it didn't matter and Zappa got them signed to Straight Records anyway. Easy Action was the Alice Cooper band's second (and last) album for Straight.

So this album is early and it's rough but it clearly shows the path that Vince Furnier and the boys were to follow on their way to some kind of astonishing transatlantic success.

They're now known for the horrific subject matter of their songs (necrophilia, capital punishment and visits to the dentist), and an embryo for this directional attitude is revealed by the song 'Shoe Saleman'.

In these more enlightened times we can now see Shoe Saleman's lyrics for what they really mean: "I know a shoe salesman, he's an aquaintance of mine, one day he showed me some marks on his arms in a line, I did not know what to say, do you think those freckles will stay?"

Alice's voice is present and correct, the twin guitars of Buxton and Bruce are doing the right things. I suppose it took a change of label and a few bottles of Seagrams to finally nail the direction but here, on Easy Action, there's a few fine and rewarding songs that pointed the way.

If you have 'Love It To Death' or maybe even 'Killer' you just might want to have a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Action
Easy Action by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews