Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful.
I've only had this a day, so I haven't even come close to finishing it. I'm about four hours in and I have to say that in those four hours Okami has more style, character, joy and fun packed into it than the vast majority of tripe and generic sandbox games out there(not naming names)and is such a joy that I can't believe I'd never bothered to play it on my mates' PS2. I'm...
Published on 13 Jun. 2008 by M. J. Barr

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow
The game is not responding very well with the movements which is annoying as you need to move around a lot and it not responding to the wii remote so therefore i would not recommend to this a friend i would but it for the PS2 next time
Published 11 months ago by Lauren


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 13 Jun. 2008
By 
M. J. Barr "Barrbarian" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
I've only had this a day, so I haven't even come close to finishing it. I'm about four hours in and I have to say that in those four hours Okami has more style, character, joy and fun packed into it than the vast majority of tripe and generic sandbox games out there(not naming names)and is such a joy that I can't believe I'd never bothered to play it on my mates' PS2. I'm not gonna waffle, I'll just urge you to purchase this game and help it find the audience it so richly deserves.

The visuals are still mindblowing (especially in HD), the soundtrack is rich and the controls, whilst needing a bit of getting used to, are great. The Wii Remote controlled Celestial Brush is clearly an improvement over the PS2's analogue stick and everything else, you name it, it's effin marvellous.

So please. Buy this game and get ready to find out why videogames are so brilliant. If more games like this were made, the world be a much happier place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is quite possibly the best game for the Wii at the moment, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
I just finished this game today, with a total of 63 hours gameplay. This is amazing considering most games these days have an average of 12 hours gameplay, so more than worth the money. Furthermore, this 63 hours of gameplay isn't just the same old repetitive junk some games are designed to spew out. This game has an intense story line, and every time you think the game may be ending a new chapter emerges.

There are several characteritics to this game which make it truly unique and awesome. The 'celestial brush', the soundtrack, the multi-layered characters etc. But my favourite aspect by far is the amount of detail put into the myth and legend aspect of the game. Almost every aspect, from the gods, the way they behave, the heroes, storylines, 'the wandering artist', the cultural references, everything has some inspiration in true Japanese myth.

Combine that with the graphical style of Japanese woodcarving and watercolours which provide the inspiration, then you get a truly stunning experience (just watch any trailer).

And in true RPG spirit, there are a number of side quests, collectables, power-ups. The designer for this game took a lot of inspiration from the Zelda games, so if you find yourself enjoying them then you will probably like this game.

In summary: Epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A howling success, 2 Jan. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
I spend a long time mumbleing over weather to get this for the PS2 or the Wii and finally dicided to pull out the nunchuck and get ready for some action.

And action it was, dispite having the longest introduction I have ever seen on a game, it is by far the best game I've got. I found myself drawn into the action for hours on end, losing track of the time for this is also the most addictive game ever! (Even more so than Dragon Quest: Journey of the Cursed King and that is saying something) There is no downfall to this game. As you run through the fields, forests and towns of ancient Japenese myth or fighting your way through a fog of imps, you will find yourself drawn further and further into this game.

The unique aspect in this game is the ability to use the celestreal (No clue how you spell it) brush, by holding down the B button you pause the game and bring up a drawing screen. Here you can draw away and make something magical happen in reality, like meant a brocken bridge, slice an enemy in two, or, my favourite so far, creating wind. What continues to make this game unique is the graphics. You may have seen them from the screenshots on Amazon. The whole style is that of Japanese art, a short of simple, cartoon like graphics that works well with the game. My sister quite rightly said that if the graphics were that of a normal game, it would look terrible.

As a round-off conclusion, I would say that if you enjoy puzzle-solving, myth, minigames, magic, combat and playing for at least two hours minimum, than you should not hesitiate to buy this game on Wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing., 4 Jan. 2010
By 
L. Fraser (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
Theres only one way to describe this game, and that is: Masterpiece.

The gameplay feels just like a zelda game, but the painting mechanic makes that old formula feel fresh and exciting. This ability allows you to cut down obstacles, restore bridges, create bombs, make trees bloom, create fire, reroute water, and many more. By the time you have ammassed all 13 brushstrokes, you truly feel like a god.

The artsyle is also amazing. The box simply doesn't do it justice. It is beautiful. You could take a snapshot anywhere in the game, and frame it on your wall, and it would pass for a fairly decent japanese painting. The story line is full of twists and turns, and is very immersive.

The only gripes i have with this game are with the controls. It can be frustrating sometimes to draw a straight line (for cutting down obstacles) Allthough is remedied by holding down Z, to lock you into a straight line, although this is never mentioned anywhere. Another control issue is with drawing circles, although you'll be having so much fun, you can forgive this.

The game lasts around 20-30 hours, and has plenty of replay value. In fact, complete it once, with all items, and you have the ability to be immortal, and ultra-powerful, meaning you can enjoy the game as an experiance, without worrying about whether you can survive the next battle.

In short, this was a bargain at £40, let alone the current price. Pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEISAKU!, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
OKAMI is a masterpiece indeed!

This is one of the very few games I coveted for years but could not play because it is not available for PC. Thanks to my wife's ...List to Santa there was a Wii waiting for her under our Christmas tree. And once there was a Wii in the house this was one of the first three games I ordered. And my expectations were met in every way.

The first thing that grabs you are the graphics. If, like me, you are accustomed to the detailed graphics of most PC games, Wii games seem much more simplistic. Nevertheless, the colors and artwork of OKAMI are just mesmerizing! I am a great fan of cRPGs but this was the first time I relaxed playing one.

This is an old-school cRPG, so there is no voice-acting. Nevertheless, this hardly has any impact on immersion. Playing OKAMI is like being in a Japanese fairytale - one that takes place in a HUGE, varied world. Forests and beaches, dungeons and villages, there is just no limit in the horizon.

The sounds are soothing, the imagery magical and the gameplay ingeniously incorporating the Wii-Remote movements.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait, 18 Jun. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
I've been waiting for this ever since it came out on the PS2. Put simply this is a very original, beautiful, engrossing, fun game. Don't listen to the idiots who have moaned about the controls, I'm only an occasional gamer and I've have had no trouble once I got the hang of them (which took about 10 minutes and surely any new game takes a *little* practice to really nail).
Please don't let this become an underappreciated classic the way it was on the PS2, spend your money supporting a game with imagination rather than the next MMORPG, FPS or RTS that comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 years on, still as amazing as on PS2, 22 Jun. 2008
By 
D. S. Roberts "dewirobs" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
Chances are if you're reading this you'll already be aware of what Okami's all about - Zelda-esque adventure game with beautiful stylised graphics, a neat paintbrush ability gimmick and charm oozing out of its virtual eyeballs. Playing it nearly two years ago on the PS2, I was blown away by how brazenly enjoyable this game is; as a result, Zelda: Twilight Princess, which I played immediately after, seemed a bit stale in comparison.

Obviously a lot of people didn't feel the same way, or at least never got round to finding out, as Okami on PS2 did pretty disastrously for sales. I guess Capcom are hoping that the strong demand for a Wii version (which always seemed a given, considering how well the idea of using a paintbrush in-game suits the Wii's controls) will reflect in the sales. Here's hoping, because Okami is still essential today, though arguably NOT if you already have the PS2 version.

With the benefit of having played both, there are definitely pros and cons for the Wii version. Con - The content is identical, so there's no extras waiting for Wii players. Pro - the loading and saving times are a lot shorter. Con (though how big of one is debatable) - the filter used on the PS2 version to give the graphics are more painted, watercolour look, is absent; it's not a major difference but the colours seem a little stark. Personally I preferred the PS2's graphics. (Possible) Pro - the audio chatter that goes with the on-screen dialogue has been quietened down a lot - a lot of people found this irritating on the PS2; personally I think it's pretty charming.

The controls are different, but whether they're better or worse is debatable. They're just... different. Personally I find they work better for the painting elements - it's slightly more fluid using the Wii remote - though I've had a few difficulties where the game suddenly decides to make the strokes huge or tiny for no apparent reason (supposedly determined by your distance from the sensor bar), which can be frustrating. Combat can be a little clunkier, mapped to shakes of the remote which aren't always detected accurately (or sometimes at all), which of course is maddening in the middle of a scrap. Largely I've gotten used to them, but honestly it often seems like something to put up with rather than something that really brings the game to new a level.

At the end of the day, the pros and cons that the Wii version provides kind of balance each other out - if you have the choice of console, I guess it's down to control preference, and how bothered you are by the cosmetic differences I've mentioned. Console comparisons aside, Okami is a fantastic game, and if you haven't played it yet you've really no excuse - it's stunning to look at, fun to play (if a little patronising in parts, puzzle-wise), lengthy and very funny (mysoginistic pixie Issun still cracks me up). This game deserves your attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but........, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Hedges - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
Not the best RPG I have ever played. I am a big fan of RPG based games, the Zelda series have been the best games I have ever played. I love the side quests, the collectables, the fighting, the characters and the music. This game certainly has loads of side quests, the dungeons are pretty good and the score is very original. But I just haven't felt that connection with the game as I did with Zelda. Maybe its because the main charater that you play is a dog, I am not sure. But its just not so friendly and there's no enough required interaction with the characters which adds the personal touch to an rpg. In the Zelda games the characters are funny and endearing, thats whats missing from Okami.

However its worth a play and good RPGs are lacking, so its 4stars for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden jewel., 5 Feb. 2010
By 
David Vicente Martins (Barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
Surprisingly, a port from a Ps2 game makes Wii users proud.
In the beginning of the game it comes across as a sloppy attempt to achieve a different art style but as one starts to notice the small delightful details (like the sweet old lady singing by the river shore at the beginning of the game), one starts to realise the rough diamond at hand.
Comparisons with Zelda titles are inevitable as the core of the game resembles Nintendo's franchise to the core. If you played Twilight Princess, you'll be at home with Okami (not just for the wolf thing, the tasks and basic actions resemble it a lot).
The graphic style could certainly be more refined, probably an inevitable heritage from Sony's last-gen machine (Amaterasu, for some strange reason, in given moments looks very blurred, some NPC's too) but it still manages to amaze and the praise to Japan's lore is charming for the least.
Sound effects are ok, a bit on the standard side, it doesn't achieve the quality other titles did, like Muramasa: Demon Blade with it's recorded Japanese voices but doesn't disappoint either.
The music, once again, is a hymn to Japanese culture, charming and captivating within its style and matches the game adequately.
Some gameplay issues, like the demanding celestial brush strokes you have to perform on-screen having to be quite accurate (especially during QTE-like moments) that can lead to frustration.
In general it's a must-buy for Zelda fans and for fans of anything Japanese. It's one of those games no one bought but that absolutely deserves a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary epic of a game, 21 Jan. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (Wii) (Video Game)
What can I say about this game? It is an absolutely beast of a experience. At the moment, this is the game that is taking up literally all of my spare time, and with good reason.

You control the wolf incarnation of the legendary Sun God Amaterasu, and yes, it's as much fun as it sounds. You can do anything a normal wolf can do - bark, bite, dig and make trees burst into bloom with a flick of the wrist... OK, that last one is just for Sun Gods. The storyline is simple (go kill the bad guy and save the people), but the quest is as enthralling as an Eastenders 'Who Shot Phil?' episode.

Controlling the wolf-god is a joy; running and jumping through the platform elements of the game, whilst beating grotesque headless bird-men from the abyss into submission with a flaming mirror in the fight-scenes (endlessly more involving than cycling through menus a la Final Fantasy). The smaller quests and extra activities all add to the experience, but it is size of the game and the gorgeous graphics which make this a truly awesome thing.

Galavanting from forest to village, feeding animals, helping people and restoring the surrounding countryside never fails to raise a smile as you see the graphics brighten in front of you - even a trail of autumn leaves follow the protaganist around as he does his best 'Captain Planet' impression. I am around 20 hours into this monster game and there is no sign of the end just yet, despite seemingly have beaten the "final" boss, and to be honest I don't want it to end. Ever.

The only minor criticism may be that the battles are too easy, but there's so many of them it would be inconvenient to keep getting bogged down in them as this is primarily an RPG. To be fair, that's about it - once you start playing this I guarantee you will not be disappointed 20 hours later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Okami (Wii)
Okami (Wii) by Capcom (Nintendo Wii)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews