Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sunday Afternoon Viewing
This is a 2008 television film very loosely based on the novel by Jules Verne. The single disc has only a play and scene selection feature. I needn’t go into plot details other then say it follows much the same formula as all the other movies based on this novel. Heiress Martha Dennison (Victoria Pratt) seeks out professor Jonathan Brock (Rick Schroder) to help find...
Published 9 months ago by Throda tzen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This is a good but not an amazing version of the Verne classic but naturally,it gets harder to top the other versions with anything new other than by including normally ignored chapters or excluding normally included chapters from the book or giving different spins to the characters...We have the foursome here and Rick Schroeder who was once Little Lord Fauntleroy,I...
Published on 15 Dec. 2009 by Ken Raus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Center of the Earth [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a good but not an amazing version of the Verne classic but naturally,it gets harder to top the other versions with anything new other than by including normally ignored chapters or excluding normally included chapters from the book or giving different spins to the characters...We have the foursome here and Rick Schroeder who was once Little Lord Fauntleroy,I believe and of course the very famous Fonda,Peter,who gives a good performance but also Jonathan Brewer who was excellent in Gibsons Apocalypto...He's good here too and the wooded scenes are realistic...If you are a Verne completist,get it and the extras are worthwhile,too. Trip The [DVD]Moondial Full Version / Little Lord Fauntleroy [DVD]Apocalypto [DVD] (2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sunday Afternoon Viewing, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 2008 television film very loosely based on the novel by Jules Verne. The single disc has only a play and scene selection feature. I needn’t go into plot details other then say it follows much the same formula as all the other movies based on this novel. Heiress Martha Dennison (Victoria Pratt) seeks out professor Jonathan Brock (Rick Schroder) to help find her husband, Edward, who disappeared four years earlier on an expedition towards the centre of the Earth.
The photography is superb on the surface and in the underground prehistoric world scenes, whilst the labyrinthine shots are highly convincing. For a TV movie it’s actually very good but lacks the big budget and polished scripts of some rivals, but this is excellent family viewing for it has no swearing, nudity or over the top violence –although one or two scenes could be disturbing to very young viewers.
At around £3 for a new copy, you can’t go wrong if you’re looking for some harmless Sunday afternoon style entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lacks bite, 20 April 2009
By 
K. Greensmith "kensoul" (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this film is ok but its got no bite or excitment about it.there is only one dinosaur and the natives seem very civilised.there are better films with the same title than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a, 6 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not quite as good as the original, but fine for 10 - 12 year olds. Quality of the DVD was fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
J. B. Jennings "xiao chang" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was a great film which we enjoyed. true to the book I recommend anyone to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Center of the Earth [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MYyodel shipping amazon products = fail, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a long time buyer from amazon and have just learned that ANY products that ship from Jersey depot will be using MyYodel as the shipping company which is 'useless' they tell you that you have to stay in between 7am and 7pm if you have to go out at all and they try and deliver in the mean time they knock on 1 door if no reply they drive off with your parcel.
there is no way to track the parcel and no way for Yodel customer services to contact their drivers. [it is 2011 not the 1920's with pigeon post] Amazon in the past used the post office if i was not home i simply collected a parcel on my day off from the local post office which is in the town i live in which is no hassle what so ever.

so bottom line Amazon has reduced the number of products i can buy now to ONLY those which DO NOT ship from their jersey depot. I cannot choose my work address either as my workplace opens at 10am and closes at 6pm so falling outside of the Yodel "stay at home for 12 hours waiting" window.

I buy nearly all my purchases from amazon so i am very disappointed and will have to look elsewhere now.

Amazon has chosen a poorer and cheaper option and will lose customers with this short sighted choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews