Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino - eat your heart out!
Ninjas, Yakuza, cartoon violence, pretty japanese girls (and boys) and a devilish drill bra - what is not to like? Hilarious and completely over the top japanese pulp that had me laughing for the duration - not since "The Evil Dead" have I seen such special effects and buckets of gore. The villains are so ultra-villainous (even the parents of the evil teenagers engage in...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Oblomov

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blood, Blood and more Blood
This film is very, very violent and is just an excuse for a blood fest. The Japanese seem to like this kind of film. The special effects are quite good and one of the extras shows how they are done.

I would not recommend this movie for a family night in, more for when a few guys get together with some beers.
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by Trev-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay Jap-Splat for those uninitiated to real Japanese shockers, 1 Mar. 2010
By 
Peter Cook "Peter Cook" (Auckland, NEW ZEALAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machine Girl [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Made apparently with an eye on the Western/American video market it tailors the goods to suit the politically correct West. Rape is merely implied here unlike almost every real Japanese action/Samurai/thriller/pinky violence flick I've seen in the past where such 'delights' are served up at frequent intervals.

Although the gore is non stop it's never nasty nor mean spirited - again unlike so many Japanese films of the 70's (and even 60's) where cruelty ruled and no amount of demeaning, sexually violent sadism was a mandatory staple. Check out this vintage stuff for the shock of a lifetime.

The film reeks of 'cool' and is aimed at the MTV generation. Much is borrowed from Robert Rodriguez' "PLANET TERROR" which was great and itself borrowed much from 70's Japanese and other exploitation film and was forced to tone these elements down.

Cheaply made and it looks it. Shot on what appears to be low rez highly compressed digi-video the image quality is abysmal with creeping artifacts throughout the likes of which I've rarely seen in a long time. The colour is so washed out to be almost monochrome though this may have been the decision of the director. Oddly enough the 'making of' has clips and footage presented in very clean, crisp, colourful detail that the feature dismally fails with.....!

The gore is plentiful, sometimes well done when prosthetics are utilised - embaressingly bad execution when CGI is utilised. I'd say around about a tanker lorry of blood was used in this show.

The main protagonist is exceptionally cute and she does what she can with the role. Hardly a career booster, but fun for her and us I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love it!, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Machine Girl [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Another great gore movie, it's kinda "cheap-made" but that's what makes it so unique, you can laugh, cry and cheer for them at the same time, you can look for a few trailers first but I totally recommend it, one of my favorite movies by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Side-splitting for the wrong reason, 23 Sept. 2008
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Girl [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this because of the over the top gore and that is exactly what I got. We're talking: severed limbs and stumps geysering blood like a fireman's hose, spurting finger stumps, jetting necks, amputations and slashings of all kinds.

We're also talking over the top characters: who shrug off nails in the head and amputations and can take more hits than Godzilla before keeling over, who cackle as they maim, mutilate and murder innocents for the slightest excuse (or none at all but because they -the yakuza boss, his wife, and son -happen to be gleeful sadists).

And then it gets really silly. Three red-clad ninjas announce, halfway through a fight with our two heroines, that they are The Junior High School Ninja Squad. Parents of four children killed by our heroines (the aforesaid Ninja Squad and a kid beheaded earlier) dress like an American football team and announce themselves as The All-Parent Revenge Team (or something like that).

Long before you've reached this point, in fact since the opening scene, you've been laughing your head off because the entire movie is so over the top that you've realised it is in fact a comedy pretending to be a gory drama and that all suspension of disbelief has been ruined.

Machine Girl would ironically have been far more intense and gruelling if the gore and over the top characters had been amped down enough to at least make a pretence at seriousness.

It's just too damned silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Upscaled?, 20 May 2012
By 
This review is from: MACHINE GIRL--BLU RAY DISC-- (DVD)
Just want to note that this bluray conversion looks as if its been upscaled from a highly compressed SD source and is horribly pixellated. Shame on the distributers for releasing it in this condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kept my son laughing, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machine Girl [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absurd film. It is a fantasy without any contact with reality. Blood everywhere and idiots running around. For a teenager this might be fun (my son was laughing...) but for those of us who has successfully passed that stage it is just boring and absurd. Why is a film like this one more acceptable than porn for a lot of people?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please listen, 2 Aug. 2008
By 
N. Forde "Solus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machine Girl [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this film with the impression it was just another low budget asian film, which ok i wasnt expecting much but i gave it a shot... I was still dissapointed. This single film I literally could not watch the whole way through, I tried numerous times. With incredibly cheesy (not bad, cheesy) graphics, terrible, terrible, terrible acting, Incredibly poor character design and development and an incredibly dissapointing ending, I highly suggesting avoiding this film at all costs. Unless of course you're looking for something to poke fun at :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machine Girl [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£10.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews