Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best BEST-OFF from rick
if you are looking for a best-off cd that has it all(from years 87,89,91,93,01,05)thenn buy this one it has all the obvious hits like the rickroll theme never gonna give you up and the follow-up track,but also some great songs that shine a different light on this crooner/songwriter like,vincent or full of you.like i said if you're looking for a good overview buy this one!
Published on 22 April 2008 by kanakaris nico

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memory lane
Nice but very samey pleasant listening but would be better if different songs sounded different from each other other than that just ok
Published on 27 Dec. 2012 by Anne McMahon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best BEST-OFF from rick, 22 April 2008
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
if you are looking for a best-off cd that has it all(from years 87,89,91,93,01,05)thenn buy this one it has all the obvious hits like the rickroll theme never gonna give you up and the follow-up track,but also some great songs that shine a different light on this crooner/songwriter like,vincent or full of you.like i said if you're looking for a good overview buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not stopped playing it, 3 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
My wife LURVS this CD.Yes,it`s excellent for the hits he is known for; but it contains some (to her) previously unknown treasures,showing that the man can really sing.Catchy but having a certain style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yay, Now I can rick roll myself whenever I want!, 12 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Joking aside, this is a good album, if you like the rick roll icon "Never Gonna Give You Up", then you are bound to like most of the other tracks, heck, I like 'em all! His voice is excellent, a lot better than some other "teen icons" over the years (remember "Fabian"?). Plus, he wrote 4 of the songs on this album, and co-wrote another 4. His composition "She Wants to Dance With Me" has the same magic incredients which made the Stock/Aitken/Waterman composed track "Never Gonne Give You Up" so catchy, yet also stands up on it's own. So to answer another reviewers question, yes, Mr Rick Roll himself is earning at least some money from this release, from song-writing royalties.

So what are you waiting for? But this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly surprised, 20 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Rick Astley has an excellent voice. No one can argue that. Even if he is not everyone's cup of tea - this album has all the hits and more, and is well worth a listen...even though you - like me will probably pick out certain tracks as being alot better than others.. some of the material is very forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, fab, fab, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Haven`t stopped playing this since we got it. All the hits - and some we had forgotten about and which we fell in love with again.

Would definitely recommend this as an essential buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprisingly Good Gift!, 9 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Firstly, I had better explain that I got this CD for my birthday rather unexpectedly, as I had asked my doting mother to look out for a CD by Roy Castle - "Dedication" being my life's theme tune and all, and I am partial to a bit of trumpet from time to time.

When I opened this gift I was a bit disappointed - I remember Rick's songs from the late '80's and didn't really like them at the time. However, having matured considerably I am aware of the sentiments of his songs and can relate to them more. "Never Gonna Give You Up" apparently was about addiction to codeine, "My Arms Keep Missing You" is a tribute to drunken fighting, and "Full of You" is naturally about coming to terms with homosexuality. This CD is chock-full of great feelgood songs and any despair of missing out on the theme tune to "Record Breakers" soon vanished. Age has been kinder to these songs compared with so many from this era. You should give them another listen.

Next year I am going to ask my mother for a Roy Hattersley CD in the hope that I get another by Rick Astley. Although knowing my luck I will get another Wacky Races DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
how odd i am old enought to have had these when 1st released and many yrs later followed that wise rule if not used in yr throw it out,no dont im now buying lots for my daughter that i have had but it is good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a compilation that showcases the power that is Rick Astley!, 11 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
He was the breakout star of the PWL canon and at last he gets a release benefiting of his talents. Who could forget the way 'When I Fall in Love' moves you like a motion in parliament?
His moving account of someone having Meniere's disease in 'My Arms Keep Missing You' can only bring tears to your eyes.

There are more lighthearted moments on here such as his time as being a powerlifter in Warrington as told in 'It Takes a Strong Man'.

Of course, no collection would be complete without the joys of taking heroin as described in 'Never Gonna Give You Up'.

Recommended for those who find bands like Motorhead and Radiohead a bit too lightweight and cheesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Astley, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
A lovely album, easy to listen and singalong to. A popular with 80's music lovers.
I recommend this to all 40 somethings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great listen, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I could not wait for this to arrive and it came very quickly, it is a real good listen and brings back so many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Rick Astley (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews