Customer Reviews


376 Reviews
5 star:
 (284)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


209 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice compact bag with plenty of pockets and cushioning
I wanted a small compact bag to carry around my Canon 1000D DSLR camera in and after browsing around the shops, this seemed to be the best option for me.

INNER DESIGN

The main compartment has two removable dividers which you can adjust by sticking them to the strips of velcro inside the bag. This is handy and flexible if you really needed to organise...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by L. H. Yeung

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but be careful on the sizing
PROS:
Overall this is a nice little bag in which to put a DSLR camera. The handle is nice,bag is light, and padded OK without making it too bulky.

CONS
First, the attachments of the shoulder straps to the clips, using a small pin to allow some rotation, seems rather flimsy and I am not sure how sturdy this will be long term. If the pin pulls out or...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Sarah, England


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

209 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice compact bag with plenty of pockets and cushioning, 10 Nov 2009
By 
L. H. Yeung (UK, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
I wanted a small compact bag to carry around my Canon 1000D DSLR camera in and after browsing around the shops, this seemed to be the best option for me.

INNER DESIGN

The main compartment has two removable dividers which you can adjust by sticking them to the strips of velcro inside the bag. This is handy and flexible if you really needed to organise and hold items into place but at the same time, it can make removing items a little difficult because they tend to catch onto the velcro. The hot shoe did this quite often when taking out the vertically placed 1000D but, you do learn how to take it out without any difficulty eventually.

I've managed to find enough room to fit a 18-55mm kit lens and a 55-250mm telephoto lens inside. It feels well cushioned.

You'll also find two smaller pockets for memory cards inside when you unzip and lift up the hood of the bag. Even some space for something such as pens and pencils.

OUTER DESIGN

The hood overlaps the zips to the main compartment which means if it rains you don't have to worry too much about any excess water seeping inside to your equipment. Very nice touch.

Outside on the back of the bag there is a narrow pocket big enough for filters, batteries, lens hoods, small notepad etc. At each side of the bag where the strap clips onto are two elastic pockets which I don't really use but I found they're flexible enough to fit a bottle of Volvic water if you wanted to or just some rolled up pamphlets.

Last but not least, there is another two zipped up pockets at the front of the bag as you can see from the photo. Handy for holding the lens caps or filters when you just want to remove them temporarily. The bottom pocket where the clip is has a very puffed up cushion to it which makes any item inside feel safe and is big enough to hold a point and shoot compact camera.

A thick long strap is the main means of carrying this shoulder bag around and has a plastic non-slip padding on it so that it doesn't slide about on your shoulder on the move and minimise discomfort. The handle too is puffed up making it very comfortable to carry around even by hand.

SUMMARY

A nice comfortable to carry compact bag with plenty of cushioning and pockets for all those camera accessories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Camera Bag, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
This is a nice compact bag for a DSLR with a useful 'pac-a-mac' style waterproof cover. It's well padded for protection, and has several pockets for memory cards, filters, etc. My only gripe would be the comment "Capacity - 1DSLR, 2-3 lenses and a flash unit". This I'd like to see! I put a Canon EOS 600D with std 18-55 lens fitted, and a Canon 75-300mm lens in the main section - JUST! There is no room for manouver - which suits me as it won't move around...but it certainly wouldn't hold another lens and a flashgun unless you stored them in the unpadded side pockets. Fortunately I don't have any other accessories (yet) so this bag will suffice - but if you do have other lenses you may like to consider a larger bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera Bag for a Fantastic Price, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
After purchasing my new Canon 600d was looking for a suitable bag. I was looking at the official Canon bags but these were more expensive. After searching Amazon i came across this bag and purchased it purely on the great reviews it already had.

I wasn't disappointed at all, a great bag at a great price. The bag feels sturdy and durable with plenty of compartments for memory cards, spare batteries. Room for the camera and x2 lenses. The rain cover was also rather handy as only the second time i took the camera out for a walk it absolutely hammered down but seamed to cope very well and i was out in the rain for at least an hour!

Very pleased with this purchase and would def recommend :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits my Canon 600D, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. Ravi Boddu (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
I was searching a suitable bag for my Canon 600D , something that fits the camera+ standard lens PLUS any extra lens I would buy in future. I didn't want to carry a large bag either. I read others reviews and was in doubt if it is suitable for Canon 600D as its slightly bigger compared to 550D but its fits very well.As described by others it is constructed well.good purchase overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usual Lowepro high quality!, 19 Oct 2009
By 
D. Williams (Shrops, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As usual with Lowepro, this is a high quality product. I spent ages sizing up the various different Lowepro bags before buying, and have found that I have made the right choice - the sizes quoted were pretty reliable & accurate. Beware though - the sizes quoted on Amazon are usually EXTERNAL - look on the Lowepro website for more accurate info & even product videos, which are very helpful.
This bag comes with two internal dividers which can be velcroed into position as required. The tops of these dividers are free to bend over. I have found that this means that when you have a longer lens attached to your camera, it can be stowed in the bag horizontally, resting on the bent-over dividers, meaning you don't have to take it all apart again in a hurry when it suddenly starts raining! I would think the 160AW would be too small for an SLR + lenses, but its perfect for my Sony H5 + tele & close-up conversion lenses, filter, mini tripod, batteries, memory cards, notebook etc. The flap can be just clipped shut, meaning that it can be opened again in a hurry - you only need to resort to the (hidden) zip when you have finished your shooting for the day, or if you get caught in a sandstorm!
Some have said that the clips attaching the strap are a little flimsy, but they seem perfecly robust to me. My only disappointment was that the inside of the bag is not lined with that soft Tricot material that many Lowepro bags have. The inside of the flap is the only place where Tricot is found, so that screens etc will not be scratched. However this is really a very minor complaint and doesn't detract from the general excellence of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but be careful on the sizing, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
PROS:
Overall this is a nice little bag in which to put a DSLR camera. The handle is nice,bag is light, and padded OK without making it too bulky.

CONS
First, the attachments of the shoulder straps to the clips, using a small pin to allow some rotation, seems rather flimsy and I am not sure how sturdy this will be long term. If the pin pulls out or snaps then your camera bag will be heading for the ground!
Second, a sizing warning really. I put in a D3100 with a 55-200 lens and it just about fits in vertically. I then could squeeze in an 18-55 lens, and the battery charger. But then there was no space for the flash. I took it all out and tried several times to re-arrange it but they just don't fit in all together. And don't forget the D3100 is the smallest body DSLR Nikon make and an 55-200 lens really isn't much long.

SUMMARY
Nice bag for a day out. But if looking for something for continous use and/or storage then shoulder strap design possibly fragile; only room for a DSLR+ a spare small lens + a flash + some cards & leads etc. For something a bit bigger get the:Lowepro Nova 180 AW Shoulder Bag - Black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good size for DSLRs + Waterproof cover, 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
We bought one of these LowePros for our Canon 600D and a smaller one - Red Dussel DSLR Shoulder Bag - for a Canon 50D, then swap lenses as and when. The good thing about this bag is its larger capacity which is great if you want a camera body, lens and a flash. You can also fit in extra batteries and the front pocket is good for SD or CF cards. It's well made, and the padding is good. Very nice to be able to adjust the velcro inserts so as to accommodate different sizes of equipment.

I also like the rainproof cover, though in practice it can be a bit fiddly to take it out and put it over the bag in time to catch a shower. The Dussel is made of a water resistant cover which solves that particular gripe.

In terms of capacity this bag scores well in my eyes; enough room for almost everything I want to carry around. In contrast the Dussel is quite a lot smaller, but will still fit a camera and lens inside.

Only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because to me the bag feels a little bulky and conspicuous as a camera bag. Whereas the Dussel is a more fashionable colour and shape, the LowePro is more like the Mondeo of camera bags; reliable but a little dull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great product, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
This bag was purchased to protect a Canon EOS 550D which has two lenses. It has enough space for both lenses, one attached to the camera body and one not. It also has a load of space for things like memory cards, filters, lens covers etc.. I even took the battery charger in one pouch. It is suprisingly small, well padded and well made. All zips and clasps seem good quality and I am really pleased I bought it. If I buy any more lenses I may need to upgrade or choose which to take with me but this product should be enough for most people. I recently took my camera on holiday to Australia and Bali and found it was so easy to carry at all times even on planes and through airports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags of Room., 13 Aug 2010
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
Having used a cheap shoulder bag for my Olympus e520 with kit lens, I realised I'd need something a bit more substantial if I got bigger and better lenses. I did and after spending hours comparing and trying different makes and sizes, I plumped for this one.

Apart from the main space, there's a small zipped space in the front flap, a slightly larger one on the front of the bag itself, two elasticated side pockets, and a small zip accessory pocket with two memory card spaces on the inside of the lid. That `lid' covers the main space to protect it from the weather whilst there's an integral rain cover that is neatly hidden underneath the front compartment. The shoulder strap is well padded and doesn't cut into you.

Don't take any notice of what the `technical details' may claim. There's no way this bag will take a DSLR with two or three lenses and a flash unit. It can manage my e520 with kit lens attached and a 70-300mm slotted in next-door but that's all. Memory cards, a spare battery and a few filters can fit in the other spaces but that's all you really need. If you want to carry anything extra around, you'll use a backpack of some description but this shoulder bag is ideal for those times when you just want to wander about without being weighed down with equipment. Moreover, apart from black, it's available in two other colour trims; blue or red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Richard Noyce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowepro Nova 160 AW All Weather Shoulder Bag for Digital SLR for Canon 100D, 700D, 600D, 1100D, Nikon D3100, D3200 D5100, D5200, Samsung NX3000, Panasonic G3, Sony Alpha A58 - Black (Electronics)
Lowepro have a well deserved good reputation. This bag is up there with their best. It is well made, with secure zips and clips, and the addition of a built-in waterproof cover is a real bonus. I bought it to hold my Panasonic G1 kit, wanting something compact enough for air travel yet capable of holding camera+standard zoom, telephoto zoom and compact flash gun, together odds and ends such as a couple of filters, a mini tripod and so on. This bag contains all these with ease, and because of its size can also be put inside a backpack with a laptop if need be for use as cabin baggage on those airlines with tight restrictions. I couldn't ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews