Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange, impressive, evocative
A strange and impressive film - very French, but also very appealing to anyone who remembers what it was/is to be young, confused about the differences between friendship/infatuation and love, about feeling you don't know the rules, and slowly realising the rules have been made and accepted by others, but they might not actually be rules thet you have to follow. I think...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Henk Beentje

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!!!
How anyone can possibly give this film anymore than 1 star baffles me!! This was very boring with a practically non-existant storyline. Please don't waste your time and money on this.
Published 3 months ago by Ms. S. Scanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange, impressive, evocative, 27 April 2009
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A strange and impressive film - very French, but also very appealing to anyone who remembers what it was/is to be young, confused about the differences between friendship/infatuation and love, about feeling you don't know the rules, and slowly realising the rules have been made and accepted by others, but they might not actually be rules thet you have to follow. I think that is a bit where the synchronized swimming parallel comes in! But the swimming is not the subject of this film - love is. Or the feelings of two (maybe three) 15-year old girls. I think this film touches upon... the mix between the child's world, the regulated world, and the world where you feel you have to become adult, don't know how to go about it, and other people seem to know stuff and all you feel is confusion, and fear of embarrassment not knowing what to do... about jealousy, without being able to utter it or do something about it.... about not being able to say what you feel... it's all here, recognizable even if it's in French and in girl... painful, touching, moving.

The young star, Pauline Acquart, is particularly good. It is all very evocative. And all those scenes in the swimming pool brought back the smell of chlorinated water vividly, too - and smells, like the little hints dropped here and there in the film, call up memories and feelings very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars suprisingly good, 23 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Great little French film, not for everyones taste but I found the film made with sensitivity and humour. 3 girls growing up and going through those awkward stages, feelings and emotions involved with sexual and emotional awakening. Excellent performances from all concerned especially Pauline Acquart as the love struck teenager learning the difference between love, lust and reality. If you like French cinema you'll like this, not a lot going on but a lot of subtle character devlopment and many things intimated rather than explicitly said or expressed, just like real life in other words. I think to characterise this film as a lesbian movie misses the point by a long way, the French have far more liberal attitudes to sexuality than the english, its all part of growing up and the distinction is blurred. I see this is merely a film about teenagers growing up and disovering the confusions of love and sex that hit you at that age.
I think anyone watching this, whether male or female would be able to relate to it and I found it rather poignant as I realised I hadn't had to deal with all those things for many years but that's only because I'd become a boring grown up! Small price to pay for a very watchable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naissance des Pieuvres, 15 Aug 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I came across this film by chance and thought I would give it a go. I must admit that I was surprised that in the first 12 minutes I had seen a girl that looked about 13 in her underwear, and one not looking much older showing full frontal nudity. However if you think that this is some type of pervy film, you will be disappointed, that is more or less all you see. I don't know how old the main leads are but they do look like the 15 year olds they are playing, which makes a change from some films I have seen.

Although the story on the main is quite simple, once you start watching this you find many subtlties that add to your viewing pleasure. All the three girls act really well, and many people mention Pauline Acquart, but for me I thought that Louise Blachere was great and could go very far as a comic actress. The story revolves around three fifteen year old girls, Marie (who is the youngest looking and the slimmest), Anne (who is the 'fat' one, although she looks more like your average girl next door), and Floriane (who can be seen as the prettiest, with the perfect body). Although a coming of age tale with hormones raging, Marie is in love with Floriane, who is really just a big tease, and tends to use people for what she can get. Anne is ashamed of her body shape and is in love with Francois, who is after Floriane.

In places this does lose pace and direction, but this is made up by the acting skills of the leads. This was Celine Sciamma's debut as writer and director and she can surely only go to greater heights from here. It is good to see a French film that once again shows that Hollywood needs to learn from its European counterparts how to make something that is sophisticated and classy, rather than some of the dross they turn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teenage angst, 14 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It's an interesting depiction of teenage girls and their girly crushes and thinking. Considering the three girls were just picked for the leading roles with no previous background to acting, they acted out their leads really, really well. I guess it isn't a film that everyone would rave over, but it was certainly enjoyable and gave an insight into the way some teenage girls act out their developing lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Very good young female cast, very convincing in their roles and realistic. Very good French film and anyone who enjoys swimming will surely enjoy it and women mainly as the films three lead characters are all female. Anyone hoping to just see 'girl on girl' action are best not watching it as it's far too high class and an in depth, sensitive observation of girls experiencing puberty. I've supposedly 'grown up' in years but can remember very well the girls feelings of confusion as they are growing up. The absence of any parents or even adults in 'Water Lilies' gives this film greater effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN IN DEPTH LOOK AT 3 TEENAGE FRENCH GIRLS, 31 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This movie takes a very personal look into three young girls growing up outside Paris. The movie is in french with subtitles and tells the story of these girls during the summer they fumble toward womanhood. This movie is not fast paced. It takes a decidedly slow pace as it portrays the friendship between these girls which becomes more complex as their budding sexuality comes to the fore. The idyllic scenery surrounding them belie the harsh issues that face them.

The movie centers around the popular Floriane (captain of the local synchronized swimming team), Ann (who is insecure about her weight) and Marie (very quiet and introspective). Ann is also on the team but she is not as comfortable in her own skin as the girls around her. The scene where she waits for all the other girls to finish getting changed in the locker room so no one can see her naked will speak to everyone who had gym class and was insecure about their bodies, even if they have no reason to be. Another scene shows Anne dancing, trying to show off for the boy she likes but no one is paying attention to her, in fact, she is probably being mocked by the more popular girls. This film excels at these little moments that say so much about growing up.

Maire is Anne's best friend and while attending a synchronized swimming meet, finds herself attracted to Floriane. Is this intense feeling admiration or something more? Other girls comment about Floriane liking girls in front of Marie. She hopes to form a closer relationship with Floriane and is elated when they spend more time together but is hurt when Floriane only uses her as a front to appease her parents while hooking up with a local boy. The same boy that Anne has a crush on.

The complex bonds of friendship between girls, confusion over sexuality and the pressure of being labeled a "virgin" are expertly detailed by the director. I would think this film would appeal more to women as the themes seem gender specific. It is a wonderful and very personal look at three girls lives as they teeter toward adulthood. You can feel the pang of lost innocence as you watch it. It might be too slow paced for some but this thoughtful film is worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!!!, 27 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
How anyone can possibly give this film anymore than 1 star baffles me!! This was very boring with a practically non-existant storyline. Please don't waste your time and money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pace tooooo slow, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Pearce (South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I am not sure what it is about French films. For me it felt as if the film needed more dialog. The actresses seemed to rely a lot on emotions, looks and attitudes. This is definitely NOT a film I would watch for the second time. The pace was very slow moving and at the end of the day, the storyline didn't amount to much. The crux of the story is about two very young girls and the uncertainty/confusion which comes with same sex friendships. If you are looking for steamy love scenes then this movie is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars massive tease!, 28 May 2009
By 
Ms. Rebecca J. Connelly "becz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
good film but the swimming girl is a total tease she so gets a kick out of the love the young girl trying to find herself gives her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another young les movie, 19 Nov 2009
By 
C. WANG "movie fan" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
it's not bad. was not bored by the movie, and the special feature - audition part is quite interesting! one of the main actress in fact looks quite charming in the audition but not in the movie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Water Lilies [DVD] [2007]
Water Lilies [DVD] [2007] by Céline Sciamma (DVD - 2008)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews