Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD is even better, 29 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
I recently discovered Tommy Emmanuel's videos on youtube, then went to see him live in Helsinki. A truly great musician, who has the rare gift to make the audience happy.

If possible, buy the multi-channel DVD 'center stage' rather than the CD with that name. I think the 'happiness' comes from the performance as a whole, seeing and hearing him master the instrument and do his magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master showcase of how music should be., 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center Stage (MP3 Download)
I consider this to be one of Tommy's greatest live shows, and he really is on top of his game for this show. His energy and and enjoyment in what he does and happiness shines though and really transforms the show into a night to remember. All of the songs he performed are catchy, country, bluesy, you name it he has got a style to suit everyone.

This CD covers every song from his show and is recorded ever so well and you feel as if you really are sitting in the room with him. SOme of the magic is lost in this CD as half the enjoyment of Tommy's live work is seeing the great man perform, so if you love Tommy playing I reccomend that you not only get this gen of a CD but you also get Center Stage Dvd [2008] . The two complement each other every well and is a must have for any Tommy Emmanuel fan!

A trade mark of Tommy as you may know is using his guitar to play, all the parts at once and it's brilliant to watch, and even more fantastic to hear him (or watch him if you have his DVD!)use is guitars as drums as well. The song "Mombasa" has an amazing drum solo at the start and at the end of the song, and the song "Initiation" is just a mind blowing performance.

I end by saying that this CD is not to be missed, it's just a joy to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible guitarist, 14 April 2010
By 
Straightforward (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
This man can really make a semi-acoustic guitar sound like two or three instruments; the strings must need replacing after every gig.

This live album showcases Tommy's skills as a solo musician, and other than being accompanied by harmonica player Bob Littell on some tracks it stays that way right through until the end.

There are some great covers here, notably the Beatles medley and Amazing Grace, and some great effects created by Tommy on 'Initiation' that almost matches John Martyn's work with the echo pedal.I'll always rate John Martyn as the master of that area though.

It's great value as there's 24 tracks that all demand attention; the crowd are loving every minute and it's easy to hear why - this man loves doing what he does, and the joy comes through the music. He has incredibly fast fingers, and this album goes some way towards capturing the vibrancy of live performances; the only person that comes to mind that can match his nimble fingers is Davy Graham.

The one reservation I have about his playing is that there's not enough time for silence (for my taste anyway): he's always playing so fast or showing what he can do that at times it might be better to keep it a little bit more simple. Nevertheless, this is a good album from a great guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a classic!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
Great music, great sense of humour comes through from the performer. Hadn't heard of him before a friend mentioned his name. Glad I have..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aussie maestro, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Muddy (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
I Heard about this guy by accident a bought the album on the strength of a you tube clip.Just Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Emmanuel 'Centrer Stage', 6 Feb 2014
By 
P. Oldfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center Stage (MP3 Download)
This arrived promptly and well packaged. Exactly as described, a good album and was originally recommended to me by a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Centre Stage with Tommy Emanuel, 10 Oct 2010
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
Guitar playing doesn't get much better than this. If, like me, you are a fan of Tommy Emmanuel's music, you will want this double album. if you are unfamiliar with his work, buy it and you will want more. A mixture of his own compositions and many more well known tunes, it is a delight from start to finish. Although recorded in concert, the sound quality is good enough to have been a studio recording. All 24 tracks are superb but it is worth buying for his Beatles Medley and Mombassa alone. A fabulous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tommmy Emmanuel Centre Stage, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Center Stage Cd (Audio CD)
This is the second Tommy CD I have bought and as usual is outstanding. Many of the tracks are familiar but I have discovered that they have subtle differences on various albums - i.e. they are not churned out from one recording and the live albums illustrate this. I have not had the opportunity to see Tommy live but it is at the top of my 'to do' list. I have played guitar for over 40 years but have found myself inspired by the 'master'. Enjoy this album and long may he reign - Pops 1950
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Center Stage Cd
Center Stage Cd by Tommy Emmanuel (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews