Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!
I juggled with the idea of learning the uke for about 2 years, but it seems like one of those things you think about and never get around to. So I got off my ace and bought the dern ting. I chose green because am somewhat obsessed with it (always have been, always shall be) but if that's not your thing, this particular range of ukes come in a range of bright colours...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by Anna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nylon strings ...
It's a lovely ukulele just like picture.
However, when I tuned I found it's just plastic strings instead of nylon strings as description.
Published 3 months ago by TSU-LIN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 27 Aug 2009
By 
I juggled with the idea of learning the uke for about 2 years, but it seems like one of those things you think about and never get around to. So I got off my ace and bought the dern ting. I chose green because am somewhat obsessed with it (always have been, always shall be) but if that's not your thing, this particular range of ukes come in a range of bright colours... though not in plain wood.

I was amazed at the size of it in person. I mean, I know they're small, but it really does look like a miniature guitar; a toy for children, almost. Its being such a bold colour probably adds to that slightly, so if you want something that will look authentic instead of kooky, go for plain wood. It measures about 21" from end to end, and it's incredibly light. I was really hoping Mahalo ukes were lovingly handmade in a shack on a beach in Hawaii by a wizened old chap that spends his days surfing and basking in the Hawaiin sun... alas, they're made in China. But don't let that put you off: they feel very sturdy. In fact, while I was getting used to holding it, mine took a bit of a knock from a nearby chest of drawers and it gave a fairly satisfying thwacky sound while sustaining no damage. Nice. Still, probably best not to make a habit of it.

It comes already strung with nylon strings (but no spares), and you'll find you need to re-tune it every few hours or so until it settles in. There's an excellent online tuner, so don't worry too much about spending cash on newfangled chromatic tuner jiggerypokery. The strings are G C E A (speaking of which, this uke is for right-handed bods; if you're left-handed, you'll need to get one specifically for that) and even if you're not pitch-perfect prior to picking your uke up, within a few days, you'll find your ear naturally becomes attuned to what the tone should be... that's a really nifty perk, actually.

It comes with a matching uke bag, which is awesome. The bag has a handle, and is made out of that nylon-type stuff they make kites out of... frankly, it could be made out of ear-buds and it would still be a mighty, mighty bargain. (I've added photos of both the uke and the bag so you can see precisely what it all looks like.)

There's one issue that I've not seen discussed anywhere online and it's worth mentioning... women have the bumpy bits on their front and, depending on, hahh, how bumpy they are, it can make holding the uke slightly unwieldy. It's something to bear in mind, really, as it hadn't occurred to me before buying my one, but it makes finding your uke "position" a little more complicated which, in turn, affects how you hold it which has a knock on effect with both your strumming hand and playing hand.

The ukulele, though, is a wonderful, wonderful instrument. I've owned mine for 5 days and am on my way to being able to play Over the Rainbow which feels like such an achievement. That's the joy of musical instruments, really: as you become a little more proficient (or, a little less shockingawful, depending on what sort of chap you are and how you view your glass) seeing that progress encourages you to carry on. And, it has to be said, the uke is hugely addictive. It's such a happy, cheerful instrument; equally, it's capable of astonishingly beautiful sounds, and if you've been toying with the idea of having a go, I would urge you to jump in feet first, and fill yer boots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Soprano Ukelele, 5 April 2010
By 
Good product and well shipped. Needs a bit of tuning on arrival and if you are not au fait with an instrument - just a warning that it comes as is. So you will need a book on ukeleles. Its fairly durable - my one year old has a tendency for using it as percussion while I am on the guitar! Overall a surprisingly good product. At least better quality than I was anticipating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ukulele, 8 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
Excellent product for the money, my son is getting on great with it, and the colour is funky too, would not hesitate recommending this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Soprano Ukelele, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Gillian Morris "jewel nut" (Hull E>Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This ukelele was purchased for my son who is passionate about music and wants to produce his own. He has been collecting different types of instrument and decided to try the ukelele. After looking on several sites he came across this one on Ebay. I was not sure what to expect as it looked more like a toy to me but it is not.
My son has found this to be a very useful instrument. It is a really nice size and the tone is very good. It even comes in a matching case! My son liked the colour of this instrument which makes it more attractive. It is a very nicely made instrument which is easy to play, although he's no George Formby!!. The only down side I would say, is the fact that it needs retuning more than he would like but he is hopeful that this will settle down over time. (No detriment)
On the whole this is a good little piece of kit and at a very good price.
Highly recommended to all, especially all you budding George Formbys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
Good value for the money. Looks good colour is bright and unique. Good sound on the ukulele, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
Been learning a few tunes on this little beauty. The ukulele arrived quickly and was well packaged. Having loads of fun with it. Great. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great that it has a case, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
Was exactly as described and came quickly. Good that it has a case. Seems quite sturdy as opposed to other more cheaper ones we looked at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damaged but not worth sending back, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
The product had some damage but due to the fact I was putting a sticker in he spot I did not return. Great sound and cheap...worth buying for any beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars green uke, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
ideal starter uke. slightly better than a toy, but great for the grandson.(and it stops him from trying to play mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely buy, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green (Electronics)
Easy to use and set up. Perfect little gift for people wanting to learn how to play the ukulele. Brilliant buy for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mahalo Ukulele - 2011 Soprano Ukulele Green
Used & New from: 15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews