Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crebes
This was a groundbreaking series of cartoons that you made sure you were home to see when they were first shown in the kids teatime slot.
Witty with devious story lines and a believable anti-hero, just a lot of fun. Anyone who enjoyed these cartoons first time around should take the opportunity to buy the complete series and enjoy all over again.
It does make...
Published on 24 May 2011 by Crebes

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top cat
Bought this with rose tinted glasses but sometimes we should leave our memories alone. Technically there's nothing wrong with the product - the proof is in the eating, so some of you will appreciate this DVD and some will wish you hadn't bothered. I fall into the latter camp.
Published 23 months ago by buysupreme


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crebes, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This was a groundbreaking series of cartoons that you made sure you were home to see when they were first shown in the kids teatime slot.
Witty with devious story lines and a believable anti-hero, just a lot of fun. Anyone who enjoyed these cartoons first time around should take the opportunity to buy the complete series and enjoy all over again.
It does make you wonder if the writers of The Sopranos and the Wire watched these original cartoons for basic ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - still cool after all these years....., 13 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Cook "Cookie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I used to watch Top Cat all the time as a kid and was so surprised to find out that there were only ever 30 episodes, I'd imagined hundreds! So here they all are, lovingly reissued in a 5 DVD box set.
But it's not only the original series you get, there's episode commentaries on three of the shows, 2 documentaries and a host of other extras to really complete an excellent package. Go ahead, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leader of the Gang, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoy all 30 episodes of Top Cat (or as I still think of it Boss Cat), the Hanna-Barbera cartoon series made in the early 1960s. This show stands alongside the Flintstones as being at the very pinnacle of sitcom-like cartoon series that can still be enjoyed by young and old today. But unlike the Flintstones it didn't overstay its welcome by making too many episodes and so having a drop in quality.

The format is a simple one that Top Cat is a cat living in an alley with his gang and who is always embarking on money-making scams. Officer Dibble seeks to clean up the alley while defeating the scams, but TC always foils him. The set-up is broadly based on the classic Bilko sitcom from the 1950s, with TC being close in character and voice to Phil Silvers and his side-kick Benny the Ball looking like and being voiced by the man behind the character Duane Doberman. The others in the gang of cats all play entertaining roles with Brain playing the stupid cat, Choo-Choo being the nervous one, Fancy-Fancy being the ladies-cat man, and Spook being the cool one. For some reason I've always liked Choo-Choo the best.

The series still works because the stories are strong and the characters so well defined. You instantly know how everyone will react to any situation and as the characters are voiced with care they are as believable as any in a live-action sitcom. Allen Jenkins' Dibble in particular is a classic and he is a perfect antagonist to Arnold Stang's TC. There's not really a bad episode in the run and so this stands out as a cartoon series that can't be faulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat is Top Dog, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is just a great walk down memory lane (for me) but my kids (aged 9 and 11) also really enjoy it. We sit down as a family from time to time to watch the next episode and it is just good wholesome, very funny, family entertainment. I think this is one of the best value for money items I have ever purchased (NB even my wife loves it and she just hates cartoons generally). The voices, the characters, the humour, this was a very polished cartoon series and the somewhat out of date and clunky animation techniques take nothing away from the enjoyment. I am constantly amazed at how good it is. Only trouble is there are 30 episodes and we are now on number 28! Recommend, recommend, recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat - Top Class!, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must for all Hanna-Barbera fans. It ranks along with the all-time-greats of annimation. As a child (well teenager actually) I always had a soft spot for Benny. I rushed home from school to see this when originally aired on TV, and was rarely disappointed. Now after all these years, once more the child, I watched the shows again and laughed my socks off. All of the characters say so much more than just the words they speak. Beautifully restored, with some interesting bonus features (like actors voices and original storyboard sketches), this is great value for money. Whether you have or haven't seen it before, it's well worth owning as all the characters are just so adorable. The only negative is the multi-disc packaging, which I couldn't get the discs out of, fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gee T.C., 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the greatest cartoon TV series of all time (OK, The Flintstones come close) and at this price for the entire oeuvre who's going to argue - a brilliant buy!. Revisiting our feline pals after so many years I was taken by the humour, so much of which was lost to my young ears...this ain't just a kids show! This 50 year old (going on 12) is a very happy bunny! Don't hesitate, just click that button, you won't regret it! Service via Amazon was impeccable as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Top Cat, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
When at sea,we had a Chief engineer. he couldnt have breakfast without watching Top Cat,before he started the days work. I know them all and still I bougth them all after I retired.I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Raymond Moody (Burford, Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The smart alley cats led by none other than Top Cat himself from his headquarters in a dustbin always get the better of the fall guy, poor old Officer Dibble, alias Officer Dribble. An entertaining gane of characters, but it takes me back to the enjoyment I had in them when I was very much younger than I am now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat the comlete box set [dvd], 26 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Lorraine Dawn Lee "J.A.L.Lee" (lincolnshire,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Top Cat is about a bunch of street cats trying to make money with various schemes and cons with hilarious results.
The sound and picture quality is brilliant,the box set consists of 5 discs.5 stars ,people of all ages will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Just as I remembered (because I'm over Fifty) - Oldies are always the best !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD]
Top Cat - Complete Box Set [DVD] by Top Cat (DVD - 2008)
£8.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews