Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Price:£56.50+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2012
The collection comprises the following films: The Big Night, Sleeping Tiger, The Criminal, Eva, The Servant, Accident, The Go-Between, and Mr. Klein. I regard it as excellent value for money entertainment, and The Servant as one of the most entertaining films I think I have ever seen.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
first of all, i do not quite know what a previous reviewer of this dvd set was worried about. my box set of these 8 joseph losey films plays very well on my dvd player and the sound and picture quality are both very good.
for my money the films "accident," "the criminal," and "the servant" are the best in this set. there is some outstanding writing and acting to be seen. however, i wouldn't say that the other films in this collection are bad as such, they just aren't my sort of thing. in my opinion, stanley baker and dirk bogarde give the most effective performances and as a big fan of stanley baker, it gives me great pleasure to see that more of his films are finally being released on dvd. he is one actor who should not be forgotten.
i didn't realise until i played the different discs that there are quite a few special features included, including trailers, documentaries and featurettes that cover most of the films and some of the people involved in front of and behind the cameras.
it is good to see that the dvds are securely packaged in different cases which i am sure, will reduce the chances of the discs becoming scratched.
in all these films, there is a strong sense of gritty realism and also some quite original storylines. it is thanks to the likes of joseph losey that british cinema was taken to an entirely different level, in the ways of film-making in general.
it beggars belief how america could treat one of their own subjects the way they did as it was a considerable loss to them that britain was able to secure the services of one of the greatest film-makers of all time.
66 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
I already knew several of the better known films and wished to be reacquainted with them but was not prepared for Mr Klein which I found simply fascinating. Quite the best performance from Delon I have yet seen playing a strangely unsympathetic yet mesmerising individual. Sleeping Tiger came a close second, what a wonderful actor Bogarde was with such depths that Losey plumbed so successfully. My third surprise was Eva with Baker playing the usual abrasive, chip on the shoulder character which he played a little too often but this film was again hypnotic with everything going down hill and no one doing anything to stop it. That and the strange unclear conclusion to virtually all the stories makes Losey a terrible cynical observer of relationships. Makes you wonder what his own were like! All highly watchable and very good value.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Surely one of the most under-rated film directors of all time.
This superb value box set contains the magnificent "The Servant" with its sublime portrayal of the sleazy, manipulative manservant who completely overturns his (supposed) master's life, and the unforgettable Kafkaesque masterpiece (in French) "M. Klein", starring Alain Delon.
But it's difficult to pick out a favourite here. Every film in this set is powerful in its own right, with sterling performances from Bogarde and Delon but also other actors who have long slipped into obscurity - e.g. the ever-charismatic Stanley Baker, showing off his versatility here in different roles...
And then unforgettable portraits of an era when British society was changing beyond measure.
All under Losey's masterful, confident eye and hand. Striking, lingering images, original scores, and powerful scripts.
A must-have introduction to this too often neglected director.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
A deserved special release for the greatest british-american director of all times. Some of his best efforts are presented here - very good choices, by the way. Among other positive things, Losey's most valuable partnerships (actor Dirk Bogarde and screenwriter and dramatist Harold Pinter) are strongly represented.
review image review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Joseph Losey was one of the great directors, and he had a hard life - and it's true to say that, sadly, he saw the great renown that accumulated around him from the late 1950s through to the start of the 1970s eventually evaporate. By the time of his death in 1984, he was, in the film industry's eyes, a largely forgotten figure who hadn't had a box-office hit in years. This eight-film box-set goes a long way to restoring Losey's reputation, making available in one package such hugely influential and impressive films as "The Servant", "Accident", "Eve" and "The Go-Between", as well as the less widely-known, but quite brilliant "The Criminal" and "M. Klein" (Losey's first French-language film). The two other films are a real rarity item from Losey's Hollywood days, "The Big Night" - which turns out to be extremely good - and his first British film, "The Sleeping Tiger". This movie has a few problems, it must be admitted - the script isn't right, the restrictions imposed by the Censor are damaging, Dirk Bogarde is rather too old for his role (the Albert Finney of "Saturday Night And Sunday Morning" would have been just right) - and yet it's far above the average for a British melodrama of the mid-50s. All in all, this is a box-set of real value.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Losey's outstanding work with Pinter, Baxter and Bogarde. The part played by Julie Christie in The Go Between also a tour-de-force.

As to the DVD's, a tad low quality soundwise and no sub-titles. May be better to wait for the forthcoming bluray burns of some of these titles, but have no evidence myself to support this view as have not seen them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Joseph Losey is one of my favorite directors. I have seen most of his movies long time ago. I want to see them again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2014
If ever a film-maker deserved the adjective "transgressive" to be applied to his oeuvre then Joseph Losey surely did. This collection has three films where Losey and Harold Pinter collaborated: "The Servant", "The Accident", and "The Go-Between". In all three we see a human being almost disintegrating before our eyes, and in all three class plays an important role, and again in all three the norms of civilised behaviour and conventional morality are no match for lust, envy or hatred. There are three other films where the themes are very similar: "Sleeping Tiger", "The Criminal" and "Eva". After watching all six of these "British" films I've become quite a fan of Stanley Baker, whom I'd previously only come across in the old BBC TV series of "How Green was my Valley". Joseph Losey also got the best out of Dirk Bogarde in several of the films.
As well as the six British films there is one of Losey's early American efforts: "The Big Night". It's an OK film noir, and the transgressive quality is there too, but I'd rather "The Boy with Green Hair" had been included instead of it. As far the last film "Monsieur Klein" that's a French film, and I'm yet to watch it, but as it won 4 César awards, I am expecting it to be well worth watching.
For an American, Losey is a very European director; the films are mostly very slow moving, sometimes perhaps too slow, and there is a lot more emphasis on the interaction and development of characters than on plot. But, though these films are getting on for fifty years old, they have mostly aged very well, and retain a power to shock and disturb a new generation of film buffs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
This is a great film collection - some of which are hard to get - and the transfer is excellent, except the DVDs in my copy were corrupted and degenerated into a pixelated noise near the end of the disk.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)