Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a quite original collection of british cinema.
first of all, i do not quite know what a previous reviewer of this dvd set was worried about. my box set of these 8 joseph losey films plays very well on my dvd player and the sound and picture quality are both very good.
for my money the films "accident," "the criminal," and "the servant" are the best in this set. there is some outstanding writing and acting to be...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by jeremiah harbottle

versus
22 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Films - Dodgy DVD
This is a great film collection - some of which are hard to get - and the transfer is excellent, except the DVDs in my copy were corrupted and degenerated into a pixelated noise near the end of the disk.
Published on 22 July 2009 by R. J. Blower


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a quite original collection of british cinema., 18 Sep 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
first of all, i do not quite know what a previous reviewer of this dvd set was worried about. my box set of these 8 joseph losey films plays very well on my dvd player and the sound and picture quality are both very good.
for my money the films "accident," "the criminal," and "the servant" are the best in this set. there is some outstanding writing and acting to be seen. however, i wouldn't say that the other films in this collection are bad as such, they just aren't my sort of thing. in my opinion, stanley baker and dirk bogarde give the most effective performances and as a big fan of stanley baker, it gives me great pleasure to see that more of his films are finally being released on dvd. he is one actor who should not be forgotten.
i didn't realise until i played the different discs that there are quite a few special features included, including trailers, documentaries and featurettes that cover most of the films and some of the people involved in front of and behind the cameras.
it is good to see that the dvds are securely packaged in different cases which i am sure, will reduce the chances of the discs becoming scratched.
in all these films, there is a strong sense of gritty realism and also some quite original storylines. it is thanks to the likes of joseph losey that british cinema was taken to an entirely different level, in the ways of film-making in general.
it beggars belief how america could treat one of their own subjects the way they did as it was a considerable loss to them that britain was able to secure the services of one of the greatest film-makers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality at an Good Price, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The collection comprises the following films: The Big Night, Sleeping Tiger, The Criminal, Eva, The Servant, Accident, The Go-Between, and Mr. Klein. I regard it as excellent value for money entertainment, and The Servant as one of the most entertaining films I think I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing Losey, 17 April 2012
By 
Alexander Gillan (Tuscany, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Surely one of the most under-rated film directors of all time.
This superb value box set contains the magnificent "The Servant" with its sublime portrayal of the sleazy, manipulative manservant who completely overturns his (supposed) master's life, and the unforgettable Kafkaesque masterpiece (in French) "M. Klein", starring Alain Delon.
But it's difficult to pick out a favourite here. Every film in this set is powerful in its own right, with sterling performances from Bogarde and Delon but also other actors who have long slipped into obscurity - e.g. the ever-charismatic Stanley Baker, showing off his versatility here in different roles...
And then unforgettable portraits of an era when British society was changing beyond measure.
All under Losey's masterful, confident eye and hand. Striking, lingering images, original scores, and powerful scripts.
A must-have introduction to this too often neglected director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A one off, 1 April 2011
By 
Mr. A. Campbell-walter (Hoath, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I already knew several of the better known films and wished to be reacquainted with them but was not prepared for Mr Klein which I found simply fascinating. Quite the best performance from Delon I have yet seen playing a strangely unsympathetic yet mesmerising individual. Sleeping Tiger came a close second, what a wonderful actor Bogarde was with such depths that Losey plumbed so successfully. My third surprise was Eva with Baker playing the usual abrasive, chip on the shoulder character which he played a little too often but this film was again hypnotic with everything going down hill and no one doing anything to stop it. That and the strange unclear conclusion to virtually all the stories makes Losey a terrible cynical observer of relationships. Makes you wonder what his own were like! All highly watchable and very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value., 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Joseph Losey was one of the great directors, and he had a hard life - and it's true to say that, sadly, he saw the great renown that accumulated around him from the late 1950s through to the start of the 1970s eventually evaporate. By the time of his death in 1984, he was, in the film industry's eyes, a largely forgotten figure who hadn't had a box-office hit in years. This eight-film box-set goes a long way to restoring Losey's reputation, making available in one package such hugely influential and impressive films as "The Servant", "Accident", "Eve" and "The Go-Between", as well as the less widely-known, but quite brilliant "The Criminal" and "M. Klein" (Losey's first French-language film). The two other films are a real rarity item from Losey's Hollywood days, "The Big Night" - which turns out to be extremely good - and his first British film, "The Sleeping Tiger". This movie has a few problems, it must be admitted - the script isn't right, the restrictions imposed by the Censor are damaging, Dirk Bogarde is rather too old for his role (the Albert Finney of "Saturday Night And Sunday Morning" would have been just right) - and yet it's far above the average for a British melodrama of the mid-50s. All in all, this is a box-set of real value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy acquisition, given the facts., 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A deserved special release for the greatest british-american director of all times. Some of his best efforts are presented here - very good choices, by the way. Among other positive things, Losey's most valuable partnerships (actor Dirk Bogarde and screenwriter and dramatist Harold Pinter) are strongly represented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of mostly slow but disturbing films, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Alun Williams "mathematician manqué" (Peterborough,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If ever a film-maker deserved the adjective "transgressive" to be applied to his oeuvre then Joseph Losey surely did. This collection has three films where Losey and Harold Pinter collaborated: "The Servant", "The Accident", and "The Go-Between". In all three we see a human being almost disintegrating before our eyes, and in all three class plays an important role, and again in all three the norms of civilised behaviour and conventional morality are no match for lust, envy or hatred. There are three other films where the themes are very similar: "Sleeping Tiger", "The Criminal" and "Eva". After watching all six of these "British" films I've become quite a fan of Stanley Baker, whom I'd previously only come across in the old BBC TV series of "How Green was my Valley". Joseph Losey also got the best out of Dirk Bogarde in several of the films.
As well as the six British films there is one of Losey's early American efforts: "The Big Night". It's an OK film noir, and the transgressive quality is there too, but I'd rather "The Boy with Green Hair" had been included instead of it. As far the last film "Monsieur Klein" that's a French film, and I'm yet to watch it, but as it won 4 César awards, I am expecting it to be well worth watching.
For an American, Losey is a very European director; the films are mostly very slow moving, sometimes perhaps too slow, and there is a lot more emphasis on the interaction and development of characters than on plot. But, though these films are getting on for fifty years old, they have mostly aged very well, and retain a power to shock and disturb a new generation of film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On of the greatest british filmmakers., 26 Nov 2013
By 
Christian Rasselet "cinéphile avisé" (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Joseph Losey is one of my favorite directors. I have seen most of his movies long time ago. I want to see them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Losey's English Opus., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Losey's outstanding work with Pinter, Baxter and Bogarde. The part played by Julie Christie in The Go Between also a tour-de-force.

As to the DVD's, a tad low quality soundwise and no sub-titles. May be better to wait for the forthcoming bluray burns of some of these titles, but have no evidence myself to support this view as have not seen them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Films - Dodgy DVD, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film collection - some of which are hard to get - and the transfer is excellent, except the DVDs in my copy were corrupted and degenerated into a pixelated noise near the end of the disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joseph Losey Collection [DVD]
Joseph Losey Collection [DVD] by Joseph Losey (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £68.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews