Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, does what it says on the tin
Got these about a fortnight ago, listen to them everyday. Sound quality excellent, bass rich. I find these phones very comfortable in the ear. When im not listening to them they are sitting around my neck, they are so light i often forget they are there. Definitely sport headphones, i have not had them fall out once! Like the fact that you can adjust where the wire comes...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by T. R. Z. Hall

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expected better
I have now had 2 pairs of these earphones and both have developed the same fault. The left earphone has lost most of its sound. I bought the first pair in July and by the end of August they had broken, Amazon to their credit, sent me a new pair and by the end of Nov they had also broken. My advice is to stay away from these and buy a different pair. They don't actually...
Published on 3 Dec 2008 by Mark G


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expected better, 3 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
I have now had 2 pairs of these earphones and both have developed the same fault. The left earphone has lost most of its sound. I bought the first pair in July and by the end of August they had broken, Amazon to their credit, sent me a new pair and by the end of Nov they had also broken. My advice is to stay away from these and buy a different pair. They don't actually stay in the ear much better than normal earphones anyway and the sound isn't any better either, therefore there must be better options out there for the money.

Stay clear. I expected better from a company like Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, does what it says on the tin, 20 Oct 2009
By 
T. R. Z. Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
Got these about a fortnight ago, listen to them everyday. Sound quality excellent, bass rich. I find these phones very comfortable in the ear. When im not listening to them they are sitting around my neck, they are so light i often forget they are there. Definitely sport headphones, i have not had them fall out once! Like the fact that you can adjust where the wire comes off the loop, they come by default on the left side, but i far prefer it at the rear of the loop meaning the wire goes down my back and into my pockets, meaning no snagging.

All in all very good, the carry case they come with is a bit bulky and pointless as the headphones are rugged enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
Good quality sound and comfortable. Only one problem: the right speaker suddenly failed - just five minutes into use listening to the radio. Then worked intermittently, probably something to do with a faulty cable but not satisfactory with a brand new product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top kit, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. David Vardy (norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
these are brilliant I've had them a good while now and go running on average twice a week. they've never slipped out or become uncomfortable and the sound quality is very good, they also block out a fair amount of other noise too which means the music doesnt need to be too loud.
all in all a great pair of headphones for exercising in and good value for money in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Second pair which have failed DON'T BUY, 8 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
These are comfortable, but are the second pair that I have bought and have now failed again on the right ear bud. I advise you not to buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
Bought for fitness use and general wear. Sound was the worst I had ever heard through earphones. Really tinny no bass no depth. Simple sound. Not rich or engaging. Very disappointed for a Sony product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
I have to say, I was skeptical, because on pretty much every pair of headphones I have looked at, there have been positive reviews, and negative reviews - so I was expecting the worst when I finally settled on a pair.
However. These things are great.

They come with sets of different sized earphone, which is great for someone with weird ears like me, the sound quality is amazing, and the design is just cool! The only downsides? They can be a pain to put in the little case thing you get (but that's soo minor, they're mostly in my ears anyway!) and when you first put them in they can feel uncomfortable, but that feeling fades soon.....fantastic point about them: they can drown out the sound of the outside world pretty easily!

Brilliant headphones I say. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super headphones!, 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
These Sony MDR-AS50G are designed for active listening e,g in gym, jogging. The headphones have a flexible band that surround the back of your head whilst the ear buds fit snugly in your ear. No amount of physical activity will shift them. Sound quality was surprisingly good with a balanced level of bass and treble (9-23,000 Hz). They are also light (13g) and are still comfortable after your workout.

They come with a spare set of small and large buds with the medium buds fitted already to the phones. Also included is a rather large bulky plastic carry case thats strictly functional.

At the price I got them on Amazon (21.94) they are an absolute steal! Also credit to amazon, I changed my delivery to Free Saver but they still came the next day! Very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for running, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
I purchased these headphones as I often go running and find it irritating when the headphones fall out. I previously purchased the Sennheiser running headphones with the same design of a band connecting the two ear peicesSennheiser/Adidas PMX 680 High-Performance Rugged Stereo Neckband Headphone for Sports. These were very good but the sound quality you get from them is vastly over-shadowed by the quality given by the in-ear design of the Sony MDR-AS50G headphones.

The wire is very cleverly designed. It comes initially very short; just enough to get to your elbow if you hold it straight. This is the perfect length if you carry your phone/mp3 player on an arm-band or clip it to your shirt. The wire can be repositioned to come out of either side of the connector so it doesn't matter which arm you wear your arm-band on. There is also an extension cable for if you carry your music player in your pocket too. The connector of the two ear-pieces is made out of a flexible plastic to fit anyones headsize.

Excellent sound quality and really good design for running. Good quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars look elsewhere for sports headphones, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sony MDR-AS50G Active Series Headphones (Electronics)
biggest waste of money ever!!! designed to resist moisture and designed as part of their active range?!! the fit of the headphones is awful i constantly had to adjust them during my run, as i started to sweat the ear buds kept falling out - the only thing going for them is the fact that the sound quality was actually quite good. If however you are looking for some headphones to use when running go for the seinnhowser and addidas ones they are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews