Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you think you can't dance...?
...anyone can move to this!

I can only re-iterate what the first reviewer has said. Influences from James Brown, High-life and Voodoo added to the local sounds of Benin and Togo make for a thrilling album. There are some fabulous 1970's African compilations around at the moment and this is another. Classic sounds from the cradle of music.
Published on 11 Jan. 2010 by Douglas Miller

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No CD received, empty!
the actual box was cello-wrapped. One of those nice boxes with a booklet inside and then another box that flips open with the CD in but there was no CD, I will complain and return the CD
Published on 28 Dec. 2012 by Dan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you think you can't dance...?, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
Douglas Miller "practical psychologist" (Pezenas, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...anyone can move to this!

I can only re-iterate what the first reviewer has said. Influences from James Brown, High-life and Voodoo added to the local sounds of Benin and Togo make for a thrilling album. There are some fabulous 1970's African compilations around at the moment and this is another. Classic sounds from the cradle of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Contest, 25 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On current form Analog Africa are unlikely to fall foul of the Trade Misdescription Authorities for this fantastic release is raw, psychedelic, likely to provoke a scream of joy or astonishment and very, very fine. There is little to add to the above two reviews. Analog's first six releases have been my musical discovery of 2010 and ASC is the ideal place to start. The music is indeed a melting point and all the stronger for it and makes much western funk of the same (or indeed any) period tinny, plastic and disposable. ASC provides incredible quality and value for money over its 70 minutes. The whole product is lovingly compiled from the evocative sepia-tinged photos and engaging and informative sleevenotes to the incredible consistency of output. There are no weak tracks but newcomers can do no worse than the opening "Mi Kple Dogbekpo" with its rousing call to arms refrain and almost mariachi-sounding brass or "It's a Vanity" by Gabo Brown & (the very wonderful) Orchestre Poly-Rythmo. Brown's wonderfulm rich voice soaring over that incredible backing track. In short, African Scream Contest: Raw & Psychedelic Afro Sounds from Benin 7 Togo does what it says on the tin and then some. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "........" - That's me speechless listening to this incredible music, 22 July 2008
By 
T. Preston "Francophile" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I almost choked on my cornflakes in delight when I put this record on.

Samy Ben Redjeb has certainly done some hardcore searching, sifting through thousands of dusty vinyl stored in scorpion-infested warehouses to put together a compilation of such high quality it's left me scraping around for superlatives. I'm trying to think of ways to fault this record to provide some balance but, in truth, the best I can come up with is the usual problem with compilations, particularly African ones, in that each track leaves me begging for more of the same artist, yet with little clue as to how I'm going to get hold of it.

That aside, it's also pretty difficult to describe. Imagine mooching about in Benin or Togo [I think I need to revisit these countries and do some musical exploration of my own], looking East and West at your more illustrious neighbours. I'm hungry. A dollop of Juju, a smattering of Highlife, mix it all up with Afrobeat sauce and sprinkle in some funk and soul from the States. Maybe add a little Congolese guitar, just to taste, and a tiny bit of the prevailing Cuban sound. Hmm. Something's missing. Oh yeah - whack in the meat; local styles and beats such as Sato, Agbadja, and...BAM! The result is a musical feast that will blow you away and make you want to shake your derrière in the kitchen window without a care in the world about what the neighbours think.

From the very first track, this album explodes into life and doesn't give up. It comes highly recommended. More, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Compilation, 4 April 2011
Analog Africa are responsible for some of the greatest compilations
of Afrobeat and funk. Legends Of Benin, Afrobeat Airways and both
volumes with Orchestre Poly-Rythmo are all essential albums for
afrobeaters and funkateers, but this still stands as their most
treasured release.
Orchestre Poly-Rythmo takes centre stage and are involved in a lot
of the best stuff on here, creating some highly combustible grooves
for artists like Gabo Brown and Tidiani Kone. The ten minute monster
of Djanfa Magni stands firm next to Fela's greatest moments.
In addition to that you also get their own classic, "Gbeti Madjro"
and an terrific song by one of their lead vocalists, Vincent
Ahehehinnou, also with backing from the Poly-Rythmo.
Other classics include Mi Kple Dogbekpo and Leki Santchi, the latter
carried by a chugging organ groove, that's both sweet and infective.

INCREDIBLE STUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars african sounds, 10 Jan. 2011
was looking to listen to more african music but unsure which artists-sometimes compilations are not great but this i mostly loved and picked up a few more cds from artists i discovered here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No CD received, empty!, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the actual box was cello-wrapped. One of those nice boxes with a booklet inside and then another box that flips open with the CD in but there was no CD, I will complain and return the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

African Scream Contest [VINYL]
African Scream Contest [VINYL] by African Scream Contest (Vinyl - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews