Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2009
Looking at these products you'd think they'd been designed as a medical prosthesis. The bizarre method of 'floating' the speaker orbs off the ear means the whole looks like some kind of head clamp and the bass-duct ear-inserts make it appear that you've got something injecting into your lugs.

All this notwithstanding, the sound is incredibly transparent with a real feeling of spaciousness to stereo recordings that makes the whole thing... work. It's a very sweet experience and the strangeness of the ensemble wears off pretty quickly and you nearly forget your wearing the headgear.

Nearly. Two things aren't quite right. The prongs that deliver the bass notes into the ear canal are metal and no matter the powder coating and fluffy covers you can't forget the hardness and temperature differential that is engendered by the hard material pressing on the ear. Secondly, no matter how much twiddling and adjusting of the set-up (and it' very adjustable), I couldn't get a fully satisfying bass sound.

The accessories are all quite satisfying - a quality case with semi-stiff sides to protect the kit, decent extension cord, gold-plated small>big extension jack, and an in-line amplifier that is a real necessity to boost the input signal for the power-hungry orbital speakers. It should be noted that with 3 weeks of near-constant use, I've still not exhausted the charge in the AAA batteries (not supplied) plugged into the thing.

If you're a bit of an headphone-a-phile, like me, I'd definitely have a go with these for the fantastic soundstage, but be aware that the final problem with these things is they are really not suitable for public use as the open format makes them incredibly 'leaky'.

Recommended, but with the reservations noted above.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
These headphones sound really good, very detailed, and they have a great soundstage. Unlike other headphones, the sound seems to be in front of me and around my head, not in the back of my head. Just make sure to use the little amplifier that comes with them, it makes all the difference for sound quality. At first I thought I would not need it, because my stereo could drive the headphones loud enough, but they really sound much better once the little amplifier is added, much richer and fuller (a dedicated headphone amp might be even better, but I don't own one). Same effect when plugged into my computer, the amplifier really improves the sound quality of these headphones.

Why not five stars? They get a little uncomfortable after long listening sessions, and everyone around you also has to listen to your music, because they are absolutely open. Apart from that, they are great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Sony PFR-V1 Open-air speaker headphones
They're anti-social; anyone near can hear them. But they are an out of head experience.
Little comparison with any other head/ear phones. They are so different it's more like having loudspeakers
near, but outside of your ears. Which is what it is.

Good sound all round; well good enough, and the experience is worth the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
Two things to mention up-front. Firstly persevere with the fit. They do take a bit of adjusting especially with glasses wearers (like me).

Secondly, like all good hi-fi kit they require a bit of running in both on first plugging in and also a few minutes for each session (like all good headphones).

Right on to the really important bit, sound quality. Wow! Be prepared to have to spend some more money on good sound sources. They make poor quality MP3 players sound decidedly yukky, but my classic iRiver H340 running Rockbox and playing FLAC encoded tracks enables these cans to fly. Bass is precise and not overdone whilst the amount of detail in the mids and highs is astonishing.

Another quality source of audio is the headphone out of the Squeezebox Boom player from Logitech (formerly Slim Devices). Again this is FLACs though you have to have a server running on either a PC/Mac/Unix or a NAS box. The Boom also sounds good from it's own speakers.

Take a chance and buy a pair - I bet you don't return them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
This headphone produces good sound, but you have to listen to your favourite tracks in the comfort of your quiet lounge, it is not a headphone you can use when you are on the move.

it has an average bass, good midrange but poor treble, and the music is not that transparent or clear. I prefer the sound of Sony MDR-EX700 to this headphone, as the latter is better sounding and an all rounder. you could use it any where.

If you intend to use this headphne at home, it is comfortable to wear, and enjoyable to listen to as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
All'inizio ero un poco scettico per questa strana cuffia...sembra di avere due satelliti alle orecchie, ma poi all'ascolto sono rimasto piacevolmente sorpreso.
Non per la sua potenza in effetti non è potentissima ma la qualità del suono merita un 5 stelle!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
This is one of the best experience of listening . very light and absolutely cheap than the AKG K 1000
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2009
Upon arrival even though the box was undamaged the right channel did not work.
Very disappointed in Sony's quality control.
Anyways I returned them, great service Amazon, and bought a pair of Shure 530's which I can thoroughly recommend.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.