Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Dracula of the Universal horror franchise.
Son of Dracula for me is the best Dracula film of the Universal franchise. Interesting characters, great acting and a free flowing story not to mention quite a bleak ending all give this movie the thumbs up. Let's get one thing out of the way first: Lon Chaney Jr playing Dracula. He has come under a lot of criticism and to a degree I can agree. His American accent does...
Published 3 months ago by Colonel Decker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drac and the femme fatale.
Out of Universal Pictures is Son Of Dracula, directed by Robert Siodmak and written by Curt Siodmak and Eric Taylor. It stars Lon Chaney Jr, Robert Paige, Louise Allbritton & Evelyn Ankers. It is the third Universal Studios Dracula production after Dracula (1931) & Dracula's Daughter (1936). Plot finds the mysterious Count Alucard (Chaney Jr.) arriving in the Deep South...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by Spike Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drac and the femme fatale., 28 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Out of Universal Pictures is Son Of Dracula, directed by Robert Siodmak and written by Curt Siodmak and Eric Taylor. It stars Lon Chaney Jr, Robert Paige, Louise Allbritton & Evelyn Ankers. It is the third Universal Studios Dracula production after Dracula (1931) & Dracula's Daughter (1936). Plot finds the mysterious Count Alucard (Chaney Jr.) arriving in the Deep South of America at the invitation of Katherine Caldwell (Allbritton). Seems that Katherine is pliant to a bit of occult like dalliances, while the Count is after new soil and territory after having exhausted his use for Europe. Pretty soon the two are united in coupling which greatly annoys Katharine's boyfriend Frank Stanley (Paige). Motives are shifty and jealousy rages as the Count's trip to America eerily unfolds.

Lets get the obvious thing out the way first, the one that pretty much every one agrees on as regards Son Of Dracula. Lon Chaney Jr. is miscast as Alucard/Dracula, very much so, but he gives it a good go and really when viewing the film these days it barely matters. Also lets note right now the film's claim to fame for being the first to show the bat-to-man transformation of a vampire; John P. Fulton continuing to amaze with his special effects work. So what of the film as a whole then? With a 7 year gap between this and the poor Dracula's Daughter to help erase the memory, Son Of Dracula pretty much starts afresh. As a film from the studio of shriek it's standard 1940s stuff, tho this does throw in some twists and new touches to the legend as we previously knew it. The effects team deal in some nice mist moments to keep the atmosphere suitably eerie, and with the gorgeous Allbritton's portrayal of Kay Caldwell; Universal Monster Movies slips into film noir territory. This is after all directed by Robert Siodmak, who a year later would embark on a run of film noir movies that would contain genre classics like The Killers & Criss Cross. Yes some of it's bonkers, I mean Dracula getting married and hoodwinked in one movie? And there still remains the odd moment of unintentional hilarity, but if you can get past the Chaney miscast factor? Then Son Of Dracula is a bunch of creepy fun.

Hell, for the coffin in the bog/mist/rise and glide sequence this deserves a pat on the back. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Dracula of the Universal horror franchise., 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Son of Dracula for me is the best Dracula film of the Universal franchise. Interesting characters, great acting and a free flowing story not to mention quite a bleak ending all give this movie the thumbs up. Let's get one thing out of the way first: Lon Chaney Jr playing Dracula. He has come under a lot of criticism and to a degree I can agree. His American accent does nothing for the count, however his portrayl is very good and he never makes it campy. Bela Lugosi really wanted this role and if he had gotten it, the film would have been even better had it stayed the same. But Chaney does a decent job.

The real success of the film lies with the fantastic characters- and there are plenty of them. Headed by the gorgeous Louise Allbritton, who plays a woman seduced by the fact of eternal life even though she is willing to give up her true love played well by Robert Paige. Evelyn Ankers plays her worried sister. Horror fans will instantly recognise her as she was a staple feature in Universal's horror movies. Though she plays more of a cameo role here.

The often bumbling but mean to do well Police are great and you have to love Frank Craven's lines. At times this is dark and gothic but also has a real warmth to it. It's hard to dislike, and is a genuine horror classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
This film was the third in Universal's Dracula cycle. It was the first and only time that Lon Chaney Jr. put on the famous Dracula cape. This film is quite enjoyable, but it is not a patch on the films that were released by Universal in the 1930s. Lon Chaney Jr. is also seriously miscast as the Count, he doesn't look the part, he is not very sinister and he is too portly! I actually thought that John Carradine made a better Dracula, because he was much more gaunt and he actually looked like a vampire and a lot like Stoker's description of Dracula. This film is very atmospheric, though and there were much worse films that followed from the Universal studios. Just don't expect a classic and you may enjoy this. Only three stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere galore!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved this movie ever since i was a child in the late 1960's.A classic Universal monster movie which has bucket loads of atmosphere and beautiful to look at,a movie i never tire of watching.The picture and sound quality on the dvd is very good and the packaging nicely designed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A classic but not the best of the sequels to Dracula, 28 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
SON OF DRACULA 1943 Universal Studios Region 2 DVD
Lon Chaney Jr., Evelyn Ankers, Louise Allbritton, Robert Paige

Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and now I am going through a same process of upgrading everything to DVD. This also gives me the excuse to revisit films which I have not seen for some time.

I first viewed this movie in the late 1950's, I was about fifteen and a school friend invited me to stay at his father's house for a couple of weeks during the summer holidays. His father was a keen film collector and had a small movie theatre in his cellar and we spent a rainy week watching his collection of vintage horror films; an illicit thrill as most of the movies were X-Rated (Over 18 in cinemas) in those days. It was that week which started my interest in collecting films and for the past fifty odd years books and films have been a large part of my life and pocket money budget.

SON OF DRACULA stars Lon Chaney, Jr. and his frequent co-star Evelyn Ankers but is a very pale offering compared to the two preceding films DRACULA 1931 with Bela Lugosi and DRACULA'S DAUGHTER 1936 staring the beautiful Gloria Holden. It was directed by Robert Siodmak and was his first film for Universal studios, with a rather poor screenplay based on an original story by his brother Curt Siodmak.

Lon Chaney Jr. was one of the great Universal stars of the horror genre but was very poorly cast as Count Alucard, a reverse spelling of Dracula, and comes over as stiff and ill at ease with his character, the best perfomance probably coming from Louise Allbritton as the female villain of the piece. The film is most notable as the first film where a vampire turns into a bat on screen.

Either you love these vintage movies or you hate them; both films are classic Universal horror films and well worth having in your collection, I bought both the Region 1 double feature disc and the individual Region 2 issue and both are clear, good definition transfers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars rather downbeat but still good., 13 Mar 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
i was never sure about lon chaney jnr. being cast as count dracula. in my opinion, he doesn't have the eerie quality of bela lugosi or of john carradine to make the part convincing nor the physical attributes. universal studios probably cast him in this film so as to simply make money out of their new horror star.
however, i still like watching "son of dracula". the script is quite good, the direction is competently done and most of the cast are watchable but i like the overall nightmarish quality that is to found in this film which atones for the distinct lack of humour or any kind of light relief.
the special effects are rather good for the times: dracula changing into a bat and vice-versa and also dissolving into mist are especially well-handled.
all of the above would help to make "son of dracula" one of universal's biggest horror outings if it were not for the modern day setting. the setting of the same village set on the studio backlot would have been far more effective as that would have given the film a much needed gothic look.
above all though, an enjoyable 76 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ive been after this dvd for a long time as ..., 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
ive been after this dvd for a long time as ive got this on a video and as ive bought lots of dvds to replace my videos im getting there slowly as 2,000 videos is a lot to replace 5 star on the p & p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars son of dracula, 20 Dec 2012
By 
mark 1 (pontypool wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for myself,to make up the set, love the old classic horror movies better than the new ones (to sick some of them new films)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son Of Dracula [DVD]
Son Of Dracula [DVD] by Robert Siodmak (DVD - 2008)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews