Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Karloff &Naish - what a double-act!
In what I think is the first of the Universal multi-monster format, Boris Karloff gives a compelling performance as mad scientist, Dr Niemann, ably abetted by J Carrol Naish who perhaps became stereo-typed as the hunchback assistant, but who gives a bang-on interpretation of the role and who is the focus of audience sympathy here. The film has the usual Universal...
Published on 15 July 2008 by M. J. Sexton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable Universal horror
This film was first released in 1944 and was the second of the Universal "monster mash-ups". It is notable for returning Boris Karloff to a starring role in a Universal horror film and he is one of the true stars of this film. It features Dracula, the Wolfman and the Frankenstein monster in various stages of the film and Karloff plays a mad scientist-type character. He...
Published 15 months ago by FJY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable Universal horror, 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
This film was first released in 1944 and was the second of the Universal "monster mash-ups". It is notable for returning Boris Karloff to a starring role in a Universal horror film and he is one of the true stars of this film. It features Dracula, the Wolfman and the Frankenstein monster in various stages of the film and Karloff plays a mad scientist-type character. He even has a hunchbacked assistant, which completes the monster line-up! Karloff was obviously too old to play the Frankenstein monster by now, so that part went to Glenn Strange. I found this film to be enjoyable and quite entertaining, but not nearly as memorable as the studio's earlier releases. I still prefer Carradine's Dracula to the one played by Lon Chaney Jr. in the earlier Son Of Dracula. Overall, this is good, but it was the start of Universal's decline and a sign of the terrible films to come from them in this era. I give this film three stars, because it is enjoyable but flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Karloff &Naish - what a double-act!, 15 July 2008
By 
M. J. Sexton "Prog rocker" (Crayford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
In what I think is the first of the Universal multi-monster format, Boris Karloff gives a compelling performance as mad scientist, Dr Niemann, ably abetted by J Carrol Naish who perhaps became stereo-typed as the hunchback assistant, but who gives a bang-on interpretation of the role and who is the focus of audience sympathy here. The film has the usual Universal hallmarks, including a brilliant sense of atmosphere, so often missing from today's gore-fest horrors. all the principals give solid performances, although I would have liked to seen more Lionel Atwill who was so good in 'Son of'.Glenn Strange has none of the presence of Karloff in the role of the monster as the storyline concentrates on a cure for Larry Talbot's lycanthropy and the scientist's quest to implant brains in the heads of his enemies! The ending seems a little hurried and the scenes of the torch-bearing villagers setting-to cannot be viewed without a smile and visions of Mel Brooks' spoof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, but don't let that put you off!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
When I was at school, Friday late night classic horror movies on the TV were compulsory viewing for me and my friends.

Some of them were obviously classics, with strikingly expressionistic visuals, but the main appeal then (and, indeed, now) was the camp tackiness of most of them; the ham acting, the cardboard sets and the stagy dialogue; in particular, I loved the fact that the same actors would appear in the films...the council members and medical rivals of the mad scientists who had been disposed of in earlier films would reappear to be bumped off a second (or third) time!

This film represents both the best and worst of the genre. Cobbling together the plot must have taken all of five minutes, with a further five to write the script. All your favourites are here (Frankenstein's Monster, Dracula, the Wolfman, the mad scientist, the hunchback, the police-chief) and when you watch the film, it seems as seems as if it has been put together from two separate short films, with Boris Karloff's deranged Dr. Niemann the only link between the two.

The dialogue is clunky, the performances hammy and the sets are comically unconvincing. But did I enjoy it? Of course I did! The film's not to be taken seriously, of course, and if you approach it in the right way, it's a hoot from beginning to end. (It runs for little more than an hour, incidentally)

My main pleasure came from the cast, charismatic and idiosyncratic performers all. Karloff is in his element as the demented scientist and while Glenn Strange offers a mere pale imitation of Karloff's portrayal of the Monster, J. Carrol Naish makes something genuinely touching of the hunch-backed assistant, even if the character is not as well-developed as Bela Lugosi's Ygor in the earlier films. The great John Carradine makes an urbane Dracula and it is a shame that he disappears from the film so early in the action. The same is true of Lionel Atwill's police chief (here reprising his role from "Son of Frankenstein") and George Zucco's director of the travelling circus of horrors; these two sepulchrally-voiced British thespians certainly knew how to play "straight" and "over the top" at the same time! Lon Chaney Jr. must be one of the least attractive leading men ever, but he too makes his mark in his familiar role as the Wolfman. The young "romantic leads" are uniformly dreadful, but don't let that put you off; sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic classic horror!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Great movie! Watched as a family - great intro for my 11 year old twins to horror movies. "Totally unexpected twists, scary- but not too scary. No nightmares. We just want a box set now." Charlie age 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars house of monsters, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Ok so this is one of those films that I like many others was introduced to when BBC ran those wonderful summer double bills of horror movies. I've started re-visiting the Universal horror films and this one stands the test of time and cynicism of age and more contemporary horror. I like this one - dripping in spooky hokum and atmosphere. The Dracula piece is done and dusted in the first half (the chase is almost like a western) and I still love the re-usable stake (!). I'm not going to make any pretentious comments about the plot or why Universal decided to drop all 3 of its wonderful monsters into the one film because this is a fantasy horror movie and its great to have all 3 of the creatures running amok. Nice clear picture on the dvd, the actors Boris Karloff, John Carradine and Lon Chaney jnr are on good form and the classic elements are all in place - gloomy sets, thunder and lightning, hunchback and operating tables. Bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars house of frankenstein, 23 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
I first saw this film when I was 17 and it really tripped me out.
But having just purchased it on DVD,and revisited it after 23 years, I'm forced to revise my original opinion. Karloff's performance is only slightly menacing .J Carroll Naish, Lionel Atwill, and (to a lesser extent) Lon Chaney Jnr perform more effectively.
The plot is ridiculous and doesn't bear close scrutiny- how laughable, for example, is the notion that Niemann ( or anyone) could seriously consider transplanting a man's brain into a dog's body? The biggest joke, of course, is the notion of housing the three arch ghouls of 40's cinema, Frankenstein's monster, the Wolfman, and Dracula in one film.
The film is atmospheric in places and the scene where Karloff (as Dr Niemann) hijacks and kills Professor Lampini played by George Zucco, is memorable, in my opinion, and the dream sequence when Dracula bewitches Elena Verdugo with his magic ring,is well executed- but is unworthy to stand alongside Son of Frankenstein, let alone the first two Universal Frankenstein films. J Carroll Naish lends genuine pathos to the proceedings as the lovelorn hunchback, Daniel, and provides the film with its only moments of dramatic depth. The film, though vaguely fun (I confess I fell asleep watching the DVD after a 12 hour shift) is ultimately nothing more than a mildly entertaining moneyspinner, dutifully spinning out the increasingly threadbare creative yarn of the Frankenstein franchise. But this DVD is a must for Karloff fans and Frankenstein completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars monsters galore!, 20 Mar 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
it is great to see five "universal" horror monsters in one film, with dracula and the wolfman being the best ones to watch.
there is a quite a bit of variation as boris karloff and j. carroll naish roam the countryside seeking those who had them sentenced to prison and resorting to some rather unusual, not to mention ghoulish methods of revenge.
speaking of which, it is good to see boris karloff back at the studio that started his overnight success. he does quite well as the evil mad scientist, even though he doesn't take it that seriously which is perhaps just as well.
in his first appearance as dracula, john carradine is effective and suitably creepy. lionel atwill is rather wasted at the film's beginning.
i remember that "house of frankenstein" was one of the first "universal" horror films that i saw back in about or 1984: i enjoyed watching it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House of Frankenstein, 27 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film very much indeed. It is a continuation of the original Frankenstein film series and includes the Wolf-man and Dracula. The Wolf-man wants an end to his perpetual torment and seeks the help of Dr. Frankenstein; but he is long since dead. Another member of the Frankenstein family who also is a doctor, agrees to help him and ... ? well watch it and see :o]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Classic, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. N. Joseph (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Classic horror from the 1930's - no CGI, no blue-screen, just great make-up and lots of mood from a time gone by...Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11176078)

This product

House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944]
House Of Frankenstein [DVD] [1944] by Erle C Kenton (DVD - 2008)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews