Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film rules!
Living as we do in the age of Playstation 3 and Xbox 360, with their cutting edge graphics and movie-scale production values, it's easy to forget that the gaming landscape was once a much simpler place, where fancy 3D graphics were unheard of, where the arcade cabinet was king, and where Donkey Kong ruled the world.

Today, games like Donkey Kong, Pac Man and...
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by TimeJock

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Pure dhit
Published 2 months ago by S. L. Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 100%, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite documentaries, the premise sounds boring but this DVD got 97% on rotten tomatoes, I'd give it 100% personally. I was born in 1975 so I remember early eighties fervour around donkey kong, Pac man, space invaders etc. fascinating story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real life spinal tap, 8 Sep 2009
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this after reading about it in Retrogamer magazine and just had to buy!

Unintentially funny (?) and edited to show good vs evil maybe?? I thought so until i watched the highly entertaining extras. GET A LIFE GUYS, IT'S JUST A GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great., 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
King of kong is a fascinating documentary which tells the story of 2 rival Donkey kong gamers. The first,Billy mitchell,broke the world record way back in 1982 and held it for over 20 yrs. The 2nd guy..steve weibe is a fast approaching middle aged guy who sets himself the task to overturn mitchells score and break it!! What follows is a tale of rivalry and twists n turns. Actually even after the dvd ends the story isnt over as there is a bonus feature on the dvd which bridges the gap between the cinema release of the film and the dvd release a few months later!!. Personally i found the original holder..billy mitchell to be an arrogant idiot who over the years belived all his own hype and comes off as a total moron. Steve weibe however is a nice family man . Anyway..make your own judgement but DO see this film..great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, a must-see documentary., 12 Feb 2010
By 
A. Kirkwood "scratchin" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
I watch a lot of documentaries and this is one of the greatest I have ever seen. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Documentry!!, 16 July 2008
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this soo many times since I got it, and I love it more everytime!!! It has all the fantastic storyline of a major blockbuster and funnier than most comedies out there!! 5 stars 2 thumbs up I guarantee you will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age !, 28 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
As far as a documentary goes, The King of Kong is extremely well done. Good vs Bad guy.
But, this is what it makes you believe. In reality, it was all down to very clever editing and footage that was taken over a nearly 2 year period, then pieced together for the watcher.
Even when Bill Mitchell walks into the Florida arcade with his Wife and seemingly ignores Steve, that was edited. Without giving things away, there's no doubt that it's great fun overall, and a fascinating look into competitive gaming. Just take it with a pinch of salt, because Bill Mitchell is a very nice bloke in 'real' life ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Oct 2014
By 
S. L. Knight - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
Pure dhit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and nerdy, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Oscar Nowak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Kong [DVD] (DVD)
Obsessed with getting the highest score. A mate recommended this to me. It's OK. I think he was an out of work actor at the time - so maybe he got a bit obsessed with the overall obsession thingy.

I subjected my GF to it. Mistake. It was turned off after an hour. But I did go back to it later. ;-)

If you like the subject matter, or have ever had a passion for gaming this is for you. Otherwise, give it a wide berth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of Kong [DVD]
King Of Kong [DVD] by Seth Gordon (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews