Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Royal Rumbles
1. Ric Flair v MVP
Good, solid opener. The crowd absolutely loved Flair and why shouldnt they? MVP did well as the cocky arrogant heel and got a good heel reaction when he interrupted Flair's speech. As for the wrestling, a solid bout but nothing special. The right man won and got a great pop.
Wooooooooo!
7/10

2. Chris Jericho v JBL
This was...
Published on 7 July 2008 by A. Gest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Event. Worth the Viewing.
This is the first Royal Rumble DVD I have purchased and, moreover, the first Royal Rumble event I have ever watched in full. Watching PPVs here in Ireland is very hard to pretty near impossible, I'm afraid. Anyway, my honest view on this one is that it was a decent event, but worth a viewing anyhow.

The DVD starts off with a nice intro, which sets the scene for...
Published on 12 Jun 2012 by Fox in the Box


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Royal Rumbles, 7 July 2008
By 
A. Gest "GMS" (paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
1. Ric Flair v MVP
Good, solid opener. The crowd absolutely loved Flair and why shouldnt they? MVP did well as the cocky arrogant heel and got a good heel reaction when he interrupted Flair's speech. As for the wrestling, a solid bout but nothing special. The right man won and got a great pop.
Wooooooooo!
7/10

2. Chris Jericho v JBL
This was a bit of a disappointment. Both wrestlers, while being great on the mic, never really got going in-ring wise throughout their feud, the chemistry just wasn't there. Forgettable match. JBL needs to hit the gym.
5/10

3. Edge (c) v Rey Mysterio for the World Heavyweight Championship
Great, fast-paced match. Crowd was solidly behind Edge though which was a bit weird seeing as he is the mega-heel (and does it oh so well) but we all know New York fans are 'intelligent wrestling fans'. Great finish sequence with the inevitable Vickie Guerrero getting involved and a great finishing move.
9/10

4. Jeff Hardy v Randy Orton (c) for the WWE Championship:
Man, Jeff Hardy is wayyyyy over. Good, solid match which proved to all that Hardy does indeed belong in the main event (at least, when he's not suspended for wellness policy violations). Very unpredictable ending in my opinion and some would say the wrong man won.
8/10

5. The Royal Rumble Match
Absolutely fantastic. Definitely the most enjoyable RR match since 2001. Great choice to start off with HBK and Undertaker, reminiscent of the 2007 finale. The action was fast-paced and kept picking up. Not to mention the massive surprise when the No. 30 entrance came out. Great ending and I personally didn't have a problem with the winner.
Kudos go to John Morrison and Undertaker for very good performances.
10/10

Overall, a highly enjoyable PPV and a must-get for all wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Road to Wrestlemania begins here!!!, 8 May 2008
By 
Mr. J. L. Dempsey "J The Whie" (Bham Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Match 1 - Ric Flair vs MVP (Career Ending Match)

If you know your wrestling then you'll know who wins this...if you dont and your fresh then this is a pretty good opening match up between the emotional Flair and the arrogant MVP, Flair thanks the crowd before the bell rings as he knows that thsi is the last time he'll ever wrestle in the wrestling mecca that is MSG. 6/10

Match 2 - Y2J vs JBL

This feud never seemed to happen really, this was the conclusion to there feud that lasted all of 3 weeks. A pretty good match from a brilliant brawler and a master of catch as catch can. two different styles that actually compliment each other. Jericho gets busted wide open and retaliates to end the match. 7/10

Match 3 - Edge (c) vs Rey Mysterio (World Heavyweight Championship)

A solid match up between the highest of high fliers and the R rated superstar. Edge has Vickie Guerrero in his pocket at the time and still does presently, Obviously a lot of history between Vickie and Rey here but everyone was pulling for Rey, overall a good matchup with Edge grounding Rey for the most part. Once Rey gets his legs back he makes a great comeback until an amazingly fast spear in mid air. 8/10 Its all about the ending.

Match 4 - Randy Orton vs Jeff Hardy (WWE Championship)

What a great match and build up, Randy playing the sadist and Jeff playing Jeff. Everyone is all over Jeff on this one, really believing his life long dream is coming true, and in hindsight he did, He has concreted himslef as a main eventer now and thats job done in my eyes. A very good match that swings both ways, Jeff does some incredible sequences here, but doesn't he always!!! A great finish to a great match. 9/10

Match 5 - 30 man Royal Rumble.

I was a huge fan of Royal Rumbles as a kid but through my teens I lost interest and thought they were predictable and not much action takes place....How wrong i was with this Royal Rumble. A great rumble, one of the best I have seen. Best opening to a Rumble ever with Taker and HBK. Worst thing about it was the god awful announcer. Just listen to him. The ending is one of the most shocking in recent memory.

BUT IT...ENJOY IT...KEEP IT...WATCH IT AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Great Start to 2008, 28 May 2008
By 
C. Swan "Swan Lake" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Royal Rumble is always a PPV to look forawrd to, and this year in particulary was one to watch. In front of a sold out crowd in the World's Most Famous arena - Madison Square Garden, we had 2 WWE World Title matches on the line, a chance to see someone try and make history at Wrestlemania 24, a PPV return since Judgment Day 2006 for JBL, and a Career in jeapordy. This is the 2008 Royal Rumble.

--This may contain SPOILERS--

Career Threatening Match
Ric Flair vs. MVP

This was the perfect match to start the night with. Ric does some nice mic work before hand to get the crowd how, whilst MVP interrupts it, to gain more heel heat. As for the match, I thought it was very good, nothing really botched, and just had a nice flow. A vast improvement from their match at Night of Champions. There was a nice false finish at about the 5 minute mark after MVP delivers an awesome boot, however after some nice back and forth action, Ric Flair locks in the Figure Four Leg Lock for the win at the 8 minute mark. Overall, a good start, although nothing too special.
MATCH RATING: 7.5

Chris Jericho vs. JBL

Okay, nothing really special at all. A pretty average match, although I did like Y2J's blade job, which did add to the match, and due to the storyline purposes I did like the DQ ending by Y2J at the9 minute mark. PLEASE NOTE: On the region 2 Dvd, due to the BBFC Policy and the Video Recordings Act of 1984 the aftermath where Y2J chokes out JBL has been cut.
MATCH RATING: 6

World Heavyweight Championship Match
(Champion) Edge w/ Vickie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio

Ever since they were a tag team, and their little square off in the 2003 Royal Rumble Match, I've always been wondering when these 2 will have a one on one match, and now we've got one. And the ONLY complaint I have is that it could've gone on for a good 4-5 mins longer as it ends only at 12:37. But thse 2 really show off here. Rey and Edge do a bit of chain wrestling before Rey hits a nice dive onto Edge over the top rope to the outside. But the bit of the match that truly stands out is the final 4 minutes, where the action really picks up, from Rey's top rope moves, to a dive under the ropes to Edge on the outside and connecting with a DDT, instead of the typical baseball slide, to Edge's Drop of the Dime counter into a spear in mid air. Top notch stuff.
MATCH RATING: 9

WWE Championship Match
(Champion) Randy Orton vs. Jeff Hardy

Now like with the Rey/ Edge match, this could've gone on for another 4-5 mins as it ended at the 14 minute mark. Also I kind of wish this match has a few false finishes, so we have Jeff kick out of the 1st RKO, he hits the Swanton, Orton kicks out, and then he hits a 2nd RKO for the win, that would've made the match a bit more intense. But what we got was absolutley fine. Infact it's very rare to have a match where pretty much every move has some kind of impact, like with Jeff's headlock takedown at the start of the match. I thnink it helped that the crowd was really into this. Anyway Jeff really shows his ability here, with an awesome, unique baseball slide (basically a kind of drop kick) that I swear almost breaks Orton's neck, then he dives over the top rope. Orton connects with an awesome drop kick, just as Jeff's in mid air about to hop over the ropes. Orton hits a suplex on the floor, then Jeff dives off the apron with a clothesline. Orton hits huge powerslam, but Jeff comes back with Whisper in the Wind and a nice top rope drop kick to Orton standing on the apron which he then falls off of. Jeff hits a moonsault (that does look awkward, watch it and see what i mean) but then Orton hits the RKO out of nowhere. It really was a sudden ending.
MATCH RATING: 9

2008 Royal Rumble Match

A very powerful introduction by Michael Buffer to begin with. We start off with Undertaker and Shawn Michaels, my opinion a good idea, get the crowd heated up. Khali got eliminated quickly which was very good. Dreamer comes out to a huge pop, which was nice. Batista comes out. John Morrison, now let me quickly note the performance he gave during this match, he was unbelievable. Also we have a few comical moments with Hornswoggle, who eliminates the Miz. Roddy Piper and Jimmy Snuka come in a suprise entrance that made all other wrestlers actually stop what they were doing for a moment. HBK and Taker get eliminated suprisingly in which Undertaker keeps up the momentum of the match with a leg drop to Snitsky through the announcer table. Shelton Benjamin only lasts for 18 seconds but he hits one hell on an opening move, the Triple H comes out, all top stars are out and every one's just like, who's number 30? Well props to WWE for really keeping this secret, out comes John Cena, to I swear the biggest pop since well over a year. It really was big, then they started booing him about 30 seconds, as if they were like "oh know we're cheering him, we're not ment to cheer for him". The final 2, HHH and Cena square off for a good 4 minutes of action until Cena wins with a nice FU to HHH over the top rope.
This match was so unpredictable and never had a dull moment or dead time like most recent rumbles. And people may probably disagree but...
MATCH RATING: 9.5

Overall, it was a great PPV, a great start to the year, and hopefully a hint of what's to come in the future, if that's the case we're in for a great year. Top notch stuff, well done WWE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Event. Worth the Viewing., 12 Jun 2012
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first Royal Rumble DVD I have purchased and, moreover, the first Royal Rumble event I have ever watched in full. Watching PPVs here in Ireland is very hard to pretty near impossible, I'm afraid. Anyway, my honest view on this one is that it was a decent event, but worth a viewing anyhow.

The DVD starts off with a nice intro, which sets the scene for the event. 'Royal Rumble 2008' also features a great theme song: 'Stand Up for Rock N' Roll' by Airbourne. Just a quick note about them, they are a clear rip-off of AC/DC, considering that they both are Aussies. However, their album that contains this theme song is not bad at all!

The event begins with Ric Flair against MVP. All things considered, you have a pretty basic opener here. It is pretty obvious who is going to win this before the match begins (Flair's 'farewell' speech interruption anyone??). Anyhow, there is a nice ending to this match, basic opener.

Next, Chris Jericho faces JBL in a pretty personal battle here! Jericho dominates JBL from the early-going and, in turn, JBL gets some on Jericho, 'hurting' him in selected places. One thing that really struck me here was the presence of blood in this bout, a really rare happening, in accordance with the modern standard of WWE Programming.

Edge faces Rey Mysterio next. There is a great promo before the match, which brought back plenty of memories of that time for me. The match is a mixed (boring) bag. Edge uses his size to attack Mysterio; Rey adopts his 'high-flying' style to attack Edge then. Despite his size, Rey fights valiantly and bravely here. Witness a ridiculous ending to a boring match, overall.

In the final 'filler' match, Jeff Hardy fights Randy Orton. A great start by Jeff Hardy here, he adopts his signature (Hardy Boyz) style of old! Orton, meanwhile, executes some great counters in the early-going. Witness some great high-risk moves from Hardy in this bout. However, all of this is overshadowed by a sudden ending to such a basic match...

Finally, Let's Get Ready To Rumble!!!!!!!! The 2008 Royal Rumble match begins with a bang as Entries 1 and 2 just happen to be Shawn Michaels and The Undertaker, which is a nice predicament. Also, I really liked how all Commentators (from Raw, Smackdown! and, at the time, 'ECW') contributed to the match and had their say... really nice gesture. Another lovely gesture and 'moneys-worth' here was the inclusion of some WWE Legends in the Rumble match. I won't say who they are, watch and see for yourself! I wonder though, does that happen every year?? Maybe it was the location (Madison Square Garden), so WWE felt that they should include some Legends to give the fans 'moneys-worth', I don't know. If this kind of thing happens every year, I'd love to know!
Entry Number 30 is a real treat and, for some, a big surprise, considering his popularity and injury time out at the time. Number 30 enters the Rumble and 'cleans house' by eliminating 3 people and ensuring an immediate impact. It all comes down to this: the last 3 left in the match - a great moment, as you (arguably) have the 3 biggest Superstars in the Company at the time left in the ring!! When we are left with the last 2, prepare for another great moment, a moment that has to be seen to be believed!!
The winner of the 2008 Royal Rumble Match is really no surprise (from the moment he enters)! A great moment, oce again.

Overall, the '2008 Royal Rumble' event is pretty decent but, dare I say it, boring. However, it is still worth a viewing and does pass a few hours away, so I would recommend buying it. In my view, the big selling-point is the Royal Rumble match itself, which, in this case, was a really fun and exciting match to witness. For myself in the future, I will be making more WWE DVD purchases and I will be sure to buy some more Royal Rumble events; I just hope the 'filler' matches have a better offering than this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Cena Returns, 19 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
WWE Royal Rumble 2008 is my second favourite Royal Rumble event which was held in a favourite arena of mine known as Madison Square Garden.

The Royal Rumble match itself was the match of the night where not did the well known superstars like Shawn Michaels and Undertaker just compete, but we had surprise entrants like Jimmy Snuka, Roddy Piper and Mick Foley. The key highlight of this Royal Rumble match was the unexpected return of John Cena who shocked the WWE universe with his return, to where Cena actually won the big one with his main event ticket booked for WrestleMania XXIV.

Other matches I liked
1. Rey Mysterio vs Edge for World Heavyweight Championship
2. Jeff Hardy vs Randy Orton for the WWE Championship

This is a really good Royal Rumble event, which every WWE fan should have in their collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to 2008, 16 Oct 2010
By 
This was the first royal rumble I ever watched and enjoyed it from beginning to end and this 2008 year was probably the last really good year of WWE.

Ric Flair vs MVP

The stipulation here was if Flair lost he would retire. I knew the result having heard before watching but this didn't stop it being a very good opening, great to see Madison Square Garden joining in the "woos" with Flair.

8/10

Chris Jericho vs JBL

What a match! From what the commentators were saying this had become a personal encounter but we saw no build up to this. Thankfully the wrestlers did the talking in a brutal match that ended in a way no one could have predicted.

10/10

Edge vs Rey Mysterio

Match for the world heavyweight championship ended in a way that was quite obvious but there were good blows and Mysterio with his high flying moves was great.

7/10

Randy Orton vs Jeff Hardy

2008 marked the greatest year of Hardy's career and his push started here as he battled champion Orton for the WWE championship. Great moves from both Hardy again impressive high flying offense and what a sharp ending.
Worth mentioning an extra is the RAW episode the previous week between Hardy and Orton. You will never again see such an amazing swanton bomb.

9/10

The 2008 Royal Rumble match

A great long match that started with a rivalry that lasted many years, Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels. There was never a let up in interest, introducing bigger stars as it went on and when the last star was introduced there was a great cheer from the crowd. Boiling down to the final three there was a great stare off but you knew it could only end one way. But what a match to cap off a great start to the year

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE RUMBLE, 1 April 2010
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
HERE WE GO

Career Threatening Match
Ric Flair vs. Montel Vontavious Porter 3/5

Chris Jericho vs. JBL 2.5/5

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Edge vs. Rey Mysterio 3.5/5

WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton vs. Jeff Hardy 3.5/5

Royal Rumble Match 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2008, 31 Jan 2009
By 
B. Hewitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
MVP vs Ric flair carrer treatening match mvp tried a playmaker flair reversed it into a figure 4 leg lock and won.7/10
Jeff hardy vs orton wwe championship. 5/10.orton won after reversing a twist of fate into a rko.
JBL vs Chris Jericho jbl won by dq.5/10
Edge vs Rey Mysterio world heavyweight championship on the line. during the match mysterio delivered a 619 to vickie and edge and tried a leg drop edge then hit him with a spear.7/10
The Royal rumble match was the best i have seen. cena came in at number 30 and the last three were batista,triple h and cena,cena hit a fu to the game outside of the ring to win.10/10.
Good dvd worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the rumble still has it, 29 April 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I feel fortunate to have recieved this steel box edition prior to its release next week,i am also happy to be the first to review this and hopefully help someone make a decision on whether to get this or not.
The royal rumble,just my its format is usually guaranteed to be good,i suppose one can hate the winner and suchlike but the format of 30 men entering the ring at 90 second intervals and trying to be the last man standing is always a cracker,and as much as that is true,we need a strong undercard and this year we got it again.
The event kicked off with a crowd that wasnt that mad,spoilt or what,a career threatening match between ric flair,if he loses he must retire,against MVP,this wasnt that great in honest,perhaps both men worked in line with a flat crowd,in the end though the result was fair and a so so opener but things did improve,oh yeah,im sure that ring announcer justin roberts announced MVP as MV-T but i may be wrong,these things happen though.
Next up was the return of JBL,going up against chris jericho,a man that came back and was given too much too soon,so now he was gonna have to earn it back in my opinion,this was a good match,both men had foul attitudes going into this and wanted to hurt their rival,some good moves and some great aggression meant that this didnt bore,i wasnt mad on the ending but this was brutal,jericho lost some amount of blood hey.
The first title contest of the night was up next as edge,the champ,defended it against rey mysterio,for the world heavyweight title.By now the crowd had warmed up and the atmosphere was jumping,this was a great contest,both men giving all they could and creating that all important ingredient,yes,chemistry,the finisher was excellent and all in all i cant fault this match.
The same can be said of the final match of the night before the rumble itself,the WWE championship was up next for battle,teh champ randy orton going up against jeff hardy who was on a roll from the previous year and deserved his chance,the crowd were going mad now and they loved hardy,he breathed in their support and went insane and gave orton some battle,orton was more subtle with his time fo domination while hardy wanted to run himself into the ground with his energy,this worked so well and just when you thought you could pick the winner,bang,it was over and the place was shocked,mighty match.
The rumble was up next,the usual things happened,well these days anyway,raw,smackdown and ecw wrestlers competing along with a few old timers sent out to warm the crowd up,whats the word for them again,let me think,ah i have it,they are called alumni,anyway,this was great,there wasnt any real bottom of your boot type wrestler,they were all all good names,and a real shock occured when number 30 was announced,we all know who it is,but just in case,i wont spoil it here,it was a great rumble with some great performances from some key men,and a winner that sent the roof off madison square garden altogether.
I found it odd how we didnt get the usual backstage footage between matches of wrestlers picking their numbers and gloating away,that part is always good but what can i do about it.
You want dvd extras,dont you,well they aint great here,in fact they are stingy,we get a match between orton and jeff hardy from raw aired on the 14th of january,it isnt a long match but we see the swanton bomb performed of high railing to devasting effect and then we get a little dvd exclusive where the last man eliminated congratulates the winner and says that he will beat him down for this perhaps and thats that really.
The dvd contains a great event though and that cant be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: ROYAL RUMBLE 2008 (DVD)
1st class all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD]
WWE - Royal Rumble 2008 [DVD] by Wwe (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 3.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews