Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fight For Identity
This is a really good film that is more than just a thriller, but a statement about identity as well. Barbet Schroder (Murder by Numbers) scales the lonely apartment building with his camera and shows the gargoyle statues perched on the ledge. There are many shots like this and a theme of a very small person in a very large and modern world that is close to swallowing up...
Published on 12 Jan. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Real Life
I was recommended to buy this because the story content was what was happening to me - it was a film I hadn't seen and it certainly woke me up to being careful about picking friends in the future
Published 20 months ago by Parker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fight For Identity, 12 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This is a really good film that is more than just a thriller, but a statement about identity as well. Barbet Schroder (Murder by Numbers) scales the lonely apartment building with his camera and shows the gargoyle statues perched on the ledge. There are many shots like this and a theme of a very small person in a very large and modern world that is close to swallowing up our individuality is explored in this disturbing thriller.
Bridget Fonda gives a sweet performance as the emotionally vulnerable Allie Jones. She exposes her heart in an intimate moment with her boyfriend Sam (Steven Weber) when she tells him, "Your the best thing that's ever happened to me". When she is forced to advertise for a SWF roomate another sweet personality comes into play as shy Hedra Carlson (Jennifer Jason Leigh) wins over Allie and moves in.
What develops is a slow evolving nightmare as Hedra subtly transforms herself bit by bit into Allie. Barely noticable at first it becomes more and more pronounced until Allie must fight for not only her identity but her life as well. Leigh is great as always and we feel sorry for her at first just as Allie does. She seems to have no life at all. Even when Allie thinks Hedra might be fooling around with someone in the apartment what she sees is quite different.
Hedra taps into all Allie's insecurities until she is in danger of dissappearing. A scene in the dark where Allie's boyfriend Sam is sexually fooled by Hedra before he realizes it is not Allie is particularly disturbing. Schroder seems to be pondering if one person has become interchangable with another in today's world.
The ending is violent and bloody but it has no other place to go. Hedra can't live as Allie if Allie still exists and Allie must overcome her fear in order to live. Both Fonda and Leigh work well together and each gives a fine performance in this lonely feeling movie that makes us think about our own identity.
This is a good film to watch late at night with the lights off. It has a lonely and eventually disturbing feel to it and will have you wondering the next day how easy it would be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
Allison Jones (Bridget Fonda) is a computer system designer for fashion workers - and is happily in love with her new boyfriend. They're getting on well, until she finds out he's nothing but a cheat- and decides to give men a rest, and have a live-in flat mate. The problem with Hettie (Jennifer Jason Leigh) is that she's hard work, and soon becomes too interested in Allison's life.

This is a tense thriller about an obsessive woman who becomes too enthralled in someone else's life, and even gets herself mixed up in lies, deceit and other bad activities, and the cycle of problems just gets more momentum.

Bridget is great as Allison, and Jennifer does a great impression of her, which is funny to a point before it gets too bizarre. It's a great storyline, but there's really not much scenery change; but the action does keep you wondering what's going to happen next.

Definitely worth a look, this is a classic thriller with a modern twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Psychological Thriller, 7 April 2006
By 
This film hardly needs any introduction - the plotline is amply outlined by previous reviewers: it is, indeed, a thoroughly enjoyable thriller... well paced, beautifully acted, atmospheric and expertly directed - although the ending is typically long-drawn-out and bloody. There really is no need for explicit gore in a psychological thriller such as this, but perhaps that's what modern audiences expect. I'd have given this a four and a half if it were possible, it's certainly worth seeing a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1992 CLASSIC!!, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
Having seen this when it was first released I came across it on TV the other night while channel hopping so I sat and watched it again. This is a brillant film with a great twisted story line and some very good acting from the two leading ladies in the film. It kept me glued to the TV to the very end which for a older film just proves it was a gem in it's day. This is a great thriller which really does at times get very creepy and you can pick this up on DVD for next to nothing these days so if you haven't seen this film go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great suspense-thriller movie!, 17 Oct. 2012
By 
Carolina (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
Indeed... this is a great movie!!! I could watch it so many times. Other tips for great suspense-thriller movies like this are:
"Misery", "The hand that rocks the cradle", "Pacific Heights", "Shallow Grave", "The Silence of the Lambs", "Seven".
If you have more titles, I would appreciate very much if you could advise me ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Psycological Thriller - One of Fonda's best films!!, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant psycological thriller starring a young Bridget Fonda and Jennifer Jason Leigh, basically about a girl (Bridget) who advertises for a flat mate who then becomes jealous of her and ultimatly trys to take her life, its a brilliant psycological film and one of Fondas best performances without a doubt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Thriller, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
This is so like Fatal Attraction but involving a very disturbed flatmate turned stalker. It's one thing to have someone want to copy you, which can be flattering but this takes it one step further. Well worth the watch and, again, a good second hand price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
Good film and well worth a watch, Fonda needs a room mate and thinks she has found the ideal girl to share with until she realises her new room mate is starting to copy her in clothes and looks, Fonda's boyfriend ends up dead and so does the puppy dog?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Single White Female, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant film & makes you careful who you would share your apartment with. She thinks she's found the perfect room mate & friend until she starts to take over her life & her identity. You really have to see this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Real Life, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single White Female [DVD] (DVD)
I was recommended to buy this because the story content was what was happening to me - it was a film I hadn't seen and it certainly woke me up to being careful about picking friends in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single White Female [DVD]
Single White Female [DVD] by Barbet Schroeder (DVD - 2008)
£5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews