Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than just another romantic comedy
Well, I'm incredibly late to the Jerry Maguire party, but I'm glad I finally made it. I thought this was just a comedy, but I should have known better because laughs alone usually don't generate the kind of success this movie enjoyed. This is a wonderful, feel-good movie with a surprisingly effective emotional payoff. Tom Cruise is great, Cuba Gooding, Jr., steals...
Published on 2 Aug 2005 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring
a very boring movie by Tom Cruise, the story was slow and boring. acting was good. i would not watch it again.
Published 12 months ago by Zillah Nicolle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than just another romantic comedy, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jerry Maguire [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Well, I'm incredibly late to the Jerry Maguire party, but I'm glad I finally made it. I thought this was just a comedy, but I should have known better because laughs alone usually don't generate the kind of success this movie enjoyed. This is a wonderful, feel-good movie with a surprisingly effective emotional payoff. Tom Cruise is great, Cuba Gooding, Jr., steals every scene he's in, and that Renee Zellweger is nothing short of perfect. They even threw in a clip of McGarrett on Hawaii Five-O and sent me away with Bob Dylan singing over the credits - in my book, that's going above and beyond the call of duty. And I never tire of seeing someone break away from the cynicism of big business and actually put some heart back into an increasingly heartless way of life.
Jerry Maguire (Tom Cruise) is, of course, a bigshot sports agent who has it all - then loses it all. For some inexplicable reason, he develops a conscience late one night, put together this huge "mission statement" all about reducing the number of clients and giving those remaining the genuine personal touch, and sends it to everyone in the company. With a schlep of a boss like Bob Sugar (the always annoying Jay Mohr), his days with the company are, not surprisingly, numbered. He vows to start his own company, desperately trying to hold on to the clients he has been representing - but all he ends up taking with him are outrageous Cardinals wide receiver Rod Tidwell (Cuba Gooding, Jr.) and Dorothy Boyd (Renee Zellweger), an accountant who was truly inspired by what he had written. It doesn't seem like much, but he really has all he will ever need - he just doesn't realize it until the end of the movie.
Life on his own is quite a struggle, especially after he breaks up with his vicious fiancée (Kelly Preston), and I know it must be truly demoralizing to be defeated time and time again by Jay Mohr. Rod Tidwell, a great player who doesn't get the notice (or money) he thinks he deserves, stays loyal to him, though, for rather inexplicable reasons - even after Maguire fails to get him the kind of big money he is looking for in a new contract. Dorothy also stays with him, and Maguire grows increasingly close to her and her little boy Ray (Jonathan Lipnicki). There's love in the air, and Maguire's famous problem with emotional intimacy makes what should be the simplest thing in the world immensely complicated. We see a lot of Maguire at his worst - double-crossed, drunk, beaten up, wallowing in self-pity. He never gives up, though, and that's what's important. I find it a little problematic that he did not apply the principles of his "mission statement" to the way he lived his life, but - in his defense - guys tend to be pretty dense about this kind of thing (and would that we all had a Dorothy to help us see the light).
There's a wonderful cast on display here, with uncommonly meaningful secondary characters: there's little Ray, of course, but Dorothy's bitter yet loving sister Laurel (Bonnie Hunt) and Rod Tidwell's wife Marcee (Regina King) really do lay claim to a commanding presence in the story. You can also make a little game of spotting all of the sports personalities that make cameos (usually silent ones, thankfully) in the film.
This isn't a comedy; it's a serious story that just happens to feature a lot of laughs. It's a commentary on the depersonalization of business, a complicated yet wonderfully sweet love story, and a movie with a surprisingly big heart. And I love Renee Zellweger. As far as I'm concerned, she - not Tom Cruise - was the star of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You had me at hello..., 17 Sep 2002
By 
L. Newman "l_m_n" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very excited when my copy of this DVD arrived, and rightly so it seems!
This Collector's Edition is excellent, the extra features, the re-mastering, director's commentary and even the interactive menus are fabulous. There's also a factual and informative insert included in the pack. This is a fine addition to my DVD collection, and I anticipate watching it often.
Jerry Maguire is one of my favourite films. The director, Cameron Crowe, never fails to write realistic, heartfelt stories - couple that with the strong cast of characters, an awesome soundtrack and feel good ending make for an extremely engrossing movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love can cope and accept all differences, 7 Sep 2007
By 
It's not a masterpiece but it is a very good film not so much for the meaning it may contain but for the images it sends in the audience. First it gives a positive image of sports by showing how one man, one agent can be different from all others in this "industry", and that the main difference is to believe in what he is doing, to believe in what his heart is telling him, to work with his heart and to love the players, the athletes he is working for, he is working with. That emotional, personal and very close relationship is what everyone needs all the time to feel needed, supported. The film shows that this is also the winning method because athletes want that contact and they can recognize that human attitude and they will work for this warmth of the heart, from the heart and in the heart. And what's more this relationship will enable the athletes as well as the agents to face the difficulties life is made of and life brings up all the time. This will mean success to the athletes as athletes and success for both the agents and the athletes financially. What's more the film conveys another tremendously positive image because the agent is white and the athlete is black and their relationship is one of trust, total friendship and confidence, one of love nothing but love and care and that is the right model to send in the public: what is important is not the differences among people but the possibility to establish trusting and loving relationships beyond these differences and accepting them totally.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly watchable, 24 Feb 2006
I just love this film... Yes it has some cheesy moments, it is not what I would call true to life BUT it has a sparkling script, some incredible moments that have become iconic (think 'show me the money!') and a heartwarming message about corporate greed versus integrity, love and quality of life. Tom Cruise puts in (I think) a career best performance as Jerry Maguire, the sports agent who has an epiphany about his place in the world and writes a 'Mission Statement' that gets him fired by odious colleague Sugar. He desperately tries to retain his clients but ends up with just one - Rod Tidwell played by Cuba Gooding Jr who is on Oscar winning form as the football player who can't translate his big heart at home onto the pitch. Jerry and Rod are on their own - but Jerry's memo has also inspired accountant Dorothy, played by Renee Zellweger in her breakout role, who joins them in their little venture. Dorothy is a single mum to the adorable Ray and longs for a little romance in her life. I have to say Ray, played by Jonathan Lipnicki, is just about the cutest kid in movies and you will fall in love with him. You have been warned! The rest of the film basically follows the relationship between these 3 characters as they fight to become complete. Jerry the committmentphobe, Dorothy the hopeless romantic and Rod the paycheque player all have to lose before they can win. The film's most famous moment 'you had me at hello' is touching. But for me the truly tear-inducing moment is when Dorothy and Jerry go out on their first date and Dorothy cries as she watches little Ray hug him 'just like a Dad', then the Springsteen music kicks in and I'm gone. Did I mention the great soundtrack? All in all an unmissable movie with something for everyone, even some sport for the guys ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cruise, Gooding Jnr, Zelewegger...need i say more, 13 May 2004
When you boil it down, Jerry Maguire comes down to your every day love story, but by-pass that and you find exceptional performances from unlikely canditates.
Think what you like about Cruise but he is still one of the best actors to come out in the last 20 years. Take Born On The Fourth Of July, or Magnolia, or The Last Samurai, the list goes on...this man is a class act!
The film focuses on a greedy, money loving sports agent (Cruise) who realises somehow down the line he has lost his way and is no longer doing or loving the job the way he did when he began it and so, after being fired starts his own company with the one client he had retained and an inspired accountent played by Rene Zelwegger.
Although like i said Cruise is fantastic it is Cuba Gooding Jnr who steals the show as the cocky, arrogant wide reciever. The 'show me the money' seen is unforgettable. Its a shame that after showing so much talent in the movie and the previous< Boyz In The Hood, Gooding Jnr has gone to make poor movies like Snow Dogs and the fighting temptations.
Once again Director Cameron Crowe shines, and shows his talent for making a warm, loving often funny story that you won't regret purchasing...a must for any film fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great in BD, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Alex (Barcelona, ES) - See all my reviews
Yes, one of the titles that is worth upgrading to BD. Just a note that maye help some others: it includes a lot -yes, a lot- of european subtitles, but it does NOT include Spanish. I knew it could be the case, and don't really mind, but this info may be of use to others in Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best films of all time, 20 Oct 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Even though this film has recieved nothing but positive comments, I still feel it is totally under-rated by many, as I feel its just one of those films you have to like.

Jerry Maguire - a sports agent who has the upmost respect among his collegues and friends, is suddenly thrown into the deep end when his company makes cuts among the staff, and its his turn to leave his job. Totally demoralized, he takes on the bussiness on his own as his own man, and with him takes Renne Zewelleger (sorry if it spelt wrong!) as his secretary. But they soon realise their true feelings for each other, and its up to Jerry to make a choice - will he let the highs and lows of the bussiness become his life, or will he take more notice of the woman he loves.

Its such a flawless story line that can be seen in people in everyday life - people who take their job to seriously, and forget about their loved ones. The film captures it superbly, with a mix of humour and romance that makes it so enjoyable to watch. The acting is superb, and its leaves you with a real good feeling.

Excellent film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's okay to like romantic comedy's. Really., 15 Nov 2001
At first glance this seemed like a vehicle for Tom Cruise, but this film defies the usual male disdane for a good looking guy getting the girl, who really ought to have known better. But Cruise is better than for years, and deserved more plaudits. It follows a few choice years of Jerry Maguire, sports agent extrodinare. But his life crumbles apart with the sudden growth of a conscience. Picking up the pieces of his shatterd self-esteem are Rennee Zellweger, and Cuba Gooding Jnr, as lover and client respectively. Both are played with confidence and zeal. Gooding picking up a deserved oscar for his antics. Diresctor Cameron Crowe's script is obviously written from the heart, but at times is a bit too 'sleepless in seattle'. Stll the charcters, including the hilarious johnathan lipnicki (Zellweger child from a former marriage), are developed so much, that you vcan't help but be moved by the tale. A minor classic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This had me from 'Hello', 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Maguire [DVD] (DVD)
Would recommend this to everyone who loves a feel good movie without the slush that goes with it. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Snooze, 12 Jan 2014
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jerry Maguire [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I really, really do not get what is so good about this film?. I watched it for the first time this year (2014) and was expecting it to be one of the great films of the 90's like the Truman show or American Beauty, this is what I was lead to believe from all the reviews. I expected Jerry to CHANGE as a person, instead he just went freelance, and cut some of his commission then married Renee Zellweger, I didn't feel he's actually changed that much as a person, and the kid wasn't that cute, the one from Big Daddy is a lot funnier. I actually found myself nodding off during it and Regina King overacts in just about every scene as does Cuba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

Jerry Maguire [DVD]
Jerry Maguire [DVD] by Janusz Kaminski (DVD - 2008)
2.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews