Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright, modern and stylish
I wanted bright light in the bathroom with a modern look and this light certainly does the job. It is big, but its low profile makes it stylish and not overbearing, even in a guest loo. The bright white light is excellent for applying make-up and doing hair, but is not blinding. Cover a little flimsy so need to be gentle when changing bulb, but don't let that put you...
Published on 21 Mar 2012 by Theresa

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better
I bought this based on the feedback I read. The light definitely looks the business but I couldn't help thinking to myself that it was a tad bit overpriced for what you get.
Not biased about this, I decided to go ahead and install it as I felt it would look nice in my hallway - Thats where the problem began. Despite my many attempts to undo the base of the unit, the...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Honest Sean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright, modern and stylish, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted bright light in the bathroom with a modern look and this light certainly does the job. It is big, but its low profile makes it stylish and not overbearing, even in a guest loo. The bright white light is excellent for applying make-up and doing hair, but is not blinding. Cover a little flimsy so need to be gentle when changing bulb, but don't let that put you off a good product. Altogether happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this based on the feedback I read. The light definitely looks the business but I couldn't help thinking to myself that it was a tad bit overpriced for what you get.
Not biased about this, I decided to go ahead and install it as I felt it would look nice in my hallway - Thats where the problem began. Despite my many attempts to undo the base of the unit, the base just wouldn't come out. My wife also tried several times and she was also unsuccessful. Left it for a couple of days and tried it again thinking I must have been too tired the first time - yet to no avail.

When I felt further attempts might destroy the unit, I decided to call it and day and return it. Shame I didn't get to use it. Don't let this deter you!! Its a Great looking item it just so happened mine was a dodgy one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Honest Opinion, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
Good looking light fitting, but after that the troubles unfolded.
1) What a problem to remove the cover, but did mangage in the end, but only by removing the chrome outer ring which is held onto the plastic cover by 4 metal retaining clips, which was not easy to say the least.
2) Lamp broken in transit, these things can happen, so bought another lamp, fitted the lamp no problem,
4)When installing the fitting could not see the earth terminal which general instructions recommended to be connected to.
5)Once fitted could not replace plastic cover Why? the replacement lamp was a reputed branded make i.e. around for longer than I can remember i.e. 40 years plus, so a reputed brand. Read the instruction for further advice. Bottom left-hand corner noted "GE branded replacement lamps may not fit" not the best time to tell someone once the fitting has been bought, and besides who keeps the fitting instructions once fitted? No info on what replacement lamp to buy, and besides what is a GE branded lamp? so beware at a later date when replacing original lamp.
5) Did manage to fit cover in the end over the new lamp, but not easy at all.

So please, please, - Buyer Beware!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 3 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
This was the second light and I was very pleased with them but with this second one the cover kept falling off and eventually broke. It was only a couple of months old and expensive to replace by buying whole new thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astro Osaka ceiling light, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
A lovely addition to our refurbished bathroom, it is a bright shiny light eliminating a small space. It's also great to know that with the low watt bulb it's svin me money as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. R. Burks "burksy" (UK Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
Don't touch this product!

It arrived promtly and well packaged, no problems there.

To fix the light the diffuser needs to be seperated from the housing, this is done by twisting the diffuser from the base. Unfortuntely this is so tightly fitted together it was impossible. The diffuser shattered before I could even make a slight turn to separate them both and was rendered to the bin.

A waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good light, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
if you need a bright light then this is it have purchased 2 not bad for the money.dont worry about buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fitting, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
Good quality item that is very easy to fit. Very efficient. 3 fittings illuminate a large kitchen perfectly Not cheap but worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bathroom Ceiling Light, 11 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
Well designed, gives excellent light, low energy bulb, simple to fit. Quite expensive, but this seems to be the going rate for this type of light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy with the end result, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astro 0387 GR10 Osaka Ceiling Light including 1 x 28 Watt 2D CFL Bulb, Chrome (Kitchen & Home)
At first I was a bit disappointed by the plastic and how bright this was (felt like a hospital room at first) but once we switched to a lower voltage bulb and lived with it for a while it's a great light. Looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews