Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOODEN WONDER TOY
This is a lovely product on many counts. It comes in a sturdy wooden box which holds 5 double-sided pattern boards (so 10 pattern designs) and over 100 wooden shapes which are - hexagons, squares, diamonds (2), triangles and a trapezoid.

There are numerous ways to play:

1) Let your child construct their own patterns freestyle with the blocks for...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Crafty Marie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly made!
I couldn't believe this was a Melissa & Doug toy, as usually they are extremely well made. The blocks had the paint rubbed off almost all of them, one of the boards looked like it got caught in the rain. Extremely disappointed with this product and I will be sending it back.
Published 8 months ago by Shopaholic


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOODEN WONDER TOY, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Crafty Marie "mariej30" (Cambs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
This is a lovely product on many counts. It comes in a sturdy wooden box which holds 5 double-sided pattern boards (so 10 pattern designs) and over 100 wooden shapes which are - hexagons, squares, diamonds (2), triangles and a trapezoid.

There are numerous ways to play:

1) Let your child construct their own patterns freestyle with the blocks for using their own imagination. This is often the most fun for little ones. My little girl likes to stack these up as well as place them side by side. She has them all on a tray so they don't slide off the table!

2) Help your child recognise different colours or shapes by using the blocks. Shame there are only 5 shapes but you can also make a rectangle, for example, by placing 2 squares together.

3) We use the boards and blocks to count with. I ask my daughter how many squares there are on a pattern board or how many green pieces. Or we do basic adding up and taking away with the larger shapes. In fact this is how my daughter started to understand basic maths using this exact method.

4) Older children can start to make the patterns using the blocks on the boards either with your help or unaided. There are 10 designs including a butterfly, dog, train, fish, bird, geometric, rabbit, flower, boat and snail.

5) Improving manual dexterity by getting your child to trace around the larger shapes with coloured pencils. Making up their own art designs. Older children could use the pattern boards as inspiration for drawing out patterns.

There are so many ways to play with this item. I'm not a big fan of electronic items/gadgets for very young children (especially pre-schoolers) as I feel that simple toys are far better for developing their own imagination, skills and sustaining interest.

1 minor let-down is the flimsy plastic cover which serves as a lid but I've put elastic over to keep it in place.

This toy has been a big hit and lasts for a good hour or more each play session. If there was another set with additional shapes, I'd buy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely toy, 15 July 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
The product is attractive and hard wearing. It has a nice traditional feel and comes in a useful storage box. The play value of the toy is good as it can be used initially as a matching activity then progress to more creative pictures of the child's own design. It also has the advantage of having enough pieces to make it worth using as some toys of this type are limited by the small number of parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Received But Needs A Lid, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
Great present for any toddler into shapes and colours. However a lid to the box would improve storage and transport. It can also be tricky getting the mats out of the box without tipping everything out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but imperfect, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
This is a well-made set of pattern matching boards/pieces aimed at children in the older pre-school/early school age category. The colours of both pieces and base boards are bright and everything is nicely finished.

This isn't the most basic set from the brand (there are versions aimed at younger children, which include larger and more basically-shaped pieces, as well as base boards with inset spaces to hold the matched pieces still), instead this 'next stage on' set is intended to challenge/extend improving skills in fine motor control as well as skills in colour/shape matching and pattern recognition. There are sufficient pieces in one box to allow several of the boards to be completed - thus there's enough here for a small group of children to use the set simultaneously.

Where this set falls down, is in the absence of a lid. The pieces comes in a nice wooden storage box, but this lacks a proper cover: an omission which just seems daft considering the number of small parts involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly made!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
I couldn't believe this was a Melissa & Doug toy, as usually they are extremely well made. The blocks had the paint rubbed off almost all of them, one of the boards looked like it got caught in the rain. Extremely disappointed with this product and I will be sending it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
I bought this for my 4 year nephew as a birthday present and he loves it. He uses the pictures but also uses his imagination in making other pictures. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attractive but not functional as a toy for young children, 13 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
Pros:
1. Light but strong wooden blocks and boards . Very durable.
2. Visually very appealing - Bright & attractive colours, interesting & varied patterns
3. Unusual (at least to me!) for a preschooler. Welcome respite from Peppa Pig and plasticky toys.

Cons:
1. Design flaw: Blocks do not "stick" on the underlying pattern board. It should have been either magnetic or there should have been ridges on the board to keep the blocks in place. The board is absolutely flat and smooth and the blocks slide about as my preschooler attempts to put the pattern together. As a result, very frustrating to play with and she loses interest in minutes. I've resorted to sticking pieces of blutack on the pattern board!
2. No lid! Surely it's not so difficult to design a sliding lid for the wooden box. I wouldn't have minded paying a quid more for a box with lid. I really don't understand why so many of the Melissa and Doug toys don't have a lid (I have the Abby & Emma dressup set too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of fun & encourages imaginative play, 14 May 2010
By 
jenny wren (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
I bought this for our God-daughter & was told by her Mum that she loved it the moment she opened it.
It is brightly coloured, very durable and has all kinds of ways of making patterns & being played with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent toy, disappointing quality, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
This is an excellent game/puzzle/toy and it was generally just as I had expected it. However, I was very disappointed in the quality - the larger bits are slightly uneven, while the paint is blotchy in parts and some slight scratches on wood. It doesn't affect the play, but still expected more from this brand and for the price. I'd never bought M & D brand before and I'm certainly not rushing out to buy any of their other toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 17 Oct 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards (Toy)
I love this toy. It's nice to be able to give a gift that is made of wood. very well packaged arrived really quickly. Extremely pleased. I'm sure this will be appreciated by the child it's a gift for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards
14.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews