Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Domingo gives a definitive performance as Otello
Legendary tenor Placido Domingo gives the definitive performance as Otello. As well as ringing tone, his voice has the desired body and warmth, while his acting is head and shoulders better than other tenors in this role. Kiri te Kanawa is also recorded in her prime and the two are incredible together. Sergei Leferkus is, however, only adequate and lacks the Italianate...
Published on 20 Jan. 2010 by R. A. Barber

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars classification
DVD not compatible with TV set, so I was unable to watch it. I assume it doesn't cover this region.
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Dr. P. Arrowsmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Domingo gives a definitive performance as Otello, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
R. A. Barber "Roger A Barber" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Legendary tenor Placido Domingo gives the definitive performance as Otello. As well as ringing tone, his voice has the desired body and warmth, while his acting is head and shoulders better than other tenors in this role. Kiri te Kanawa is also recorded in her prime and the two are incredible together. Sergei Leferkus is, however, only adequate and lacks the Italianate style need for such a key role. The Royal Opera House is, as always superb, while Sir George Solti ensures that it is a performance that will live in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest opera performances, 24 Sept. 2012
By 
Peter Jay "petjay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
My introduction to opera was hearing Domingo sing it at the Met in NY in 1985. From the moment he uttered his first note I was hooked and remember the audience being emotionally stunned at the end by his great acting as well as singing. I have seen Domingo in this role twice since at Covent Garden and each hearing has had the same effect.

It is one of arts moments of genius when a writer and artist together reach new heights of greatness. In my mind this performance is coupled with that of Paul Scofield's performance of King Lear (also available on DVD) where an artist is able to reach out and communicates directly with his audience.

The rest of the cast on this DVD are superb, especially Sergei Leiferkus as Iago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravura Otello From London, 24 Aug. 2010
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
A marvellous production with outstanding cast and lively conducting.

Otello needs a great singer who can act and no-one owns this role like Placido Domingo. I couldn't live with this opera on CD (also Domingo, cond. Chung) but seeing and hearing Otello's soul poisoned by Iago's slime is so much more involving. Domingo's expressions of despair and shock are very moving. Iago is suitably malicious in the capable hands of Leiferkus, and Te Kamawa sings beautifully and never overacts as Desdemona - although I thought her lamenting and praying in Act 4 would never end.

For once, the realities of staged theatre add to the experience of watching a recorded relay on a TV set; the conditions seem to concentrate everyone's attention admirably. No gimmicks, just theatricality. The presence of Charles and Diana in the audience is the ironic crowning touch.

Solti, who I don't normally like, conducts a thrilling if occasionally whiplash rendition of the score. I was fascinated by what sounded like hints of Wagner's Parsifal in Verdi's score.

Recommended for repeated viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this amazing performance on DVD. I was so drawn in by the dramatic acting as well as the powerful and beautiful singing. Lieferkus is a truly evil Iago, sly and insinuating. However, Domingo's acting; his tormenting jealousy is breath taking. The man is Otello! This is the greatest performance of an opera I have been privileged to watch live or on DVD, and I have seen so many! Buy it and see and hear art at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Othello-review, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I gave five stars for this "Othello" because it filled all my musical and technical demands of the product. Classical opera music is my favorite and I know this opera. I chose this product as a christmas gift from my coming husband and especially this "Othello" because of the superb staring singers, Plasido Domingo as Othello and Kiri Te Kanawa as Desdemona of the opera. And of course sir George Solti as the conducter was a definite quarantee for a high quality of the production together with Domingo and Te Kanawa. Also the reason that I got my order as was promised by Amazon was affecting "five stars". Surely, I will recommend this Amazon product to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Otello,Verdi, 11 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Verdi's opera Otello is based on William Shakespeare's play Othello.

It tells the story of a Moorish general named Otello (Placido Domingo), who has recently returned from war. His wife Desdemona (Kiri Te Kanawa), is very beautiful. Iago (Sergei Leiferkus) offers to help the young nobleman Roderigo(Ramon Remedios) to seduce her, because Iago is furious with Otello, for appointing Cassio(Robin Leggate)captain of the navy, instead of him.

Iago pressures Cassio into drinking alcohol and he becomes drunk. Desdemona awakes due to the noise and Otello demotes Cassio. Iago suggests that Cassio should speak to Desdemona about his demotion as she has influence over Otello. As he speaks to her, Iago tells Otello that Desdemona is being unfaithful. Otello becomes jealous and the opera ends in tragedy.

Placido Domingo was outstanding. His voice is incredibly brilliant and this is one of his best roles. As well as having a phenomenal voice, his acting was great. His performance alone makes this production worth buying.

Kiri te Kanawa also gave a tremendous performance. Her voice is incredibly beautiful, making the audience feel sorry for her characters doomed fate. Her rendition of The Willow Song towards the end of the opera is stunning. Sergei Leiferkus was terrific as the trouble making Iago, his voice menacing and powerful.

Wonderful singers and brilliant composition, this opera is a masterpiece and so is this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBTITLES, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Only criticism is that they should include ITALIAN SUBTITLES as well as English. Also French, for nonitalian speakers to follow language more easily than from English. Also German for germanspeaking people. DVDs from the Met always do this, and so should Covent Garden. They would sell more copies, so it's stupid not to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
C. Thorne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
After seeing an interview with Placido Domingo on TV decided to order this item as a treat. I was not disappointed. The singing of both Placido and Kiri te Kanawa are sublime. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Of course, Otello is Placido Domingo's signature role and he is Brilliant. What more can I say, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC]
Verdi - Otello [1992] [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] by Placido Domingo (DVD - 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews