Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely toy
Lovely solid wooden beads in bright colours. It comes with 2 laces for threading which is good if there are a couple of kids around.
My nearly 2 year old daughter really enjoys threading them, stacking them up and telling me the colours.
My only gripe would be that the box has no lid which is a bit of a pain from a storage point of view.
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by minxer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely presented toy
Purchased for my grandson who is blind. Would have preferred a wooden guide on the lace to help small hands starting to thread the beads. Could be improved if the dots representing numbers were raised or indented for sensory purposes, this feedback has been sent direct to Melissa and Doug, however they have not bothered to respond, despite saying that they welcome...
Published 5 months ago by Katie c


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely toy, 7 Aug 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
Lovely solid wooden beads in bright colours. It comes with 2 laces for threading which is good if there are a couple of kids around.
My nearly 2 year old daughter really enjoys threading them, stacking them up and telling me the colours.
My only gripe would be that the box has no lid which is a bit of a pain from a storage point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for developing motor and counting skills in toddlers, 30 Dec 2009
By 
PD (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
My two year old enjoys lacing the large wooden shapes onto the strings. My five year old enjoys using it too - as she can put them on in patterns or numerically.
The beads and string are of good quality and very bright BUT we do keep losing them as they roll under the sofa! So you will have to put them into a large biscuit tin or similar container because they come in an open-topped wooden box which is the only negative point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, educational and attractively designed, 14 May 2010
By 
GM (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
My 2 year old little boy loves playing with this bead set and wearing them like a necklace! The beads are big and chunky making it easy for little hands to manipulate and they're nice to look at. Having some single colour beads in the set might have helped him to practice his colours more easily. It's a compact toy to take out and about for entertainment outside the home. Paint is already coming off some of the beads in places but this is because my son likes to drag the string of beads round the house like a pet!I have to tie quite a few knots at the end of the string to stop the beads slipping off the thread. The set's easily stored in a tin / plastic tub. Am happy with this fun and educational toy that my 4 year old daughter also enjoys playing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright colourful beading toy, 2 Dec 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
I bought this for my daughter for her second birthday. She really wasn't that interest at the time. She is now coming up to 3.5 and really enjoys threading th beads to make necklaces. Its nice that there are a variety of different shapes. She not particularly interested in the number block yet but I'm sure this will come in the future.

Its not a toy that's used every day but its a lovely colourful robust toy with educational value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wel made educational toy, 7 Aug 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
my son loves it. we bought this for our 28 month old 6 weeks ago. it teaches hand eye coordination by lacing the bright coloured cubes and stars onto laces. it all comes in a handy box to keep tidy too. already my son can point out the correct numbers by counting the dots and also by looking at the *number* on the side of the cube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun and variety in one toy, 10 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
I really like this lacing beads toy. It's great for counting, colours, shapes as well as motor skills/dexterity for lacing them together. I bought them for my 2.5yr old boy and he enjoys lacing them, counting them and even stacking them like blocks. He's already fine on colours and shapes. I like the variety of facets of learning in the one toy.
Only criticism is that the container is a bit useless which seems odd since it's a good quality product. I'd have paid another pound or two for a proper box...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melissa and Doug do it again, 15 July 2011
By 
M. Macdonald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
Brilliant, wanted a starter set of beads for my 30 month old daughter and this is perfect for little hands, also not dangerous for my one year old to find if left on the floor. Melissa and Doug can do no wrong in my book. They seem to get it just right from a toddler perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chunky Fun, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Ryuski (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
I bought this toy as a Christmas present for my 2 year old daughter. She initially enjoyed stacking the wooden shaped blocks into a tower, getting quite high too, before the knocking them over (the best bit in her opinion!). I showed her how to thread the shapes on to the laces, which she is starting to get the hang of and I can see the benefit of the different colours, shapes, numbers and counting dots in the future. My 4 year old son has also taken an interest in them and they actually play happily together. He threads the beads well to make a huge necklace! He can easily recognise the numbers and shapes and tries to encourage his sister also. A good educational toy for learning manipulative and cognitive skills, as well as sharing and having fun! The only downside as mentioned in previous reviews is the box has no lid. I tend to use cling film when not in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely presented toy, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
Purchased for my grandson who is blind. Would have preferred a wooden guide on the lace to help small hands starting to thread the beads. Could be improved if the dots representing numbers were raised or indented for sensory purposes, this feedback has been sent direct to Melissa and Doug, however they have not bothered to respond, despite saying that they welcome feedback! Comes in a nice wooden box, but not very practical as there is no lid and the beads will easily fall out and get lost in a busy toy box. Prefer the Tidlo lacing beads for variety, wooden lace guide and box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is ok, although the pieces could be a bit long and it is hard to pull through the shoelaces, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box (Toy)
the quality it is ok, but the painting has chipped away pretty fast.
it could be a problem when the pieces are so long, as it is hard for a small child to pass through the shoe laces and them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Lacing Beads in a Box
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews