Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars474
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2008
When looking for a microscope for 2 children (age 5-6) I found it hard to get reliable advice, and read a lot of bad reviews for much higher priced childrens products. I bought this one on a whim after seeing 1 good review and found that this microscope is amazing value. It produces clear, bright images, and is a perfect first microscope for young children. It has slides which they can learn to mount, and it can also be taken out of its holder and placed over any object that you want to view. The magnification is just right for young ones to be able to relate the magnified image to the object itself. At both 20x and 40x magnification onion skin cells are clearly visible and I will try to upload a picture I took through the microscope of unstained red onion skin. I highly recommend this microscope, it is amazing value for money and a perfect introductory microscope.
review image
0Comment|226 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I bought this as a stocking filler and it has been just as popular as the major Christmas presents. My daughter is 6 and we have looked at fingernails, snowflakes and skin so far. My other daughters aged 12 an 15 also keep borrowing it, plus it doubles as a handy torch. Really excellent value for money and not easily breakable. Though we did lose the little stand for a few days.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
Bought this for the kids. Didn't expect much for under £10. However, I was amazed. Truly pocket sized and such lovely quality. Kids have loved finding stuff to put on the slides. Live mosquito larvae (from the water butt) especially good. Could spend hours using it. Lighting is even good enough to get some reasonable photographs via my digital camera. Love it. Will be buying more for presents.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This is a superb microscope considering it's under £10. Unbelievable really.

I use it to examine the scratch patterns on blades and it is perfect for the job. I used to work in a cytology lab, so I have some experience with optics and for this price the pocket microscope is incredible. Don't be fooled by toy microscopes claiming to have 1000x magnification - you can't achieve that without expensive optics and the specimen has to be properly prepared in order to view it at that magnification. The 1000x toy microscopes just give you a faint blob of light with some vague fuzz where the specimen is supposed to be. Their objective lenses are tiny and they have very low light-gathering capability.

The 40x magnification on the pocket microscope is a real 40x with a bright, crisp image. The Natural History Museum did the right thing - they went for high quality optics at lower magnification.

It's a great educational toy, for sure (try examining a bank note with it), but it's also completely fit for purpose for anywhere where you need good magnification. Worth having around even if you don't have kids.

At this price, you simply can't go wrong. For once you will get more than what you paid for.
44 comments|277 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
Absolutely awesome little microscope! I bought it on the strength of the other reviewers comments, after being disappointed by a more expensive other make of 'scope. This is so much more fun. Not fiddly at all, and an incredibly bright light means you can see the subject matter really quickly and easily.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
Bought this for my son who is just 5, he was absolutely blown away by what he saw through the microscope....his first experience of a microscope and has shown a great interest in looking at everything...pond water...even his ear wax!! His sister who is 8 is equally fond of it. Great value and works really well.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
This pocket microscope is pretty neat. It features a single-turret 20x-40x zoom construction with a focusing wheel, and is very straightforward to use.

While it doesn't have the power of a full-featured microscope, you can plonk it on just about any surface you'd like to investigate.

That opens up a whole world of possibilities that won't fit on a normal microscope stage. It also has a removable base with a slide holder for conventional use, and a built-in battery-operated light.

You could easily take it on field trips for a first look at your samples. It's robust, light, simple and pocket-sized.

A great gadget for big kids and little 'uns.
review image review image
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
The reviews and cost made this an instant purchase for my 6-year-old's stocking. When I recieved it I was surprised at how small it was, and initially thought "Oh dear". However, when it was opened and used on Christmas Day I was extremely impressed with the quality of the view and ease of use. What a superb product!! For the price, it is out of this world. We have since spent a lot of time hunting for all sorts of things in the house to look at and she has been very engaged. It seems pretty durable too with simple, non-fiddly controls.

As a primary teacher who is used to using a variety of equipment in science lessons - this is terrific value for money and high quality that results in great learning potential. Low energy LED too - great for battery life. Considering getting a bunch for the classroom now.

If you are after a microscope to get started GET THIS PRODUCT, IT IS EXCELLENT.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
This was bought for a daughter's friend (10 yr old) and they have played together with it. My daughter says the magnification isn't great,though much better than the magnifying glasses they use at school. BUT they did have great fun finding things to look at and it's very sturdy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
When first looking at this product on line, I ASSUMED it was larger than the actual 1 1/2" it turned out to be.
It would be helpful if in a case like this, if TWO pictures were shown, one as it appears now, in it's closed position, and ANOTHER one, when it is unfolded.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)