Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm giving this 5 stars as it's such a great value item
I'm giving this 5 stars as it's such a great value item. I got it for £32 with free delivery and for that price it's an absolutely excellent item. As other reviewers suggest it is quite difficult to put together and you really do need to sort the screws, bolts, etc out first and keep them in a clear order as you work, even though that requires going through the whole book...
Published 7 months ago by KittyP

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hedstrom wavy slide
I have just purchased the hedstrom wavy slide for £57.99, for my daughters first birthday, i found this slide to be of best value.

My husband is a joiner by trade and is very compatent at putting things together, but he was nearly beaten by this slide, the instuctions are not very clear, and the screws all look the same but there is a 3ml difference in them so...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Kerri


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hedstrom wavy slide, 7 July 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
I have just purchased the hedstrom wavy slide for £57.99, for my daughters first birthday, i found this slide to be of best value.

My husband is a joiner by trade and is very compatent at putting things together, but he was nearly beaten by this slide, the instuctions are not very clear, and the screws all look the same but there is a 3ml difference in them so be warned. only buy this slide if you have a lot of patients. it took my husband nearly 5 hours to put together.

Having said that after finally putting it together it is one sturdy strong slide, It's just ashame they put a wave in them,it would be far better if it was just straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm giving this 5 stars as it's such a great value item, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
I'm giving this 5 stars as it's such a great value item. I got it for £32 with free delivery and for that price it's an absolutely excellent item. As other reviewers suggest it is quite difficult to put together and you really do need to sort the screws, bolts, etc out first and keep them in a clear order as you work, even though that requires going through the whole book as there is no index of these parts at the beginning of the instructions. The instructions could also do with being a bit more detailed as small omissions such as the direction to put in a nut and bolt can mean having to re-do some sections. Lastly, if possible, use a proper, long-handled, allen key and spanner, I can't imagine how frustrating it would have been to assemble using the provided tools.

But all that aside, once it's assembled it's well worth the money. My 21 month old loves it and should get several years of enjoyment out of it. The slide actually looks much bigger in real life than it does in the above photograph. The chute is 6ft long and compared to similarly priced toddler slides, this is just so much more enjoyable and we will get much more mileage from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I ignored the earlier reviews about how difficult this was ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
I ignored the earlier reviews about how difficult this was to put together, and learned the hard way that it was true!! Absolute nightmare, instructions not clear enough, had to disassemble and reassemble several times in order to get some sections correct, and the room for using tools is severely restricted. Having said all that, now that it is finally put together correctly, our 3 year old Grandaughter loves it, so worth the effort snd frustrations!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slide, 10 Sept. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
I bought this slide for my granddaughter's 4th birthday and she loves it. Strangley enough so does our pet rabbit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, eventually., 17 May 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
To build this slide you need:
4 arms
2 midget hands
2 giant hands
a back of steel
the patience of a saint
and of course the ability to read the designers mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Line up the bolts first!, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
The slide is great but assembly is tricky as others have mentioned. I recommend getting all the bolts and sorting them before you do anything else. You should have:

17mm x 5 (for use in Step 2 F1 / Step 3 F1 / Step 4 F1)
20mm x 6 (for use in Step 1 F1a)
25mm x 1 (for use in Step 4 F4)
30mm x 1 (for use in Step 4 F5)
35mm x 8 (for use in Step 2 F3)
35mm (Round Head) x 5 (2 for use in Step 5 F6 / 3 for use in Step 6 F6)
38mm x 4 (for use in Step 5 F7)
60mm x 2 (for use in Step 7 F9)
63mm x 4 (for use in Step 6 F8)
66mm x 2 (for use in Step 3 F2)

I ended up measuring them individually to make sure.

Also as there is a lot of alan key work I sawed off the long part of the alan key and put it in my electric drill. Combined with a wrench this sped things up a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hellish instructions, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
I bought this slide back in January (3 months ago) however only got around to assembly last week (due to lack of good weather). Hubby was left to crack on with assembly and when i returned an hour later I found a rather irate husband. It turns out that the instructions (or lack of) are dreadfully frustrating, to put it mildly. Now, whilst trying to fit a screw into a badly fitting hole we have cracked the plastic in the upper part of the wavy slide, which has now resulted in the whole thing going to the rubbish dump. Whilst I'm sure that the slide would be great if erected correctly, I will not be purchasing another. Hugely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Assembled it is very sturdy, good quality and reasonable value for the cost, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
My daughter is two and loves the slide. Assembled it is very sturdy, good quality and reasonable value for the cost.

I have to agree with other reviews however that the assembly is less than straight forward. The instructions are not very clear and rely almost entirely on pictures, the screws are very similiar in size and the instructions do not clearly state the screws for each section. Several times I had to unattach sections and repeat with different screws. Great end product but be prepared for some assembly annoyance.

With better instructions this would have been a 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - but designed by an idiot?, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
Plus points:
For the price you can't go wrong.
Kids love it.

Negative points:
The top of the slide is a little flimsy -but if it lasts a week it's good value at that price providing nobody gets hurt!
The screws are all in the same bag. Usually this wouldn't be a problem. However there's about 10 different types of screw and they all have 2mm difference in size. Then take in to account there's about 100 of them! Would it have been too expensive to bag the screws separate? It was frustrating to have to measure every single screw to see which one it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should last for years, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedstrom Wavy Slide (Toy)
This is a great sturdy slide and has so far survived a summer of children (ages 2-7) and 1 Grandad(!) playing on it.
The metal 'frame' is navy blue in colour, and the 'T' shaped base is not as thin as it looks on the photo (about 2cm). The rest of the metal work is thicker about 2.5cm.
It did take a good while to put up as there are some very tricky nuts and bolts to tighten underneath the slide, but it's so sturdy compared to some it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hedstrom Wavy Slide
£57.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews