Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars felix da man...
The GU releases seem to have got better and better of late with Layo & Bushwacka setting the standard last time out, and this one raising the bar again. I have to say, i found Felix's own album a bit of a disappointment, but when behind the decks, there are not a lot better. CD1 encapsulates all that's good about the sounds he creates. Driving house, electro and techno...
Published on 15 May 2008 by R. B. Reid

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Ho
After Layo & Bushwacka I had high hopes for this Felix mix. Unfortunately this is very dissapointing.

Cd1 is repetitive the whole way through with little or no variety.

Cd2 is Felix experimenting with Electro...I could barely listen to it as I'm not a fan of electro at all.

If your looking for previous mixes like those of Sasha, Nick...
Published on 27 May 2008 by Jeffrey Hoare


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars felix da man..., 15 May 2008
By 
R. B. Reid (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
The GU releases seem to have got better and better of late with Layo & Bushwacka setting the standard last time out, and this one raising the bar again. I have to say, i found Felix's own album a bit of a disappointment, but when behind the decks, there are not a lot better. CD1 encapsulates all that's good about the sounds he creates. Driving house, electro and techno that can't help but make you want to listen to it in a club, with the lights down, lost in music. CD2 is more of an experimental mix, and i feel it loses its way at times, but maybe that's just me not being into the electro sounds as much, or just that i'm taking longer to get my head round it. Even so, both cd's will take you on a very enjoyable journey, and are sure making my rush hour bus journeys all the more exciting than normal. If you love Felix, you'll love this. Go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not easy listening, but rewarding., 10 Oct 2008
By 
J. Rychetnik (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
Another compilation in GU's 'new style'. GU seems to be swinging away from progressive house and exploring new sounds. Felix Da Houscat's mix is frankly not as easy to listen to as most progressive house compilations. Its not 'melodic' in the sense of what most people would call 'melodic' (i.e. like Mozart!).
However, of course there is melody there - its just more challenging to find it. I find that if I pay attention then I really enjoy this mix. If I'm distracted slightly then it just sounds 'noisy'.
Its a rewarding music experience, but not an easy one. I think you will either find it stimulating or just downright obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gu... for the journey :-), 21 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
typically great gu.

some recent gu releases have come in for some stick.

when you buy a gu release, you show trust... trust that you will be given a slice of music that will stand the test of time & will grow on you big time.

i remember listening to cape town by dave seaman being totally blown away... a cd that being totally honest changed my musical preferences.

summing up a great cd from an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Ho, 27 May 2008
By 
Jeffrey Hoare (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
After Layo & Bushwacka I had high hopes for this Felix mix. Unfortunately this is very dissapointing.

Cd1 is repetitive the whole way through with little or no variety.

Cd2 is Felix experimenting with Electro...I could barely listen to it as I'm not a fan of electro at all.

If your looking for previous mixes like those of Sasha, Nick Warren or Danny Howells steer clear of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Felix the erratic!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
I echo the sentiments of Mr. Reid, who tells of GU34 being a tale of two halves.... It is most definitely that. I absolutely loved CD1 with it's no-nonsense nod to thumping techno and melodic electronica, past and present, entwined seemlessly by such a skilful and masterful DJ (one who definitely knows his stuff). But CD2... I just couldn't get into. Is it the Electro? Is it just a path I don't / haven't tread? Dunno... it just seems... random and largely anything will do.... Don't get me wrong, I'd stump up the money to get this GU issue just for CD1, especially seeing it can bought for no more than a fiver - just don't expect one long, coherent mix over 2 x CDs. He's a wacky legend al-right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice change of direction, 17 Jun 2008
By 
B. Sharpe "Loobdup" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
I was not a fan of the Layo and Bushwacka mix, the Adam Freeland mix grew on me, but I applaud GU for changing direction a bit, and broadening the horizons of the average Progressive House fan.

While this CD stays into some confusing additions (eg Quando Quando), it still carries some big names like Switch, Angelo & Ingrosso, Sasha et al. and predominately bangs away at the darker-electro-almost-techno tinged house that is popular with the likes of Toolroom etc. 'Felix' has been known to play Electro for some time now (who can forget the staple 'Silver Screen' electro classic) and has included some older tunes like David Carretta's Vicious Game. So why this is another straying from the staple Progressive sets and is not a classic 5/5 album, it is still a master at work and should be experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great party mix, 2 Aug 2008
By 
P. McCay (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
This is a well crafted mix from Mr Housecat that brings a fresh change of direction for the GU series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit better, yet AGAIN not by far GU material, 20 May 2008
By 
Niels Steeman (Northern Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GU34 Milan (Audio CD)
After the last two editions totally eating dust in my CD cabinet, I can almost add another one from the Global Underground series to that collection. Felix Da Housecat is a well-known name in the market, with some good mixes overall (Virgo Blakto is one example of a nice piece of work), and I was expecting a better performance from the guys and girls @ GU.
Yet once again, dissapointing. CD1 sounds to me like a slow(er) Carl Cox remix with many straight, undefining heavy bass beats and artists that one would not expect on such a remix (Josh Wink for example suits not this label - with all due respect). It opens extremely poorly with the Chipmunk-style number of Chip E (?) and you lose immediately interest, followed by a poorly built up set up with a confusing BPM tempo. You listen only if the Cd can finish off nicely after this crap start.

CD 2 has some better ones, yet again comes back in a way where Layo and Bushwacka also did not make it (GU33): it sounds old and confusing!

Hope that Darren Emerson will come back with a very nice GU35 (as what he himself says). Check out his Singapore and especially Uruguay album!

Pfff, when does this label starts to listen to some of the comments made from its fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ma koji je ovo kurac?, 17 May 2008
By 
To je mix? Ma ovo je sranje od mixa za japanske crtice! Smeče za popizdit! GU! Koji vam je kurac???? A Howells i Warren mixevi su vam dojadili, sad izdvate ovo govno?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GU34 Milan
GU34 Milan by Felix Da Housecat (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews