Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily still one of my favourites!
I have loved Juno ever since I first saw it. It is still easily one of my favourite films.

Meet Juno (Ellen Page) - a witty teenager who accidently becomes pregnant by her shy, nerdy friend Paulie (Michael Cera). The film follows the story of her pregnancy, starting with her almost-abortion & ending with the adoption of her baby. It sounds deep & depressing,...
Published on 7 Sept. 2011 by Mrs VB

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Some Good Points, But Does Not Live Up To The Hype.
People may disagree with me but I felt that Juno was not worth the hype that it had when it came out. Sure it picked up the pace in the last thirty minutes and tugged on the heart strings somewhat, but a much better film, (of a comparable nature) is Knocked Up.
Juno is a sixteen year old girl at high school who after a night of sex with her best friend becomes...
Published 16 months ago by Richie77777


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily still one of my favourites!, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs VB (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have loved Juno ever since I first saw it. It is still easily one of my favourite films.

Meet Juno (Ellen Page) - a witty teenager who accidently becomes pregnant by her shy, nerdy friend Paulie (Michael Cera). The film follows the story of her pregnancy, starting with her almost-abortion & ending with the adoption of her baby. It sounds deep & depressing, but I promise it is not. It is actually fairly heartwarming.

If you're into well-written indie / teen comedies, Juno is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Juno” on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues On The ‘US’ Version For UK Buyers…, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Juno [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
"Juno" is a bit of a masterpiece frankly with a fresh feel to an old subject (its blessed with a red-hot script that is so of the ‘now’). Besides any film that has the double-whammy talent of Alison Janney and J.K. Simmons as the quirky coping parents - gets my vote. They rock every hilariously un-PC shot they’re in.

It has to be said that the pairing of Ellen Page and Michael Cera as the young couple thrown together through teen pregnancy is a genius piece of casting too. And the tentative and deeply awkward relationship the blooming young Mum (Juno MacGuff) has with her would-be yuppie adoptive parents (Jennifer Garner and Jason Bateman shining) is wholly believable too. Clever cutting and cool music choices push the proceedings along nicely – and the great dialogue just keeps on coming. And on it goes to an Indie song ending that will elevate your heart...

Fans of the film should note that the ‘US’ BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED – so it will not play on our machines unless they’re chipped as ‘all regions’ (which few are). ‘Multi-Region ‘DVD’ capability with some BLU RAY players won’t help either.

Best stick with the UK release. It’s relatively cheap now and makes “Juno” a heart-warming BLU RAY looker you’ll be proud to own…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 22 April 2008
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Juno - Blu-ray (Blu-ray)
This is another "sideways " " little miss sunshine " type of movie with the real star being an unborn child. The story is very engaging and the movie goes very quickly and is worth a second viewing

A lot has been written about what Diablo Cody meant with her pro-life stance and I think it is open to the viewer's interpretation.
There are certain moments of utter brilliance in the film , the Oriental girl outside the abortion clinic and the calm and collected reaction of Juno's parents are among them.

The acting is excellent across the board but Cela is the best delivering his best performance yet.

Why not 5 stars ?

Ellen Page overacts a bit and Micheal Cera plays a perfect teenager aloof and insecure ( perhaps if her performance had matched his it would have been very different ).American teenage slang can be difficult to follow at times.

The nice house scenes can be creepy and made me cringe as I watched them.

A breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "It All Started With A Chair", 30 Nov. 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Juno [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Isn't it amazing how a movie comes along and captivates your imagination? How a director can really make you think about something without even trying? You sit there and you're taken on a journey you didn't even know you were going on, and all of a sudden, you're in a world you never thought was there.

Welcome to the world of Juno, a 16 year old who's a gore loving heavy metal fan, who just likes to be cheeky and fun - and loves Bleeker, her friend, who loves athletics and, who on a fateful night, decides to take it one step further.

Juno finds out she's pregnant, and decides that the best thing for junior is for him/her to live with parents who will be able to afford, care and give it everything she can't. She finds this couple, Mark, who is a lot like her and Vanessa who's a bit uptight. She decides it's a good idea to give them the baby when she gives birth.

This movie is touching on so many levels and makes you look at your choices and what you would do if you were Juno; and where you'd go next. It's also very well done, with the light acoustic music, bright scenes and beautiful colour. The locations are wonderful too and the fact it's not over-Hollywood with it's over-the-top scenarios makes it a real treat to the ears and eyes. All the actors are amazing in this - especially Juno (Ellen Page - Hard Candy [2006]) who's so upbeat in this movie. I also enjoyed meek Bleeker's role in the movie (excellently executed by Michael Cera (Superbad (2 Disc Extended Edition) [2007])).

This blu-ray is really good too - plenty of extras like commentaries, audio description and heaps of extras like a gag reel, deleted scenes and little featurettes. The video quality is spot on with a full 1080p output running at 24MBs AVC. The audio is TruHD and is in many different languages. There are plenty of subtitles too, glad to see everyone has been catered for. The picture quality is amazing and because of the bright scenes it's never dull or washed out, and it's not overly-processed like a lot of Hollywood stuff. The sound is also very well mixed, though there's not really a moment you can say wow that really did surround me.

This is an excellent movie and is actually a joy to watch on blu-ray because of those extra bits of quality audio-visually.

Get this, worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It started in a chair, 25 Feb. 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Let's face it -- teen pregnancy is an ongoing problem, and is not something admirable or funny. But I have to admit, the way you handle it can be.

That seems to be the goal of "Juno," a relentlessly quirky, cracking-wise little comedy about a girl who makes a dumb mistake, and the smart decisions she has to make after that. While it initially seems rather precious, the Wes Andersonesque scriptings hide a bittersweet, warm little story about responsibility and love.

After a lot of Sunny D and three pregnancy tests, Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) comes to the inevitable conclusion: she's pregnant by her friend Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera).

Because she "heard in health class that pregnancy often results in an infant," Juno initially goes in for an abortion, but ends up running out of the clinic. Instead, she's going to have the baby and give it to someone who wants one, but can't have it. So she reluctantly fesses up to her parents, and starts scouting ads for suitably (if unedgy) parents for her baby -- the wealthy Mark (Jason Bateman) and Vanessa (Jennifer Garner).

Mark and Juno form a bond over their shared tastes, but she starts to suspect that not all is well in Yuppieland -- especially when Mark decides to break up with Vanessa, because fatherhood would force him to be a grown-up, not a rock god. As her due date approaches, Juno must decide what is best for herself, Vanessa, the baby... and just maybe, the adoring Paulie.

Recliners on the lawn, cactus-grams, guitars with names and "The Wizard of Gore" -- it's pretty obvious that "Juno" will win prizes for kooky quirk, if nothing else. It certainly has that in spades, and while it has some awkwardly scripted moments, the colourful and acerbic portrait of a teenage girl having to make some heavy adult decisions is definitely a winning one.

Admittedly, "Juno" is a bit too precious in the first few scenes, when we have a weird store clerk saying things like "Your eggo is preggo" and getting replies like "Silencio!" Come on, loosen up and stop trying to be cooler-than-thou.

But as the pregnancy storyline really kicks in, "Juno" settles into a storyline that is equal parts quirky-funny and touching. Jason Reitman flavours the whole plot with his snappy, clever direction with plenty of acid-laced voiceovers from Juno, on the world around her. And Diablo Cody's dialogue ranges from deliciously sharp ("I'm not crying, I'm just allergic to fine home furnishing") to entertainingly over-the-top ("Phuket, Thailand!").

But as witty and quirky as the plot is, it wouldn't be much if it didn't also have a heart. As the movie winds on, we get to see Juno maturing -- learning to weigh coolness vs. maturity, appreciate her family, and what is right for her baby and the Lorings -- the scene where Juno helps an upset Vanessa talk to her baby is adorable. Not to mention that our pregnant heroine has to figure out whether true love is staring her in the face.

Ellen Page gives a note-perfect performance -- her Juno is funny, sassy, wise beyond her years, and profoundly unconventional ("Thundercats are go!"). Cera is equally good in a more subdued, lovably dorky role; it's pretty hard not to love Paulie just for being himself. And Garner and Bateman are wonderful too, as an uptight, lonely woman who desperately wants a baby, and a Peter Pan type who doesn't want to act like a grown-up. Bleah, who needs him?

"Juno" has its flaws -- moments of excessive preciousness -- but it has plenty of heart, wicked dialogue, and excellent acting. Call it a Cautionary Whale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It started in a chair, 10 Jun. 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Let's face it -- teen pregnancy is an ongoing problem, and is not something admirable or funny. But I have to admit, the way you handle it can be.

That seems to be the goal of "Juno," a relentlessly quirky, cracking-wise little comedy about a girl who makes a dumb mistake, and the smart decisions she has to make after that. While it initially seems rather precious, the Wes Andersonesque scriptings hide a bittersweet, warm little story about responsibility and love.

After a lot of Sunny D and three pregnancy tests, Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) comes to the inevitable conclusion: she's pregnant by her friend Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera).

Because she "heard in health class that pregnancy often results in an infant," Juno initially goes in for an abortion, but ends up running out of the clinic. Instead, she's going to have the baby and give it to someone who wants one, but can't have it. So she reluctantly fesses up to her parents, and starts scouting ads for suitably (if unedgy) parents for her baby -- the wealthy Mark (Jason Bateman) and Vanessa (Jennifer Garner).

Mark and Juno form a bond over their shared tastes, but she starts to suspect that not all is well in Yuppieland -- especially when Mark decides to break up with Vanessa, because fatherhood would force him to be a grown-up, not a rock god. As her due date approaches, Juno must decide what is best for herself, Vanessa, the baby... and just maybe, the adoring Paulie.

Recliners on the lawn, cactus-grams, guitars with names and "The Wizard of Gore" -- it's pretty obvious that "Juno" will win prizes for kooky quirk, if nothing else. It certainly has that in spades, and while it has some awkwardly scripted moments, the colourful and acerbic portrait of a teenage girl having to make some heavy adult decisions is definitely a winning one.

Admittedly, "Juno" is a bit too precious in the first few scenes, when we have a weird store clerk saying things like "Your eggo is preggo" and getting replies like "Silencio!" Come on, loosen up and stop trying to be cooler-than-thou.

But as the pregnancy storyline really kicks in, "Juno" settles into a storyline that is equal parts quirky-funny and touching. Jason Reitman flavours the whole plot with his snappy, clever direction with plenty of acid-laced voiceovers from Juno, on the world around her. And Diablo Cody's dialogue ranges from deliciously sharp ("I'm not crying, I'm just allergic to fine home furnishing") to entertainingly over-the-top ("Phuket, Thailand!").

But as witty and quirky as the plot is, it wouldn't be much if it didn't also have a heart. As the movie winds on, we get to see Juno maturing -- learning to weigh coolness vs. maturity, appreciate her family, and what is right for her baby and the Lorings -- the scene where Juno helps an upset Vanessa talk to her baby is adorable. Not to mention that our pregnant heroine has to figure out whether true love is staring her in the face.

Ellen Page gives a note-perfect performance -- her Juno is funny, sassy, wise beyond her years, and profoundly unconventional ("Thundercats are go!"). Cera is equally good in a more subdued, lovably dorky role; it's pretty hard not to love Paulie just for being himself. And Garner and Bateman are wonderful too, as an uptight, lonely woman who desperately wants a baby, and a Peter Pan type who doesn't want to act like a grown-up. Bleah, who needs him?

"Juno" has its flaws -- moments of excessive preciousness -- but it has plenty of heart, wicked dialogue, and excellent acting. Call it a Cautionary Whale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Some Good Points, But Does Not Live Up To The Hype., 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
People may disagree with me but I felt that Juno was not worth the hype that it had when it came out. Sure it picked up the pace in the last thirty minutes and tugged on the heart strings somewhat, but a much better film, (of a comparable nature) is Knocked Up.
Juno is a sixteen year old girl at high school who after a night of sex with her best friend becomes pregnant. She is somewhat of an outcast at school, which perhaps made her an interesting character. Her best friend, who later becomes her boyfriend loves orange tick tacks and there is a funny scene where he opens his mailbox and, (due to her gift) lots of packets of orange tick tacks fall out!
The film follows how Juno decides to give her baby up for adoption to a local young couple. She gets on well with the guy, as their share interests in films, music and even comics!
Unlike Knocked Up this film actually dedicates some more time to what happens to the characters once the baby is born. In that respect, (and that respect only) it makes it a better film than Knocked Up.
For me Knocked Up beats Juno hands down because it doesn't take itself too seriously and you're fully aware of when a joke is made. (Juno's jokes were mostly quite subtle or just plan unfunny).
Two Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, definitely deserves your time., 6 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I think pretty much every type of viewers would like Juno. It was wrongly being described as "hilarious" and "comedy" but this film was basically a "dramedy". There are very emotinal and bittersweet moments. Ellen Page's acting was brilliant. Other leads did a great job as well. Writing and dialogues were created perfectly. It's not a B-movie to fill your empty time. It definitely worths a look, I mean it won Oscar award for Writing. Enjoy. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good, refreshing film worth watching, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I finally got a chance to see Juno from start to finish. It is a wonderfully uplifting and refreshing film to watch. The soundtrack is astonishingly brilliant, and fits the film and contributes to its atmosphere perfectly. Ellen Page is a great actress and with the funny screenplay from Diablo Cody, you have a likable and always interesting protagonist.

If you just want to watch a film to feel good, this is one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Juno- Blu-Ray, 26 Dec. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juno [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
'Juno' manages to achieve exactly what it set out to be, a feel good, inoffensive, funny film. It manages to mix hilarious, laugh out loud moments, with more poignant moments and Ellen Page has an ability to deliver dialogue in a way that will make you smile even before the punchline. The first half is the funniest, where as the second half becomes a touch more serious as it resolves the issue of the film, Juno's teenage pregnancy. The soundtrack is great (so much so I bought it) and compliments the various scenes perfectly. I didn't expect to enjoy this quite as much as I did and for that reason alone it was a happy surprise. There are mixed reviews for his film here, but if you want an easy going film, that is excellently acted, with great music and with an interesting enough storyline, then this is the place to go. Well worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juno [Blu-ray] [2007]
Juno [Blu-ray] [2007] by Jason Reitman (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews