Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily still one of my favourites!
I have loved Juno ever since I first saw it. It is still easily one of my favourite films.

Meet Juno (Ellen Page) - a witty teenager who accidently becomes pregnant by her shy, nerdy friend Paulie (Michael Cera). The film follows the story of her pregnancy, starting with her almost-abortion & ending with the adoption of her baby. It sounds deep & depressing,...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Miss Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing!
My teenager wanted this film but was slightly disappointed with it however she did watch it to the end - not something she always manages.
Published 7 months ago by CN68


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily still one of my favourites!, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Miss Robinson (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have loved Juno ever since I first saw it. It is still easily one of my favourite films.

Meet Juno (Ellen Page) - a witty teenager who accidently becomes pregnant by her shy, nerdy friend Paulie (Michael Cera). The film follows the story of her pregnancy, starting with her almost-abortion & ending with the adoption of her baby. It sounds deep & depressing, but I promise it is not. It is actually fairly heartwarming.

If you're into well-written indie / teen comedies, Juno is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It started in a chair, 10 Jun 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Let's face it -- teen pregnancy is an ongoing problem, and is not something admirable or funny. But I have to admit, the way you handle it can be.

That seems to be the goal of "Juno," a relentlessly quirky, cracking-wise little comedy about a girl who makes a dumb mistake, and the smart decisions she has to make after that. While it initially seems rather precious, the Wes Andersonesque scriptings hide a bittersweet, warm little story about responsibility and love.

After a lot of Sunny D and three pregnancy tests, Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) comes to the inevitable conclusion: she's pregnant by her friend Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera).

Because she "heard in health class that pregnancy often results in an infant," Juno initially goes in for an abortion, but ends up running out of the clinic. Instead, she's going to have the baby and give it to someone who wants one, but can't have it. So she reluctantly fesses up to her parents, and starts scouting ads for suitably (if unedgy) parents for her baby -- the wealthy Mark (Jason Bateman) and Vanessa (Jennifer Garner).

Mark and Juno form a bond over their shared tastes, but she starts to suspect that not all is well in Yuppieland -- especially when Mark decides to break up with Vanessa, because fatherhood would force him to be a grown-up, not a rock god. As her due date approaches, Juno must decide what is best for herself, Vanessa, the baby... and just maybe, the adoring Paulie.

Recliners on the lawn, cactus-grams, guitars with names and "The Wizard of Gore" -- it's pretty obvious that "Juno" will win prizes for kooky quirk, if nothing else. It certainly has that in spades, and while it has some awkwardly scripted moments, the colourful and acerbic portrait of a teenage girl having to make some heavy adult decisions is definitely a winning one.

Admittedly, "Juno" is a bit too precious in the first few scenes, when we have a weird store clerk saying things like "Your eggo is preggo" and getting replies like "Silencio!" Come on, loosen up and stop trying to be cooler-than-thou.

But as the pregnancy storyline really kicks in, "Juno" settles into a storyline that is equal parts quirky-funny and touching. Jason Reitman flavours the whole plot with his snappy, clever direction with plenty of acid-laced voiceovers from Juno, on the world around her. And Diablo Cody's dialogue ranges from deliciously sharp ("I'm not crying, I'm just allergic to fine home furnishing") to entertainingly over-the-top ("Phuket, Thailand!").

But as witty and quirky as the plot is, it wouldn't be much if it didn't also have a heart. As the movie winds on, we get to see Juno maturing -- learning to weigh coolness vs. maturity, appreciate her family, and what is right for her baby and the Lorings -- the scene where Juno helps an upset Vanessa talk to her baby is adorable. Not to mention that our pregnant heroine has to figure out whether true love is staring her in the face.

Ellen Page gives a note-perfect performance -- her Juno is funny, sassy, wise beyond her years, and profoundly unconventional ("Thundercats are go!"). Cera is equally good in a more subdued, lovably dorky role; it's pretty hard not to love Paulie just for being himself. And Garner and Bateman are wonderful too, as an uptight, lonely woman who desperately wants a baby, and a Peter Pan type who doesn't want to act like a grown-up. Bleah, who needs him?

"Juno" has its flaws -- moments of excessive preciousness -- but it has plenty of heart, wicked dialogue, and excellent acting. Call it a Cautionary Whale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Juno” on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues On The ‘US’ Version For UK Buyers…, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juno [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
"Juno" is a bit of a masterpiece frankly with a fresh feel to an old subject (its blessed with a red-hot script that is so of the ‘now’). Besides any film that has the double-whammy talent of Alison Janney and J.K. Simmons as the quirky coping parents - gets my vote. They rock every hilariously un-PC shot they’re in.

It has to be said that the pairing of Ellen Page and Michael Cera as the young couple thrown together through teen pregnancy is a genius piece of casting too. And the tentative and deeply awkward relationship the blooming young Mum (Juno MacGuff) has with her would-be yuppie adoptive parents (Jennifer Garner and Jason Bateman shining) is wholly believable too. Clever cutting and cool music choices push the proceedings along nicely – and the great dialogue just keeps on coming. And on it goes to an Indie song ending that will elevate your heart...

Fans of the film should note that the ‘US’ BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED – so it will not play on our machines unless they’re chipped as ‘all regions’ (which few are). ‘Multi-Region ‘DVD’ capability with some BLU RAY players won’t help either.

Best stick with the UK release. It’s relatively cheap now and makes “Juno” a heart-warming BLU RAY looker you’ll be proud to own…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dvd!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Arrived on time!
Brilliant quality DVD, love this film.
Saw it online and absolutely loved it, just had to get a Dvd copy.
Ellen Page has to be one of my favorite actresses ever.
If you want a funny casual comedy you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, definitely deserves your time., 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I think pretty much every type of viewers would like Juno. It was wrongly being described as "hilarious" and "comedy" but this film was basically a "dramedy". There are very emotinal and bittersweet moments. Ellen Page's acting was brilliant. Other leads did a great job as well. Writing and dialogues were created perfectly. It's not a B-movie to fill your empty time. It definitely worths a look, I mean it won Oscar award for Writing. Enjoy. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good, refreshing film worth watching, 29 Dec 2010
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I finally got a chance to see Juno from start to finish. It is a wonderfully uplifting and refreshing film to watch. The soundtrack is astonishingly brilliant, and fits the film and contributes to its atmosphere perfectly. Ellen Page is a great actress and with the funny screenplay from Diablo Cody, you have a likable and always interesting protagonist.

If you just want to watch a film to feel good, this is one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 22 April 2008
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juno - Blu-ray (Blu-ray)
This is another "sideways " " little miss sunshine " type of movie with the real star being an unborn child. The story is very engaging and the movie goes very quickly and is worth a second viewing

A lot has been written about what Diablo Cody meant with her pro-life stance and I think it is open to the viewer's interpretation.
There are certain moments of utter brilliance in the film , the Oriental girl outside the abortion clinic and the calm and collected reaction of Juno's parents are among them.

The acting is excellent across the board but Cela is the best delivering his best performance yet.

Why not 5 stars ?

Ellen Page overacts a bit and Micheal Cera plays a perfect teenager aloof and insecure ( perhaps if her performance had matched his it would have been very different ).American teenage slang can be difficult to follow at times.

The nice house scenes can be creepy and made me cringe as I watched them.

A breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming movie, Page at her best,, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Beautiful account of unwanted teen pregnancy made into a lighter situation.

Story took twists, I laughed and I cried, and it's defiantly a film teen girls need to see!

Cute movie, but you wouldn't want to live it.

Amazing! Would recommend to ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Like Marmite..., 12 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I s'pose you either love it, or you don't - a bit like Marmite. I am a lover of both Marmite and "Juno".
It's true - its a feel-good, teen-flick with happy music and a simple yet touching story line. But whats wrong with that? Why do all films need to be serious, violent or action-packed? That was one of the major criticisms that this film suffered from in the reviews after it first came out, but lets be honest - sometimes its nice to just watch a film that makes you feel happy, and reinforces the fact that that the world isn't all death and destruction.

This is one of those films, and I love it, and highly recommend it to anyone who wants their faith restored in humanity, or just a good reason to sit down with a big cup of coffee or a tub of ice cream for a couple of hours and watch a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Indie Film, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Juno [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
We had this film hanging around the house for months and I just didn't fancy it - thought it looked very saccharine and twee. Eventually my missus convinced me to give it a go and I'm so glad she did. It was a great film. A proper American indie in the same vein as Ghost World [DVD] [2001], Garden State [DVD] [2004], The Station Agent [DVD] [2004]. The film it reminded me of the most was Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] [2004], but if anything it was better than that. Fantastic performances from everyone in the cast, especially Ellen Page - all the characters were really engaging and the script had some great witty moments in it.

Without spoiling the plot too much, there was a really nice touch where your sympathy for one of the characters is twisted around at the end and you have to kind of reverse your judgement on them. I found that interesting, and not something I'd seen a lot of in this kind of movie.

I'd definitely recommend it. If you like films by Wes Anderson, or any of the ones I mentioned above, you'll love this. It's quirky and funny and better than most of the rubbish that seems to be released these days by a mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juno [DVD] [2007]
Juno [DVD] [2007] by Jason Reitman (DVD - 2008)
3.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews