Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars York 5Kg Cast Iron Discs
Just received the 4x5kg cast iron discs to replace my vinyl stock of the same weight category, at first glance I was impressed as they are exactly as described and are suitable for the 1 inch diametre, 14inch long spinlock York dumbell bars I had already.
They come in a box of four 5kg discs which gave the local postman a slight shock as he went to lift them out of...
Published on 11 Dec. 2009 by Dave J.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Different sized hole in the middle
I bought the 'York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set And Case' and these 4 x 2.5kg discs at the same time, but when they arrived I discovered that the holes in the middle of these 4 discs are larger than the bar that came with the set and the weight moves around and rattles when the collar comes loose. This is not a big problem, except that the rubber washer on the inside of...
Published 5 months ago by John Meanwood


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars York 5Kg Cast Iron Discs, 11 Dec. 2009
This review is from: York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4 (Sports)
Just received the 4x5kg cast iron discs to replace my vinyl stock of the same weight category, at first glance I was impressed as they are exactly as described and are suitable for the 1 inch diametre, 14inch long spinlock York dumbell bars I had already.
They come in a box of four 5kg discs which gave the local postman a slight shock as he went to lift them out of the van and apart from this each is cast with the weight and York logo clearly visible on each side of the disc.
Being thinner than my vinyl weights allows you to stack more weight on each dumbell bar which is an obvious advantage and the reason for the purchase.
I've deducted one star as the black paint is slightly powdery and rubs off on the hands when first using the discs, however a good rub of a damp cloth and this problem is easily solved. Overall very good quality product but make sure your aware your bars diameter size prior to ordering, i.e. standard=1inch olympic=2inches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
This review is from: York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4 (Sports)
I bought the 4 x 5kg weights to add to my 20kg York dumbell set bought from Amazon. Just before paying £30 for them on Amazon, however, I checked Argos and found they were available for just under £25. Turns out they've both gone out of stock today so I'm made up I took the plunge and bought them!

It's worth pointing out that the discs do look different to the product picture here (not sure if it's just the lighting though). They are identical in finish to the discs in the afforementioned 20kg York dumbell set. Basically matte black with a slightly rough surface. A small amount of powder-esque substance rubs off at first but a damp cloth will sort this. "York" and "5kg" are cast onto both sides. In my opinion they look pretty tidy as they compliment the chrome dumbell bars I use.

The thickness of the discs is the same as that of the 2.5kg variants: ~ 27mm. I can fit 3 x 5kg discs onto each end of the dumbell with the spinlocks secured. In case you want to know, the diameter of the discs is roughly 190mm. Seems they've manufactured them with a good balance between thickness and diameter. Considering they're made of cast iron, you can slap on a hefty amount of weight without them being overly massive like an equivalent sand-filled disc.

Mine came in a deceptively small cardboard box, which gave the guy at the counter in Argos a shock as he nearly keeled over right in front of me!

Think that covers it; any questions feel free to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What did you expect from 5kg discs?, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4 (Sports)
I read a lot of people complaining about the quality of the discs and would understand if they came with a hole that was too small or at an angle but mine are fine. Yes the paint comes off and yes they could have been separated in the box so they hadn't rubbed, but seriously they're weightlifting discs! All my discs are rubbed and chipped away, that's because I use them regularly and change the weights as I'm working out.

Overall I'm very pleased with them and they are doing the job, not sure if more expensive and perhaps shiny weights would make any difference other than in my pocket. Need heavier weights for your workout? Buy these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 4 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted 4x 5kg lumps of metal to go on my dumbells and thats exactly what I got. Fab stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They're metal, heavy, round and fit a 1" bar.

If these are not your requirements then you will be entirely disappointed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you expect, 15 Dec. 2011
I originally wanted 2 10kg plates, however the price for those is ridiculous - £40.

With these you get the same weight, but half the price. This is because 4 5kg plates take up more space on the bar than 2 10kg plates.

I have a big bar so it doesn't make a difference to me...it would be a waste of money getting 2 10's.

Regarding the actual weights, they're what you expect.

There are small scratches on 2 out of the 4 plates but they don't affect anything apart from looks, which don't matter.

I accurately weighed each plate, the average is 4.9925 kg per plate which is basically 5.

Delivery was excellent. I chose the free super saver option and the weights were delivered within 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4 (Sports)
These are great. The packaging is good, the price is very good and the free delivery makes these the cheapest I can find anywhere. I bought the 4x 2.5 and 5kg weights to replace my vinyl plates that were taking up too much space on the dumbells. Now I can go a lot heavier, which is always good :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top product, 23 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth the price if only to see the delivery man struggle down my path with them. 20kg's man what's wrong with you?

York is a great brand who's products I've owned before. If I would pick on something negative (and this is grasping here) the only thing that comes to mind is the deafening CHIIINNNGGGG!!! you get every time you clatter two of these together. Ear piercing I think.

That said, I'm glad I bought the individual 2.5kg's and 5kg's plates to start with instead of opting for the 50kg set that comes with those pointless 0.5's or 1.25's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Needed, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered these weights to add to the resistance of my York 15kg Chrome dumbell set, although they should work with any 1" diameter dumbell or barbell bars. The 4x 2.5kg discs arrived in a huge box, which when opened revealed alot of airbags and a tiny box just barely big enough for the weights inside, this confused the courier as it was a large box which was heavy in one small area only.

The weights once unpacked are exactly what I expected, rougher in finish than the chrome weights I have but this is an unexpected advantage as when they are the largest weight used on a dumbell its rougher surface makes it less prone to rolling away.

I've been using these weights now for nearly a month and they work perfectly, I have noticed a tiny bit of wear around the inner faces of the discs, like as if black paint is wearing away, but it does not effect the usage of them.

Best of all I researched the weights at York fitness' own website prior to purchasing and the price here was far less than direct from the factory outlet online.

So not only would I recommend these weight discs, but I will likely buy a second set in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5kg plates, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4 (Sports)
I have brought these, and must say they do the job pretty well.

Firstly: They don't look the best plates. However, if you are working out at home, in your garage or whatever, does that really matter?

Secondly: The finish. It chips. This is a simple annoyance, but worth being aware of.

Essentially, I like these, and will probably buy more, or the 7.5 kilo ones :D. I am not really bothered about apperance, as its only me using them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Fitness Standard Cast Iron Discs - Pack of 4
£18.99 - £44.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews