Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good deal
I have spin lock weights. The 1" bars had the spinlock collars; but being "plastic" they split and became un usable. These fit over my bars, they fit the spin lock and the plain bars and because of the price I got 2 sets.
Published on 13 Sept. 2011 by T-HILL75

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it says in the description
I am pleased with the product and was surprised about how fast it actually came. However, I do not believe that these are actually genuine York spring collars. The box it came in had Chinese writing on it and I am yet to find a york label anywhere on the product. I would have given the product 5 stars but as I was decieved and made to think I was spending my money on...
Published on 28 Aug. 2009 by L. John-Baptiste


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good deal, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
I have spin lock weights. The 1" bars had the spinlock collars; but being "plastic" they split and became un usable. These fit over my bars, they fit the spin lock and the plain bars and because of the price I got 2 sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it says in the description, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
L. John-Baptiste (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
I am pleased with the product and was surprised about how fast it actually came. However, I do not believe that these are actually genuine York spring collars. The box it came in had Chinese writing on it and I am yet to find a york label anywhere on the product. I would have given the product 5 stars but as I was decieved and made to think I was spending my money on something else I will not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 27 July 2009
By 
Mark Smith (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
For years I struggled with the 'quick-release' collars which came with my bar. After buying these I'm gutted I didn't get them earlier. They are perfect - quick and easy to use - couldn't be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 April 2011
By 
J. Bateman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
great springlocks exact same as the ones supplied with the york barbell so i do belive these are york products unlike some other reviews! recommend to anyone with a 1" barbell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be doing the job so far., 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
Can't knock it. Haven't properly used it since I've had it, but it went on smoothly and holds on tight, after a few tests, it doesn't seem to be losing grip so that's the spring collars purpose! Whether that lasts is another matter, but not something I can say now! I think the price and delivery was the difference between the others, I'm assuming it's all pretty much the same standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lottery wether they'll fit, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
The clips themselves seem fine and fit for purpose, but the problem I have with them is they're too big for some of my kit so won't work. I have a York Dumbell set and a York EZCurl bar both with 1" threaded spinlocks. The clips are too big for the EZcurl bar and ONE of the dumbells, but fit fine on the other dumbell - even though they are part of the same set.

Clearly the tolerance in the York bars varies so its anyone's guess if these clips will be any good for you. Just be warned that if they SHOULD fit - they may or may not depending on your luck !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
Bought these because I became tired of unscrewing the 'quick' release collars on my standard weights. Realise I should probably have bought the more expensive Olympic and weights bar now but thought these spring collars might be more economic. They're very tight so take some effort to get on and off but hold the weights very securely, especially as the bar is threaded. In fact, getting them on and off is now an exercise in its own right.

Only improvement would be a more dramatic angling to the levers so that they don't sit flush against the weights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spring collars, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
THEY WORK VERY WELL and seem well made and I am sure they will last for many years, so good! Been using for some months. Sometimes there is a little dampness on my weights and if so, and bar dips a little on one side ( this is with 25kg on each end ), then the collars allow the weight to slide, ( quite a lot ) so exercise ( no pun intended ) care. But I don`t see this as a problem, just wipe off the centres of the weights and the bar if condensation present. And just chuck it if it gets out of hand. Still 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collars, 4 Jun. 2009
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
Bought these in hope they could replace the spinlock collars on my 1" bars but they are too big (probably because of the thread on the bars). They are a sturdy set however & would probably lock onto a smooth 1" bar brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality fine for the price, but don't fit the screw fitting bars, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Spring Collars (Sports)
Bought these under the assumption they would fit york dumbbell and curl bars which have the screw-thread ends. Unfortunately they do not and are not safe used like this. I assume york must also sell bars with smooth ends that are not olympic diameter (these collars are small ones). Quality is otherwise fine, and price was very low.

Pros
- Quality decent for the price

Cons
- Does not fit bars which are threaded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Spring Collars
York Spring Collars by York Fitness
£4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews