Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for triceps and biceps
i was going to get and e-z bar to do bicep curls, as it takes the pressure off your wrist unlike the strait bar. This bar has the same part as the e-z bar for curls with the added bit in the middle for doing triceps, which works out as great value for money.
Published on 29 May 2009 by Tom

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars shocking quality, it was dangerous!
wow! such poor quality. who would have thought that such a simple piece of equipment could be such a let down.
i was looking forward to this as ive had some serious wrist pain using regular dumbbells (york) recently and after a little research and reading up on reviews here i decided to give this tri/curl combi bar a go.

as it turned up on the door, a day...
Published 3 months ago by c hilton


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for triceps and biceps, 29 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
i was going to get and e-z bar to do bicep curls, as it takes the pressure off your wrist unlike the strait bar. This bar has the same part as the e-z bar for curls with the added bit in the middle for doing triceps, which works out as great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
A bit smaller than expected, but good enough for what it is designed for.
Bar measure 1200mm (4')
Space between inner collars 830mm
Useable Weight disc space 170mm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bar, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
Really happy with this buy, it is a solid bar and heavier than I anticipated. The collars aren't as heavy duty as I would have liked though just comparing them to my dumbbell spinlocks but they get the job done so no fuss. Its versatile and comfortable in a range of motions especially so on the wrists which concentrates the weight on the muscle. Feels good for working tris and bis and I'll probably be doing some one arm rows too as the curve in the middle acts as a good handle.

All in all definitely worth the money, I can tell I'll be getting in a lot of decent workouts with this piece of kit and personally it's going to make those missed gym days a lot less heartbreaking for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bit of kit., 14 Aug. 2011
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
What a great piece of equipment this is. I was looking for a bar to make doing upright rows and lying tricep extentions easier on my wrists. If you use a standard straight bar, it tries to pull your wrists at all sorts of angles, especially on upright rows. Using this one, the angle of the bar is exactly where your hands need to be. Also the U-shaped bit in the middle goes under your chin, so you don't hit yourself with it, like I was, using a straight one.
The price is very good too. Your talking about £40 for kit like this. Amazon was the cheapest by far. I would recommend buying this bar just for doing upright rows as it has improved my form by 50%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, comfortable to hold, but remember it has a slighty narrow grip, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
A solid quality curl bar for the price, good value for money. The curves make curls a lot more comfortable on the wrists than a straight bar, particularly if lifting more weight.

Do bear in mind that the grip will be narrower than usual, so it is not possible to hold at quite shoulder width - the widest part of the textured grips are roughly hip width. The grips themselves are very rough, but not uncomfortably so; however, I would suggest removing any rings before using as otherwise you will scratch them to pieces!

Pros
- Price
- Comfortable grip

Cons
- Relatively rough grips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy and solid, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
Crumpy (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
I wanted this product for exercises such as the upright row and overhead tricep extension. The item is perfect for both.
My York cast iron weights fit it perfectly and the metal spinlock collars match the York dumbbell kit I own.

Before buying this item I was torn between it and York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg. I am glad that I went for this as the curves are more ergonomic and therefore more comfortable to use.
The item is quite heavy on its own, weighing in at just over 5 kg with no weight on it!
It came well packaged and it's a sturdy piece of kit which should last me for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent :), 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
This bar is a solid build tough enough to hold up too 100kg easy great grip as well the delivery speed was excellent. great bar for an amazing 19 pound !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
I'm not sure how much better quality you could get this bar as it is just solid metal with 2 good quality spin locks on each end. Easy to use and great for numerous arm workouts. Would definitely recommend this over the E-Z bar as it gives you a wider-range of more concentrated exercises that you can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bar., 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
Great bar for curling, skull crushers and upright row among others as the bar relieves a lot of pressure from your wrists, great price as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the standard EZ curl bar. Go for tri curl!, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar (Sports)
Decided to buy this product over the standard EZ curl bar as I already heard good reviews about it and have experience with the standard EZ curl bar. Fantastic addition to my weights set. Opens up a whole array of possible exercises and I find this much better for skull crushers and bicep curls. Takes a lot of stress off the wrists for rows as well, making it, in my opinion, the better choice over the standard bar and standard EZ curl bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Close Grip Tri/Curl Combi Bar
£18.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews