Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home EZ bar
Put simply, this bar is excellent for home use. The spin-lock collars can irritate if you are frequently changing plates but, since the weights shouldn't be sliding around if you're using good form, you don't have to lock them tight which saves time. The weight sleeves of the bar are a little short so you will need to opt for heavier weights and fewer of them if you want...
Published on 26 May 2010 by James Sanders

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bar but poor spinlock collars
very strong bar, great bar exactly what i wanted.
the spinlock collars are a real pain tho as even when i screw them on tight, they tend to loosen so for the time being, im using different spinlock collars on the bar while i just ordered spring collars which should hopefully solve the problem. other than the collar irritation, item was delivered earlier than...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by Julio


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home EZ bar, 26 May 2010
By 
James Sanders (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Put simply, this bar is excellent for home use. The spin-lock collars can irritate if you are frequently changing plates but, since the weights shouldn't be sliding around if you're using good form, you don't have to lock them tight which saves time. The weight sleeves of the bar are a little short so you will need to opt for heavier weights and fewer of them if you want to push yourself. As has already been mentioned by another reviewer, this bar is not compatible with Olympic plates - the bar is only 1" in diameter. For the money this bar is a great addition to a home gym and can save a lot of wrist strain on your bicep curls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bar but poor spinlock collars, 1 Jan. 2011
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
very strong bar, great bar exactly what i wanted.
the spinlock collars are a real pain tho as even when i screw them on tight, they tend to loosen so for the time being, im using different spinlock collars on the bar while i just ordered spring collars which should hopefully solve the problem. other than the collar irritation, item was delivered earlier than anticipated and in great condition! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Curling Bar, 18 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Great price spin-lock curling bar, and with free postage it's a real bargain. The gym I go to have this exact bar, and have had it for over three years, it's had a lot of use and abuse and it has withheld it well - so I know it's a hardy piece of equipment and will last me for years. A*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong centre of gravity, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Initially I was happy with the bar, it seemed solid, cleanly cut and what I was expecting. I purchased 2 10kg triplates to use with this. But the fault in the bar became apparent when I connected them all together, the curve in the bar is not centred well along the axis, therefore the centre of gravity is not in line with the axis of the bar. What this means is that as you lift the bar it will try to roll into position where the handles will take the higher position and the weights roll to a lower stable position. But as you have to lift and turn this, at the top of your rep the bar will try to rotate again, which is quite an unpleasant feeling on the hands, especially with that rough grip surface. One would have to grip quite hard to prevent the rotation, or one could use gloves, though I have never used gloves before so this is a bit annoying. Also a thicker bar may have coped better with the poor mass distribution as it is easier to grip, but this bar really needed a better weight distribution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good solid bar, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Same as the 6ft straight bar - Does exactly what its designed for. Spin lock design can be tedious if you're changing plates a lot but will work your wrists!
NOT suitable for Olympic size plates as I found out, only 1 inch diameter, don't make the same mistake I did through ignorance! I've now ordered an Olympic bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Great additional piece of workout equipment for home, coupled with some 5kg plates this item is perfect for doing some upper body strengthening as part of my exercise regime. First time users may require gloves as the grips are quite abrasive and will cause calloused hands to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for arm curls!, 5 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
I ordered this E-Z curl bar as I was finding that my dumbbells were not ideal when trying to do arm curls with both arms at the same time. The bar is solidly made and has a nice weight. Not too heavy but enough to feel solid with added weights. The only downside with these types of bars (same with the york dumbbell bars) is that the spinlocks can come loose when doing reps and you have to keep fiddling with these. That said, it's a minor quibble and at this price, it's a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
I decided to purchase a curl bar after using one at my uncles house, and this one seemed like the best deal. I've had it almost a year now and I'm still pleased I got it.

In comparison to the picture, the angles are spot on, however the area in the 'middle valley' that is etched for grip, on the one I received the etched part stops around the peaks and the valley is smooth. However, that is a non-issue as the middle section isn't meant for use. However if I had to give a criticism it would be that the grips gathered a bit of rust/went brown quite quickly. Perhaps this is sweat, but it is a pain to clean as the grooves are very thin. That being said it doesn't mark your hands at all, it's really just an aesthetic point.

The different angles are great for different types of lift. And the bend in the middle makes it easier if you wanted to use it for squats. I also like that if you want your weights to stay firm in place, i.e. not rattle, then this does sufficiently well at that. They can come loose fairly easily, say if you turn in on the floor or use them heavily, but normally they stay in place for a solid feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, cheap E-Z bar for non-professional use., 9 May 2010
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
This bar is strong, and cheap and durable and great for personal use. It's not particularly heavy duty, but for someone just looking to do a bit of targeted lifting at home, it's perfect. It is comfortable to use for triceps and biceps extensions and curls, and can be used for various back, shoulder and chest exercises too, though probably not for bench press as the bar's a bit narrow. Overall, a brilliant product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks better than it is., 11 Jan. 2013
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
The bar is a good heavy construction and its length is great for home/small space use. The hands grips are very sharp and very rough, your going to need gloves to use this item! The angles of the bar are nothing like the picture shown. They are set far too shallow. I wish I had bought a slightly more expensive bar which would have better defined angles. You Get What You Pay For.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg
£19.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews