Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home EZ bar
Put simply, this bar is excellent for home use. The spin-lock collars can irritate if you are frequently changing plates but, since the weights shouldn't be sliding around if you're using good form, you don't have to lock them tight which saves time. The weight sleeves of the bar are a little short so you will need to opt for heavier weights and fewer of them if you want...
Published on 26 May 2010 by James Sanders

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bar but poor spinlock collars
very strong bar, great bar exactly what i wanted.
the spinlock collars are a real pain tho as even when i screw them on tight, they tend to loosen so for the time being, im using different spinlock collars on the bar while i just ordered spring collars which should hopefully solve the problem. other than the collar irritation, item was delivered earlier than...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Julio


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home EZ bar, 26 May 2010
By 
James Sanders (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Put simply, this bar is excellent for home use. The spin-lock collars can irritate if you are frequently changing plates but, since the weights shouldn't be sliding around if you're using good form, you don't have to lock them tight which saves time. The weight sleeves of the bar are a little short so you will need to opt for heavier weights and fewer of them if you want to push yourself. As has already been mentioned by another reviewer, this bar is not compatible with Olympic plates - the bar is only 1" in diameter. For the money this bar is a great addition to a home gym and can save a lot of wrist strain on your bicep curls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bar but poor spinlock collars, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
very strong bar, great bar exactly what i wanted.
the spinlock collars are a real pain tho as even when i screw them on tight, they tend to loosen so for the time being, im using different spinlock collars on the bar while i just ordered spring collars which should hopefully solve the problem. other than the collar irritation, item was delivered earlier than anticipated and in great condition! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Curling Bar, 18 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Great price spin-lock curling bar, and with free postage it's a real bargain. The gym I go to have this exact bar, and have had it for over three years, it's had a lot of use and abuse and it has withheld it well - so I know it's a hardy piece of equipment and will last me for years. A*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good solid bar, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Same as the 6ft straight bar - Does exactly what its designed for. Spin lock design can be tedious if you're changing plates a lot but will work your wrists!
NOT suitable for Olympic size plates as I found out, only 1 inch diameter, don't make the same mistake I did through ignorance! I've now ordered an Olympic bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Great additional piece of workout equipment for home, coupled with some 5kg plates this item is perfect for doing some upper body strengthening as part of my exercise regime. First time users may require gloves as the grips are quite abrasive and will cause calloused hands to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong centre of gravity, 8 Nov 2014
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Initially I was happy with the bar, it seemed solid, cleanly cut and what I was expecting. I purchased 2 10kg triplates to use with this. But the fault in the bar became apparent when I connected them all together, the curve in the bar is not centred well along the axis, therefore the centre of gravity is not in line with the axis of the bar. What this means is that as you lift the bar it will try to roll into position where the handles will take the higher position and the weights roll to a lower stable position. But as you have to lift and turn this, at the top of your rep the bar will try to rotate again, which is quite an unpleasant feeling on the hands, especially with that rough grip surface. One would have to grip quite hard to prevent the rotation, or one could use gloves, though I have never used gloves before so this is a bit annoying. Also a thicker bar may have coped better with the poor mass distribution as it is easier to grip, but this bar really needed a better weight distribution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good bar, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
its a good bar but the spin locks dont hold after 2 reps they are loose and after like 30-40 they were almost halfway off which is not good if you are doing high rep workouts as i had to stop and tighten them after each set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure!, 27 April 2012
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
Nothing wrong with service and item, all very good! The only thing I have concerns about is the advistising for these ex curlers, as it's suppose to reduce the strain on the wrists whilst training, vut I found it increased it!!! That was my only gripe!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bar, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
It does exactly what its supposed to do. Solid bar, not like those cheap chrome bars with a inner hollow space in the inside.

Buy this one. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for arm curls!, 5 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg (Sports)
I ordered this E-Z curl bar as I was finding that my dumbbells were not ideal when trying to do arm curls with both arms at the same time. The bar is solidly made and has a nice weight. Not too heavy but enough to feel solid with added weights. The only downside with these types of bars (same with the york dumbbell bars) is that the spinlocks can come loose when doing reps and you have to keep fiddling with these. That said, it's a minor quibble and at this price, it's a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews