Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Perry & Croft Classic
I was a bit dubious with this series as it is the first series without the very talented Michael Bates, he had died after the last series was made. But my fears have been a waste of time as it is still a classic comedy. True, you do miss Michael with his proverbs and his strorytelling, but I feel the other actors are strong enough to cover for this, especially Windsor...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by G. Basford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Let Down!
After the first five series, this sixth series is a bit of a let down. Michael Bates died after the fifth series and (depending on how close to filming this series this occurred) this may have effected this disappointing sixth series. As I have said elsewhere, the 7th series is a big step up again. If you are a great fan of this series, by all means buy this series;...
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by Philip Roberts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Perry & Croft Classic, 10 Aug 2008
By 
G. Basford (Abriachan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit dubious with this series as it is the first series without the very talented Michael Bates, he had died after the last series was made. But my fears have been a waste of time as it is still a classic comedy. True, you do miss Michael with his proverbs and his strorytelling, but I feel the other actors are strong enough to cover for this, especially Windsor Davies, Melvyn Hayes and Don Estelle. Three episodes which are side-splittingly funny are The Stars Look Down, Lead Kindly Light and Holidays At Home. If you like classic comedy, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aint Half Hot, 31 Aug 2010
By 
N. J. Wright "N Wright" (Glos. uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I have bought the whole complete 'It Aint Half Hot Mum' from serie one to series eight. It was made in the 70's when comedy was fun and not dramatic and realistic. Although the setting is during the war with service men in the jungle there is never any swearing, violence, death and serious over sentimental drama. It is pure cosy sitcom with a brilliant assortment of hilarious characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Ain't Half Hot Mum, 26 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a all time classic series i have all 6 out of 8 just 2 more to get i can't wait for for the other 2 to come on dvd this cast list is great . Windsor Davies and the others are are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Retro Comedy, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful series not seen on TV for some time. Good cast and accurate authentic sets. Really enjoyed the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD], 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This now completes my collection. A good buy and a good quality disc.
If you love good old comedy...This is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The gang are still on track, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
After the unfortunate death of Michael Bates, you would have expected the quality of the show to go down slightly. Surprisingly however, that isn't the case, as this sixth series is still very good, thought more focus on the Char-Wallah doesn't really add much to the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un-pc but unmissable, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Not at all politically correct but nobody should take offence if they appreciate the intention is not unkind.
Great cast, excellent scripts which results in first class entertainment every time. Do not miss any of these series, they are all brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing old and young, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is great viewing for all, my kids love it and know episodes off by heart. Nothing on tv to match this now.
Not politically correct, but its not ment to be offensive just fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Let Down!, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
After the first five series, this sixth series is a bit of a let down. Michael Bates died after the fifth series and (depending on how close to filming this series this occurred) this may have effected this disappointing sixth series. As I have said elsewhere, the 7th series is a big step up again. If you are a great fan of this series, by all means buy this series; but you won't watch it as often as the other series. It is a pity that they did not think to have Dino Shafeek take over introducing each episode after Michael Bates's death.

It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Collection [DVD]
It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Series One to Four [DVD]
It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Fifth Series [1977] [DVD]
It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So refreshingly non pc., 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent quality. May only appeal to certain age groups but is so refreshingly non pc without being offensive. Certainly gave us lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Ain't Half Hot Mum - Complete Sixth Series [1978] [DVD]
6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews