Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (120)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star movie with 3 star extras.
Like the Matrix 10 years ago Cloverfield has set a new standard for action cinema. Movie snobs often dismiss genre movies like this one as low brow. But the genius of Cloverfield is it's structure; the whole movie is an exercise in keeping an audience on the edge of their seats and it works. Every time it looks like things couldn't possibly get worse they do, then just...
Published on 6 Aug 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Came From Outer Space
This is a very artfully constructed film about the usual crowd of young hedonists who are typically slaughtered by serial killers; in this case they are dropped into New York City under attack from Something Big covered in nasty little bugs (the size of big dogs). To keep the chaos going the film is shot on a hand-held by one of the characters. It is a tribute to the pace...
Published on 28 Sep 2008 by Charles Vasey


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star movie with 3 star extras., 6 Aug 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Like the Matrix 10 years ago Cloverfield has set a new standard for action cinema. Movie snobs often dismiss genre movies like this one as low brow. But the genius of Cloverfield is it's structure; the whole movie is an exercise in keeping an audience on the edge of their seats and it works. Every time it looks like things couldn't possibly get worse they do, then just when things look like they've calmed down a tad the next shock hits. None of which sounds that impressive, until you see just how well it's done here.

Although there's nothing oscar worthy from the cast the films is buoyed along by some convincing performances and humor in particular is played just right: it's funny but not so funny that you relax. The story pulls surprisingly few punches and even seems a little daring for a big budget action movie, culminating in a conclusion that stayed with me long after the movie finished; it's often I've said that about a film of this type. Best of all there is more to Cloverfield then just digital effects and screaming. The main characters find themselves caught between an apparently unstoppable natural force and a military or authoritarian presence that is potentially just as deadly (it's not clear which is responsible for the climatic scene under the bridge). As such the story is a fitting parable for the modern mindset of the average person in the west at this time in history: little people caught between corporate hunger, rising and falling political empires, wars they don't understand, apparently uncatchable enemies who wage war in urban areas and of course the environmental holocaust Hollywood has worked so hard to prophecy. The end result reminded me of the sense of powerless desperation that came from watching 'An Inconvenient Truth' for the first time.
On a technical level every thing looks spot on and the sound mix is one of the best I have ever experienced on domestic speakers, making this the perfect film to show off your new home cinema system.
Unfortunately the special features for this 2 disc edition aren't that special. The deleted scenes and alternate endings run to about 5 minutes tops and really disappoint. The making of features are typical: the cast come over as like-able but most of the time is spent on extremely dull digital effects people. There are only so many ways of saying "We did it with computers. It was complicated.". There's certainly nothing extra here that makes it worth buying this over the single disc edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MONSTROUS., 8 Jun 2008
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Having waited for this movie to be released on dvd, i am pleased to say how impressive Cloverfield actually is.A genuinely original monster movie [ if somewhat disturbing, bearing in mind its obvious use of the terrible events of 9 / 11 as a not so subtle reference point ].It is a tense, intellegent and deliberately downbeat film that cleverly disguises its big budget effects through nifty single shot,or out of alignment camera work.This gives Cloverfield the real sense of putting the viewer right into the thick of the action,in a way that few recent movies have matched.

With some brilliantly tense set pieces [and the occasional flaw],Cloverfield is terrific entertainment,and one of the few movies in recent years to justify its build up.

EXTRAS,

The extras on the second disc are adequate, but an opportunity was missed to fully expand on the Cloverfield phenomenon.Where for example are the excellent "news" stories that previewed the film? These would have been most welcome and genuinely in keeping with the story, as would a documentary outlining the whole internet buzz surrounding the film.

What you do get are 5 minutes of deleted scenes[ of minimal consequence ], 2 alternative endings [ ditto],a "making of" documentary which oddly enough erodes some of the mystique surrounding the film.
By far the most interesting are the "in film" mini documentaries that are accessable via icons as the film progresses.However be warned they will unintentionally upset the flow of the movie if you decide to watch them as part of your viewing experience ["news" footage or other stuff relating to the plot may have been more useful in keeping with the spirit of the film].After all if we are expected to suspend our belief for 70 odd minutes, maybe the film makers should have encouraged the viewer to fully immerse themselves in the unfolding events of Cloverfield.It may also have been to the films advantage to remain somewhat coy about the actual monster, as the partial shots of its tail,and distance shots are just so effective in maintaining the general air of menace,but these are merely points rather than criticisms, as the finished movie still does a fine job of opening the door for a genuine resurgence in well made monster flicks.

Overall though Cloverfield is a fantastic and slightly disturbing major film, served by nothing more than adequate extras. Expect an "ultimate edition " in the not too distant future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a monster movie, pure and simple., 6 Aug 2008
By 
Edward Mills (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many reviewers didn't love Cloverfield due to a lack of substance in the characters and others questioning why the guy didn't just drop the camera to begin with considering the situation. However, I can't help but feel when considering what sort of film we're witnessing, where is the harm in suspending one's belief system and allowing ourselves to believe and be absorbed? The hectic camera and the incredible special effects come together so well, I find it hard to believe that anyone could claim that Cloverfield, at the very least, isn't a ground breaking movie that pulls out all the stops. Cloverfield was never meant to be anything but a straight up monster film, and that's exactly what it is. Incredible from start to finish, and even better when watched in high definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blair Witch meets Godzilla on steroids..., 13 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. A. J. Quaeck "hagakure59" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
There have been stories surrounding this since it's release onto the big screen several months ago. Viewers fleeing the cinema feeling ill with headaches and nausea due to the bumpy/messy style of filming in this wicked flick.

True or not, I DON'T GET IT. Ok, it's a bit like being on a boat in a couple of scenes and it's very amatuerish in others... But people... IT'S SUPPOSSSSSEEEEDDDDD TO BEEEEEEEEE!!! Plus it adds to the charm in my opinion.

Fantastic performances all round. And a big round of applause for the director... Think jaws.. How much of the shark do you actually get to see... and how afraid were you the first time you watched it?

Buy THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars strongly recommend for some, but not for all.., 7 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
At last.. a film reflecting mankind's knowledge about extraterrestrial life in the universe (nil, so far). This film is a new and serious benchmark in this genre, raising many questions about ourselves (the human race) as a species, whilst portraying a disturbingly realistic interpretation of potential life that may or may not exist in this vast and unknown universe. Whilst new planets orbiting distant stars are being discovered on an almost daily basis it seems impossible to conceive what form of life (or intelligent life) may exist 'out there', Cloverfield brilliantly represents what may be just a normal day in the life of a particular (and successful) species.
Whilst the filming style is challenging to the viewer (almost nauseating at times) the underlying message given (almost immediately) could turn out to be an extremely important one for mankind, and one that may indeed shape our future. Overall the film very cleverly underlines our entire lack of knowledge regarding life in the universe (our orion arm of the milky way at the very least, consisting of an estimated 1.5 billion stars - a mere quarter of our own galaxy) and brazenly deviates from the traditionally human-sized lifeforms (such as alien, predator, war of the worlds etc). The subject is an entirely open book. Regarding future generations in particular this may turn out to be one of the most important films within the sci-fi genre made so far.. utterly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


244 of 298 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marmite, 9 April 2008
By 
P. R. Hughes "peterhys" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloverfield [DVD] (DVD)
My two cents. I feel quite protective of this movie. Rant alert!

There are a lot of people who didn't like this film because they got sick from the handicam work. I can understand this - I'd be a bit cross if I paid for my ticket and then watched a jerky movie that made me feel sick. Fair enough. I was lucky, I didn't feel sick.

However, there are also a lot of people who are rubbishing this film for a lack of character development or plot subtlety. I find this baffling. Er... guess what? This isn't a Merchant Ivory film. It's a monster movie. The poster with the decapitated Statue of Liberty covered in claw marks was a bit of a clue. I don't recall any criticism of "Four Weddings and a Funeral" based on its lack of rampaging monsters, now why was that? Ah yes, it was because "Four Weddings" was a romcom, not a visceral monster movie. There aren't any finely detailed and lovingly developed character relationships in Cloverfield because about 50% of the screentime the characters are screaming, or running, and the other 50% they are screaming AND running. I also object to the people saying "they're just whiney New Yorkers, I wanted to see them die". What??? What a lovely perspective! They're not that "whiney" - in fact they're pretty damn brave (I think I'd probably have a bit of a moan if a monster was inconsiderate enought to destroy London when I was in the middle of it and kill all my friends) and I loved the conceit of the cutting between the live "Cloverfield" footage and the historical footage on the camera of the couple on their one perfect day out together - it certainly tugged at my heartstrings, and offered a great contrast with the carnage in the present.

Then there are people who are just saying that this film is "bad". That makes me a bit cross. There are plenty of "bad" movies - try "Norbert" for example. That is a "bad" movie - cynical, poorly written, racist, poorly performed by has-been "stars" turning up for the paycheck, a McMovie aimed at the thickest, easiest-pleased lowest common denominator. "Cloverfield" is about as far from that sort of filmmaking as it is possible to get. For a mainstream movie, this is experimental film making - it's brave, it's unusual, it was launched at an unusual time for movies, it was marketed unusually and intelligently, it's an extremely carefully-constructed movie, a real labour of love (look out for the falling satellite in the very final shot!). It's short - really bucking the trend. It's obviously a much more important film than the inevitable indistinguishable three hour oh-so-worthy Oscar nomination vehicles with the same old stars going through the same old motions.

I'm happy to pin my colours to the mast: I'd rate Cloverfield as borderline genius and an important piece of filmmaking in that it pushes (arguably creating, certainly extending) a novel kind of genre. A zeitgeisty, "reality through the moviecam/mobile phone camera" style that captures the kind of images that really make the news nowadays. There will be many more movies like this, and so there should be.

I and my wife came out of this movie shaking. She - a lover of all things romcom and girly trash movies - announced after a minute or so of stunned silence that it was the best film she'd ever seen.

I don't know about that. But I can say this: Cloverfield is the second-best EXPERIENCE that I've ever had at the movies. And the best was Star Wars, when I was five. So my standards were a little simpler then.

Until we have virtuality, smellyvision and all the other interactive stuff that the future no doubt holds, this is the nearest we'll get to being right in the middle of a good old "monster crushes city" experience. It's exactly like being caught with a crowd of random strangers who are trapped and stunned right in the eye of the storm. Who cares if they're idiots? Who cares if they are in shock and do irrational things? It's totally irrelevant. What's relevant is that there's a gigantic monster somewhere out of camera shot that could come into camera shot at any second, and it wants to kill you.

The little creatures are straight rip-offs of the Starship Troopers bugs. This doesn't matter, because they're still really bloody scarey. The "result of the bite" sequence is unexpected, sudden, brutal and shocking. Wonderful, as punchy as the Godfather of such moments, the John Hurt Alien chestbursting moment. The Cloverfield monster itself is absolutely the best Godzilla style megamonster I've ever seen in a movie. Really, really, really grotesque and frightening.

It's a movie about a 500 foot high indestructible monster rampaging through Manhattan. It's clearly silly. But it achieves movie nirvana - it totally suspends disbelief. It feels real. It's traumatic. It's horrifying.

Absolutely freaking fantastic film and anyone who rubbishes it otherwise than because of subjective problems with motion sickness has a very strange notion of what is, or isn't, good cinema. That or they went in hoping for Hugh Grant to pop up and give someone a nice romantic kiss in the rain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better "found footage" movies, 15 July 2013
By 
R. Szikra (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloverfield [DVD] (DVD)
There has been a stream of "found footage" movies since the release of Blair Witch Project. Some good. Some awful. I'm inclined to put this movie on the good list. I know this movie has given people nausea and dizziness (my mother being one of them people), but I was fine with it. Actually I really enjoy this movie. It's full of action and some of the shots work well within the hand held camera filming (the head of the Statue of Liberty flying over New York as an example). This made me feel like I was really there and sucked me into the movie. If you can handle shaky camera movies, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i actually liked it..., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloverfield [DVD] (DVD)
when i watched the trailler on telly, i got excited about it. and when i watched the movie, i didn't feel disappointed. some movies promise a lot and fail to deliver, but this gripping story kept me interested till the very last minute. but, then again, i tend to like these monster movies so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A monster movie seen through the eyes of the people who scream and get stomped on, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Having scrupulously avoided Cloverfield for its veritable shopping list of things I hate about many modern movies - not least the obsession with shooting on shakeycam digital where you can't tell what's going on - I was surprised to discover it's actually a surprisingly effective update on the classic kaiju movie that really works as an audience picture. Its real innovation isn't that it's masquerading as a home video record of an unknown giant monster's devastating attack on New York: the `found footage' genre was old long before The Blair Witch Project came along. Rather, it's that instead of going for the big picture like the classic Godzilla movies, this concentrates on the people previous monster movies simply used as background, the ordinary people running for their lives who are usually just there to scream and get stomped on. There's plenty of that along the way, and surprisingly effectively handled, but there's also a real sense of chaos and confusion. Nobody knows what's going on, the creature only briefly glimpsed until the end, its origins unexplained and ultimately unimportant as simply surviving takes precedence for the ever-thinning group of partygoers caught up in the surprisingly spectacular devastation. Characterisation is minimal, as you might expect with its faux reality approach, but what it does have is a genuine sense of immediacy and a palpable sense of fear and desperation as the everyday suddenly gets mightily torn apart. It's surprisingly short, but incredibly effective - perhaps more so on the small screen than the big one - and transcends what could have simply been a marketing gimmick to become a genuinely iconic monster movie for the 21st century.

The extras package on the two-disc DVD is a lot slimmer and more perfunctory than it apprears at first sight (it doesn't even include the infamous trailer that sparked the film's 'mystery' marketing campaign), so there's little reason to opt for it over the single disc unless the price is favourable. The extras have all been carried over to the Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Came From Outer Space, 28 Sep 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloverfield [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very artfully constructed film about the usual crowd of young hedonists who are typically slaughtered by serial killers; in this case they are dropped into New York City under attack from Something Big covered in nasty little bugs (the size of big dogs). To keep the chaos going the film is shot on a hand-held by one of the characters. It is a tribute to the pace that this conceit only annoys one two or three times in the film. Excellent driving pace once it kicks off, lots of hints and things going on in the background, and a monster seldom seen but always hinted at. A superior and enjoyable piece of hokum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
Cloverfield (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] by Matt Reeves (DVD - 2008)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews