Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little unit
Mainly reviewing this to redress the balance. There are so many inaccurate negative reviews!

This is an ADSL2+ Modem. It DOES contain a router, but it can (and usually should) be turned off. Most unsuccessful attempts to bridge this unit to a separate router stem from a misunderstanding about how this works.

I use it with an Airport Extreme 5th...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Stephen Guy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Problems with this modem
I bought this modem for the be unlimited static IP UK DSL internet. I found the modem was very difficult to configure. Be unlimited was not in the providers dropdown list in the modem configuration screen. When I finally got it working with some info provided from be unlimited it only worked for 1 or 2 days at a time before malfunctioning and losing the configuration. I...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by dmbristol


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little unit, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Guy "stevekguy" (High Wycombe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
Mainly reviewing this to redress the balance. There are so many inaccurate negative reviews!

This is an ADSL2+ Modem. It DOES contain a router, but it can (and usually should) be turned off. Most unsuccessful attempts to bridge this unit to a separate router stem from a misunderstanding about how this works.

I use it with an Airport Extreme 5th Generation and it works perfectly.

Proceed as follows:

Connect laptop to DSL-320B with supplied ethernet cable. Access web interface of DSL-320B and follow the wizard to input settings for your ISP. Confirm that you can now access internet. Now change operating mode to Bridging. There are two types, most UK ISPs use VC-MUX, but check with yours. Next step is very important! Go to LAN settings and DISABLE the inbuilt DHCP server. When you do this, you will lose connection with the DSL-320B. This is expected! Now, connect the ethernet cable to the WAN point on your router. On an Apple router, this is the port with the circular symbol next to it. On the Airport Utility, select PPPoE mode and input your ISP username and password. Airport light goes green - bingo!

Note that when using as a bridge you can no longer access the inbuilt configuration utility - but if you've set it up correctly you won't need to. Should you need to start again (perhaps because you changed ISP) you can factory reset by holding in reset button for 20 seconds. This will also switch the inbuilt DHCP server back on so that you can easily configure it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb modem, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
I do not normally post but I cannot believe the low rating on this product, nor some of the incorrect comments made by some of the posters, who I believe do not really understand what they need to do to get up and running. I saw the low rating before purchasing but I had also seen that PCPro had used this modem when testing the E4200 router, which I also bought. If it is good enough for them then it is good enough for me!

To the poster who had troubles connecting to a E4200 and was advised that the D-link was a router - I suggest you change your advisors who clearly have no idea.
This is a modem, not a router nor a combined modem/router which you normally get from your ISP. It does PPoA to PPoE conversion

It is great!
It comes with everything you need, including 2 filters
It took 10 mins to setup and has run non stop for 4 days and runs at lukewarm temp.

All you need to do is to run the software setup that comes on the CD and then if you are using a router, go in over the web to 192.168.1.1 and change the connectivity mode to Bridged -VC-mux(or LLC) and then connect the router to the modem. On the E4200 router set the connectivity to PPoE.

My ISP is BT and the modem is attached to my E4200 router and then on to various laptops, my home cinema system, PS3 over an Ethernet connection, a Pure internet radio and some iTouches and Android phones - all of which are working nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ADSL Modem, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
An excellent modem, works with PPPoA perfectly fine contrary to previous reviews.
A little tricky to set up with Linux (from CLI) but a breeze when setup with Windows with the guide. Just follow the guide and make sure that you set your network card on you computer to DHCP unless you have static IP address from the ISP.

For the record it is not the modem pictured but the specification stated are correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-Link DSL-320B (+ DIR655 on O2), 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
Spurred on by the poor rating of this product, I thought I'd add comment on my experience.

Having opted to put in a gigabit network, and consequently not use the O2 Supplied modem/router, I used the dlink combination DSL-320B & DIR 655 for improved security and network speed. Expecting the inevitable difficulty of using non-standard equipment on an Apple based network, I did find that the detailed knowledge within O2 was limited to a few of the more tech savvy individuals willing to go off-script. Having said all that, having transposed the connection settings from the O2 modem, the dlink was up and running in less than 30min. This runs an extensive wired gigabit network with connections in every room - TV, DVD etc and extended wireless via Apple Airport Express.

3 years on and the modem/router have performed brilliantly and continues to do so.

Update following O2 broadband upgrade for 'local exchange resilience'

Opted to test the new upgraded setup with the O2 box to ensure connectivity - Thompson DSL modem / router proved to have out of date firmware and not able to connect, so new modem sent by O2 and it connected without any problems. The Dlink was another matter, this time I was unable to find help from O2 so tried various settings and having read that putting another modem onto their system took up to 4 hours to connect I set about finding the correct config - again O2 less than helpful as it was not standard, consequently not supported and the training seems not to extend to understanding what each setting is or does.

In the end, having opted for a bridge configuration as O2 supply even static IP addresses via the dynamic IP setting. Having tried this I needed a user & password which O2 could not supply, all that was left was Bridge Mode, to set was connection type - 1483 bridged IP LLC, and VPI - 0, VCI - 102 (Static IP), with the O2 network doing the work, I also forced the DNS server setting in an attempt to speed the process. I connected and left it. It took 2 hours but the connection is made and stable. I'll probably go back and allow the network to set the DNS at a later date.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works without a hitch in linux, 28 Mar 2010
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
Bought this to go with a very reliable D-link wireless router that I have used for some time.
Opened the package, plugged it all in and turned it on. Opened my web browser, typed in the local network address (https://196.168.1.1, usually same for all network modems), signed in using username admin and password admin. Started the setup wizard on the first page, changed the password and added the details from my ISP and was online in 15 minutes from opening the package.

My connection is a non-LLU at about 7.5 MBits so I couldn't test it full speed but I've used for a little while now and experienced no reliability problems at all, unlike a linksys modem I had tried before (wouldn't even reboot without Windows holding it's hand).

And most importantly it's Operating System neutral (no drivers required) as long as you have a web browser you can set it up, Firefox and Konqueror both work, though Epiphany doesn't (at least from the Ubuntu repositories anyway)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward ADSL Ethernet Modem, 14 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
Easy to set up - only took a few minutes. Using it with a Belkin N+ Wireless Cable/DSL Internet Gateway Router. Trouble free so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
good value and easy to set up, can't fault it, works with any network in (if the menu is correct) in europe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
It does what it sayes on the label and contiues to do it, also it was easy to set-up. Yes I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars D-link Router, 21 Nov 2013
By 
M. littler "mike62099" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
Despite being described as a Modem, this is plainly a router, with lots of nice routing features (that you wont be wanting if you wanted a modem). Fortunately it can be made to work as a modem, in bridge mode (ppp over ATM WAN side and ppp over Ethernet Lan side). The stored configuration template for Demon worked without a problem, and saved looking up the settings. No complaints apart from it being advertised as a modem not a router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem - UK (Electronics)
I bought this because I wanted to measure an ethernet modem download speed to compare with my existing router download speed. I wanted to prove to Talktalk that a recent reduction of 1Mb in speed was due to the line rather than to my router or PC.
The instructions are simple but when they say 'be sure your internet connection is active' what they really mean is 'make sure your telephone line is provided with a broadband service'.
The installation Wizard contains a list of broadband providers which includes Talktalk and Tiscali. I was with Tiscali before Talktalk took it over so was unsure which to choose. I chose Tiscali and the DNS numbers which resulted are in the same range as those for my existing router set-up but maybe choosing Talktalk would have worked as well.
I did not get an internet connection straight away. I got a standard message after installation along the lines of ' you may need to change your ip address' - but did not know what that meant. After trawling Google for a couple of hours looking for product reviews and installation comments I eventually found some advice that worked. I did Start - Run -cmd - enter - ipconfig/release- enter. This removed the ip address. I then replaced it with .......-ipconfig/renew - enter.
That gave me an internet connection ( although it took a couple of attempts) and the modem works fine (and at the same speed as the router).
My message would be 'If it doesn't work first time, don't throw it away or send it back but have a go at changing the ip address.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews