Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ULTIMATE EDITION- DISC 1 - ONLY THE MOVIE
Be aware if you decide to order this item from this page, some sellers just sell the disc-1 of the complete set. This product is an official release under the label "Ultimate edition, disc-1, "The movie" that only includes the film (176') and no extras at all. No cardboard box, 4 collectible postcards or 24 pages booklet included. It just comes in a standard pvc case...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Alexander1746

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even the optimist in me...
...struggles to put up a valid argument for this movie.

OK! Lets not beat around the bush, it's historically suspicious, badly written, badly cast and clearly an hour too long. A splendid "support cast" are wasted as Michael Bay and his production team think they can produce some sort of Titanic of the Skies like epic and fail in their objective. By the time of...
Published 13 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even the optimist in me..., 23 Jun 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [DVD] (DVD)
...struggles to put up a valid argument for this movie.

OK! Lets not beat around the bush, it's historically suspicious, badly written, badly cast and clearly an hour too long. A splendid "support cast" are wasted as Michael Bay and his production team think they can produce some sort of Titanic of the Skies like epic and fail in their objective. By the time of the brilliantly constructed assault by the Japanese on Pearl Harbor, and "it is" exhilarating and edge of the seat heart pounding, you are left with the feeling that all the main characters in the piece are not really worth our emotional investment.

It's not an outright stinker, situations such as the nurses trying to cope in the hospital during the attack are poignant, and there's a jingoistic - cum - romantic fervour that screams out that the film wants to be genuine in making you feel...well...emotionally battered. However, given the budget and time you are asked to invest in the story, it's impossible not to feel cheated as the clock ticks past the three hour mark.

Perhaps it's unfair to use Titanic as a template for this type of epic? Especially since over the course of time many have come out of the woodwork to knock Titanic when previously there were nods in appreciation...although grudgingly. But Pearl Harbor doesn't have enough about it to make it a "time waster" recommendation. This even allowing for some quality Bayhem action as the film rolls into its third quarter. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd rate Pearl Harbor, 30 April 2006
In 1970 the world was educated about the raid on Pearl Harbor when they saw the American/Japanese co-production 'Tora! Tora! Tora!'. In 2001, producer Jerry Bruckheimer went down the same road. Unfortunately his effort was sub-par when compared to the earlier film.

Now, I tend to treat this film too harshly sometimes, but the flaws are still there. Being a connoiseur of the War Film genre, I believe this to be a fairly poor war movie. The love story is too contrived, and comes across as Hollywood, not real life. Dark Blue World (2001) has a similar love story but it was made far more sincere.

Secondly the war action is too computer generated. I love to see real aircraft participating in realistic re-enactments of aerial combat. Here, there is an over abundance of CGI, and the CGI is used in a way that puts me off. In my opinion, CGI's place in war films is too add to the realism. Here, the CGI has the opposite effect in most cases. It just looks fake. And if CGI models are used, it is much more effective if the shots created appear as though they are the type of shots that would have been obatined if they hade done it for real. This idea of putting the (virtual) camera is places it could never be in real life simply tells me that what I am seeing is fake. That is very distracting when I'm watching the film.

The acting is all right. I have no problem with the actors, but I certainly would never rank them amongst the greats of cinema history. That used to be one of the great pleasures of watching war movies - they had the best actors in the industry. Check out films like Battle of Britain and A Bridge Too Far. They had amazing casts with the greatest acting talents of all time.

So what is my overall opinion???

I believe this to be a reasonable picture, but I would much rather watch Tora! Tora! Tora! . This is one for the masses, while Tora! Tora! Tora! is a film for war buffs and historians. Take your pick, but I reccomend the 1970 effort, because you will find out what really happened at Pearl Harbor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ULTIMATE EDITION- DISC 1 - ONLY THE MOVIE, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be aware if you decide to order this item from this page, some sellers just sell the disc-1 of the complete set. This product is an official release under the label "Ultimate edition, disc-1, "The movie" that only includes the film (176') and no extras at all. No cardboard box, 4 collectible postcards or 24 pages booklet included. It just comes in a standard pvc case. English languague and subtitles only. Really dissapointed if you expected to get the full set of three discs with a plethora of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst 'blockbuster' ever?, 12 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst talking with a few new friends recently the topic came up of worst film ever. After expressing my opinion (Pearl Harbor) the majority where shocked..as was I by their reaction! How can anybody think this film is any remotely good? Terrible dialogue, pathetic love story and even worse 'acting'. And, it..is..sooo.looong. snooze. goodnight.

wow i somehow clicked on 2 stars insted of 1 and i cant change it? I wanna give it 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
great price and arrived in good time i am well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, worth the watch, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [DVD] (DVD)
Great film! Don't judge it against facts as it's only loosely based, judge it on being an intense, great effects, romance, tear jerking film. It is long, but to edit any of the chapters out would have made the film disjointed. I normally don't watch films longer than 2 hrs, haven't seen countless blockbusters because of the film length, but this one had me gripped from the onset!

Again, don't judge it against real events, had the film title been anything else, I don't think many of the negatives would have been written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [DVD] (DVD)
Good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bought for missus, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bought for my missus. chick flick but decent price I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [DVD] (DVD)
Good quality film well happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pearl Harbor (2 Disc Steelbook Collector's Edition) [DVD]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews