Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirty-Seven?
Made in 1994 for $27,000 on Kevin Smith's credit cards, shot almost entirely at night in the store where he was working, oddball friends roped in for every job on both sides of the camera, and possibly the funniest script ever written specifically for 18-25s makes Clerks one of the greatest achievements in indie filmmaking.
We see a day in the life of downtrodden...
Published on 30 Jun 2005

versus
7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, avoid the hype
I have watched this film twice with a few years space between the viewings. It's not as good as people say it is. While there are funny bits a) the main character is annoying b) it has a self-reverence which is too much for me.
If you are into slang talk and you love America, then you most likely enjoy this.
The same director did a much better later film with...
Published on 11 Dec 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirty-Seven?, 30 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Made in 1994 for $27,000 on Kevin Smith's credit cards, shot almost entirely at night in the store where he was working, oddball friends roped in for every job on both sides of the camera, and possibly the funniest script ever written specifically for 18-25s makes Clerks one of the greatest achievements in indie filmmaking.
We see a day in the life of downtrodden slacker Dante (Brian O'Halloran) who gets called into work in his convenience store in Anywheresville, New Jersey at dawn on his day off. What follows is the weirdest day in the history of low-end retail. No spoilers, but Dante is harassed both physically and mentally by his boss, his boss's wife, customers, friends, colleagues, sales reps, corpses, lovers, ex-lovers, ex-lovers of his ex-lovers and the two local drug dealers. He lurches back and forth between earth-shattering revelations and bizarre crises until someone from the past turns up and he makes his worst decision yet. The earlier events of the day are as nothing compared to what fate has in "store"..
Many of the sublime setups revolve around his best friend Randall (a seminal performance by Jeff Anderson) a video store operative who makes Dante look like a Lexus Dealer, and who is the source of Dante's chagrin on more than one occasion. The film also introduces Jay and Silent Bob (Jason Mewes, Smith's muse, and Smith himself) as the local substance wholesalers with wisdom beyond compare when Jay is not abusing the local community.
The script has just as many quotable lines as Withnail and I - grotesque, cringeworthy, profane in the extreme and very, very funny. Kevin Smith would never reach the same heights again, getting closest with Dogma, although all his films are watchable. Clerks does not appear on TV very often in the UK, and has not been available on R2 DVD before, so if you've only seen his more common recent work this film will put it those films in context. See how Jay and Silent Bob started out, and see all the characters that are referenced in "Mallrats", "Chasing Amy", "Dogma", and "Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back".
Just remember - NEVER walk into your local video shop and try and rent 'Happy Scrappy Hero Pup'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEVIN SMITH'S OUTRAGEOUS DIRECTORIAL DEBUT, 19 Feb 2007
I bought this in a box set with two other films - JAY & SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK & CHASING AMY. I had heard great things about this film and when I finally watched it last night I was not let down - I thought it was really funny and to be honest not a lot of things happen so the comedy is in their conversations to each other and how they interact with customers. All the story is about is a day in the lives of Dante & Randle, Dante works in a corner shop and Randle works in a video rental store next to him.

Randle comes in to talk to Dante and basically spends all day there. While there they engage in stupid conversations about the Death Star in Star Wars or stupid questions customers ask in their stores. Jay & Silent Bob are in this too - as two youths that hang out outside the shop doing nothing (and thats all the way through the film) One of the funniest scenes in it was when Randle was ordering loads of porn videos infront of a customer.

The DVD its self is brilliant what you have is 3 DVDS - Disc 1 is the theatrical version with a cleaned up picture and clearer sound, Disc 2 is The Extended Cut with about 20 mins extra at the end of the film and thats it so your not really missing much, Disc 3 is jam packed with special features and there is too many to mention.

Last night was the first time I had seen the film and to be honest was the first film I had watched that was directed by Kevin Smith. So all I can say is buy yourself a copy and have a good laugh at it and yes it is black & white but don't let that put you off, I can't wait to see CLERKS II because if this is anything to go by then I'm in for a right laugh.

Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im Not Supposed To Be Here Today!, 28 Jun 2002
By 
Mike Coop (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
This film is one of the best i have ever seen, writer/director kevin smith's first film is very funny and very rude but you must still buy this.it introduces the best double act in modern film Jay(Jason Mewes) and his hetro life mate Silent Bob(Smith) it also has the wonderfully funny Randal as the main charecter Dante's best friend.Smith wrote the script so that randal had the funniest lines because he was going to play him but he decided not to because directing and producing was hard enough.
This is in black and white which may actually put some people off it but if you do watch it you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clerks 15th Anniversary Special Edition (Blu Ray), 16 July 2011
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have any interest in this movie, you've probably already seen it. I happen to be a Kevin Smith fan, therefore I love it, if you don't like Smith, move along now, nothing to see here. The idea of a film this cheaply made on blu-ray is somewhat laughable I will be the first to admit, but if you're upgrading your collection, why the hell not! There are lots of great extras on the disc, including an alternative cut, documentaries and a Q&A session, this is all the same as the 10th anniversary DVD set Clerks X, but you do also get "Oh What a Lovely Tea Party", a feature length documentary about the making of Jay and Silent Bob Strike back. I had heard this was on the US release but for some reason it is not listed in the extras on the UK box, however if you were considering purchasing this blu-ray for Tea Party, it IS on there, and it is worth a watch if you're a fan. Overall a worthwhile edition to your Blu-ray collection if you love the movie. If you have no interest in Tea Party though, you may as well stick with the clerks x box set, because there's nothing else new, and the visuals are not improved any!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars List of Special Features for Clerks Blu-Ray, 2 Jun 2013
By 
J. LI (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
* Theatrical Version (Classic Commentary Circa '95 - Featuring Kevin, Mos, Mewes, Brian and others / Enhanced Playback track, Synchronized trivia and cast/crew quotes)
* The First Cut Version (Commentary with Kevin, Brian, Jeff, Mos and Mews - 3 Viewing Modes / 2004 Kevin Smith Intro)
* Clerks: The Lost Scene: Animated Short
* The Flying Car
* MTV Spots with Jay & Silent Bob
* Theatrical Trailer
* Soul Asylum "Can't Even Tell" Music Video
* Clerks Restoration
* Original Clerks Auditions
* "Mae Day: The Crumbling of a Documentary" with Intro by Kevin Smith and Scott Mosier
* Outtakes from Snowball Effect
* 10th Anniversary Q&A

Languages (Main Feature): English (DTS 5.1 - HD), Spanish (DTS 5.1), French (2.0)
Subtitles (Main Feature): English, French, German, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Dutch
Run time: 92 mins approx
Region: A/B/C
Video: 1.85:1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed - erratric writing and acting - but brilliant, 28 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clerks [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
What to say? A debut film stuffed with paradoxes. Jeff Anderson's acting starts off terrible, but then his Randal character gets shown off in some of the best scenes (the telephone order at the video shop, the "my cousin Walter" story in the car) ... Marilyn Ghigliotti (Veronica) is a great actress but suffers through no fault of her own from an over-sympathetic treatment from the script ... The dialogue gets horribly overwritten in places, but then there's the brilliant, lightning-quick-wit scenes: the cigarette incident, Olaf the Berzerker, the "Gatorade argument" before the hockey game ... Don't get me wrong, I really like this film - it's got "early 90's grunge" written all over it, and there are a few real bittersweet moments hidden amongst all that gloriously outrageous filth - but don't be surprised if you find yourself wanting to fast-forward through some of the flatter scenes on the third or fourth viewing. Still, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life in a convenient store during the course of 1 day.., 22 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clerks [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
Customers come and go, are insulted, abused and served. An incredible high number of weirdos seem to pass through the shops doors all of whom try the patience of Dante (our lead character) the man behind the counter. Dante's best friend Randall works next door at the local video shop, and regularly pops by to impart his observations on life. Written and directed by 23-year-old Kevin Smith, the film was made on a shoestring budget in grainy black and white. A superb first film for Kevin, shame that some of his mates weren't better at acting. (aaoow).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, 23 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Clerks [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
Having seen 'Mallrats'(1995) a long time ago and recently watched and enjoyed 'Dogma'(1999), a friend informed me of 'Clerks' as being the original. It's incredibly entertaining and if you've ever liked any of Kevin Smith's movies you'll love it. In my case it has spured me on to watch all of his other films again and I look forward to the upcoming 'Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back'. Not exactly family material but hugely enjoyable and a worthwhile purchase.
Ed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snootchie Bootchies, 30 Jun 2007
Nothing stands more importantly than a debut of a famous star, it represents the core element of the person before they come well known. Hence Oasis, Hence Quention Tarantino, Hence The Sex Pistols, their debuts are justified.

Another justified debut is the low budget flick Clerks by Kevin Smith. Based on personal events in Smith's life, Clerks is about life through the eyes of two convenience store workers. To anybody this would sound like a dull film and with the black and white colour it adds to the suspiscions but for anyone who knows Smith's work knows how great a writer he is.

So instead what you get is a story about two guys with no ambition in life, trying to deal with all the prejudices and situations, in different ways whether it be standing back and letting it go over your head or being confrontational. This is exactly what you get with Dante (Brian O'Halloran) and Randal (Jeff Anderson), a real sense of reality.

Although the majority of it is vulgar and offensive, it makes you stop think that reality is no different and Smith captures that within 90 minutes. So if you happen to stumble onto this film, this edition is the best thing you could ever buy. Included is the first cut of the film, grainy and lacking in sound quality, but is good as a historical piece, then there's the Snowball Effect documentary, talking about how Clerks came to be.

Add that along with some Jay and Silent Bob MTV snippets, an animated Clerks cartoon of the lost scene, trailers, commentaries and a flying car short film, this is a bumper pack.

Buy it now, it'll forever change your perception of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dun dun dun dun.........salsa shark!, 12 Sep 2005
the subtle sick humour of this film will really appeal to you if you like watching a day in the life of the dregs of american society selling packets of cigerettes to four year olds and pushing over caskets at funerals.No really,its good.luckily the dubious jay and silent bob duo dont feature hugely in this film despite the fact that one of them wrote and directed it...the main charecter of the film being the annoying pushover,Dante,and his wisecracking co worker,Randal. The latter providing the comic relief when the boring Dante becomes too much to bear...
This film could be described as overrated,but i disagree,its not very often that a super low budget (kevin smith sold his car to make it) film is released and grasps the sick sad comical reality of working in video store/supermarket,where old men ask for softer toiletpaper because their haemorroids are acting up...but i wont reveal all..and guidence councellors look for 'the perfect dozen'..filled with plenty of sexual innuendos....37!....you probably wont see a film quite like it for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clerks (3 Disc Steelbook Collector's Edition) [DVD]
Used & New from: 2.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews