Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced fun for Indiana Jones / Lara Croft / Da Vinci fans
National Treasure 2 is an unusual sequel in that it out-performs the first film. It follows the same format of a globe-trotting treasure hunt with Nic Cage as the slightly daffy professor on the track of an historic mystery. However, NT2 positively gallops along from one clue to the next, dashing from the USA to Paris to London and back again -- just in time to burgle the...
Published on 31 Mar 2008 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great.
I didn't think that this was anywhere near as good as the first one. The best I can say is that it's watchable, but the story is quite silly, to say the least. A disappointing sequel.
Published on 28 Aug 2008 by Ally


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced fun for Indiana Jones / Lara Croft / Da Vinci fans, 31 Mar 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
National Treasure 2 is an unusual sequel in that it out-performs the first film. It follows the same format of a globe-trotting treasure hunt with Nic Cage as the slightly daffy professor on the track of an historic mystery. However, NT2 positively gallops along from one clue to the next, dashing from the USA to Paris to London and back again -- just in time to burgle the two most well-protected buildings on the planet and then kidnap (!) the President.
NT2 isn't a serious film but it does have a very serious cast and an edge-of-the-seat director. So Cage is well supported by the likes of Harvey Keitel, Jon Voigt and Ed Harris (who plays the bad guy. Well, sort of. You'll see!). NT2 probably takes huge liberties with actual fact and historical events but it is tightly plotted and extremely enjoyable. Bad guys always drive (indestructible) Range Rovers, and James Bond ain't the only man to wear a dinner suit under a wetsuit.

The continuity is spotty in places, and Cage is guilty of mumbling some of what should be snappy one-liners. But we (two reasonably intelligent adults) enjoyed it from beginning to end and it's perfect entertainment for a mixed audience. NT2 isn't as outright silly as the final Lara Croft film, nor is it as pompous and slowly-paced as the Da Vince Code. It's a tense adventure romp, and it's set a pretty high standard for the Indiana Jones comeback...
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid (if a bit daft) romp in the Indiana Jones style, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
National Treasure 2 is an unusual sequel in that it out-performs the first film. It follows the same format of a globe-trotting treasure hunt with Nic Cage as the slightly daffy professor on the track of an historic mystery. However, NT2 positively gallops along from one clue to the next, dashing from the USA to Paris to London and back again -- just in time to burgle the two most well-protected buildings on the planet and then kidnap (!) the President.
NT2 isn't a serious film but it does have a very serious cast and an edge-of-the-seat director. So Cage is well supported by the likes of Harvey Keitel, Jon Voigt and Ed Harris (who plays the bad guy. Well, sort of. You'll see!). NT2 probably takes huge liberties with actual fact and historical events but it is tightly plotted and extremely enjoyable. Bad guys always drive (indestructible) Range Rovers, and James Bond ain't the only man to wear a dinner suit under a wetsuit.

The continuity is spotty in places, and Cage is guilty of mumbling some of what should be snappy one-liners. But we (two reasonably intelligent adults) enjoyed it from beginning to end and it's perfect entertainment for a mixed audience. NT2 isn't as outright silly as the final Lara Croft film, nor is it as pompous and slowly-paced as the Da Vince Code. It's a tense adventure romp, and it's set a pretty high standard for the Indiana Jones comeback...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable escapism, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Sillier than the first which was silly anyway but at the same time hugely enjoyable and exciting..moves along at a breakneck pace like the first one and all the cast are very engaging..especially Diane Kruger who radiates beauty.. ok i like her..it helps the film :-)..
Don't think this one was as successful as the first which is a shame as i would like to have seen more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyous boys own yarn full of the serial silliness of movies past, present and the first movie!, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As with the enormously successful first film, this sequel irritated as many people as it entertained. It's just the nature of the family friendly blockbuster, that some film fans refuse to accept them as viable fun family fare, whilst others can easily run with it and have a great time. The highbrow versus the lowbrow? Well maybe if you want to really be speaky arty about it.

National Treasure: Book of Secrets made over $450 million at the worldwide box offices. Now we are told that financial success is no marker for quality of product, that's fair enough, but what is undeniably true is that it means there were considerably "a lot" of happy paying punters! From way back in the day when we had the likes of Gunga Din, Beau Geste and The Adventures of Robin Hood, there has been a considerable market for the action adventure movie. Some are better than others, some are even more brainy, but mostly they deliver a set pattern of what many people want.

The makers of this sequel just go bigger than the first film whilst following exactly the same formula. Nicolas Cage's treasure hunting Benjamin Franklin Gates has to follow clues to treasure again, only this time it's to clear his family name since his granddaddy has been implicated in the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Justin Bartha and Diane Kruger are again along for the ride, while Jon Voight gets more screen time as Daddy Gates, Helen Mirren joins the fray as the estranged Mommy Gates, Ed Harris slots in for villain duties and Bruce Greenwood adds class as the president of the USA.

The stunts and set-pieces are humongous, the traps and clues more elaborate than before and the photography (Amir Mokri and John Schwartzman) once again is gorgeous. It hurtles along at a nifty pace, stopping only to explain the various plot machinations to younger viewers, and the comic by-play between all the principal players is set in stone. Is it full of implausibilities, insulting history and credulity stretching beyond belief? Yes! Of course, that's why many of us action adventure fans escape into such high energy nonsense. Those expecting cerebral tickles or those offended by basic family blockbusters should quite simply stay away. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great., 28 Aug 2008
By 
Ally (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Treasure 2 - Book Of Secrets [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
I didn't think that this was anywhere near as good as the first one. The best I can say is that it's watchable, but the story is quite silly, to say the least. A disappointing sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frantic fun for Indiana Jones / Lara Croft / Da Vinci fans, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
National Treasure 2 is an unusual sequel in that it out-performs the first film. It follows the same format of a globe-trotting treasure hunt with Nic Cage as the slightly daffy professor on the track of an historic mystery. However, NT2 positively gallops along from one clue to the next, dashing from the USA to Paris to London and back again -- just in time to burgle the two most well-protected buildings on the planet and then kidnap (!) the President.
NT2 isn't a serious film but it does have a very serious cast and an edge-of-the-seat director. So Cage is well supported by the likes of Harvey Keitel, Jon Voigt and Ed Harris (who plays the bad guy. Well, sort of. You'll see!). NT2 probably takes huge liberties with actual fact and historical events but it is tightly plotted and extremely enjoyable. Bad guys always drive (indestructible) Range Rovers, and James Bond ain't the only man to wear a dinner suit under a wetsuit.

The continuity is spotty in places, and Cage is guilty of mumbling some of what should be snappy one-liners. But we (two reasonably intelligent adults) enjoyed it from beginning to end and it's perfect entertainment for a mixed audience. NT2 isn't as outright silly as the final Lara Croft film, nor is it as pompous and slowly-paced as the Da Vince Code. It's a tense adventure romp, and it's set a pretty high standard for the Indiana Jones comeback...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film for the whole family!, 22 May 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I didn't know what to expect when I went to see this at the pictures as I hadn't seen or even heard of the first film. But I'm pleased to say I'd been missing out on the action.
The film had my full attention from start to finish and brought memories back of the Indiana Jones films and the Mummy films.
There are plenty of action sequences taking place across the USA and Europe infront of different landmarks. The car chase is one of the better ones I have seen in a film.
The acting is great to and features the origianal cast members from the first film except this thime with a different bad guy.
There is something for everyone in this film, from action, comedy and serious/thriller moments. Everyone in the family would be able to sit down and watch this.
On recently seeing the first film for the first time I can safely say that this is just as good if not better than it. So it is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, It's a Sequel. But It's Still Fun, 23 May 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Thomas Gates (Joel Gretsch) had a reputation for ciphers. That's why John Wilkes Booth sought him out the night he assassinated President Lincoln. But when Thomas realized he was helping a group that wanted to keep fighting the Civil War, he tour the pages from Booth's diary and tried to burn them.

At least that's the story the Gates family has always believed. Suddenly, Mitch Wilkinson (Ed Harris) has come forward with one of those missing pages. On the page is proof that Thomas Gates was in on the assassination.

It's just not that easy for Ben Gates (Nicolas Cage) and his father Patrick (Jon Voight) to believe. They just know that if they examine the page, they'll find proof that Thomas is innocent of the charges. Enlisting the help of Riley (Justin Bartha) and Abigail (Diane Kruger), they set out to redeem the family name. To do so, they have to find the ancient Indian City of Gold. And they have to enlist the help of Ben's mother Emily (Helen Mirren), who hasn't spoken to Patrick in 32 years. With someone hot on their trail, can they complete their new quest?

Let's the honest, the first movie had plenty of flaws. But it told a fast paced story with lots of humor. This one is pretty much the same. The flaws are a little more pronounced this time, but it is just as funny as the first.

There's still plenty of humor, with the great lines being spread equally amoung the characters, although Riley still gets his share. Unfortunately, several of the best ones from the previews did get cut. The plot, while similar to the first, features new locations and clues that make it feel fresh. And the acting is still good.

Having said all this, the story does have some flaws. First of all, the movie opens with a Civil War setting, and that setting kicks off the story. Now maybe I missed something (it took me two or three viewings to make all the connections in the first one), but why are they using a page from Civil War times to track items which date from the 1870's and 80's?

Additinally, plot points seem to get glossed over. We can make the connections, but an extra few lines of dialog would have been nice. Finally, the villain was too weak for the story, and FBI agent Sadusky really had no point in returning for this film.

While it has some serious flaws, this movie is fun, and that is ultimately what this is all about. So if you are looking for pure escapism, you've come to the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 30 May 2008
By 
Watched this with my 11-year-old daughter. Very hopeful start - initial scene with the boy and his grandfather. Then when it switched to the men and violence in the snow, I was disappointed and thought oh, not a children's film after all. However, once this movie got going, it was terrific - a treasure hunt led from clue to clue, non-stop adventures, laugh-aloud funny in places, didn't seem dated. When I asked my daughter if we'd bother with National Treasure 2 I got a very enthusiastic Yes. She'd watch this one again and, surprisingly,so would I as there was enough happening that I wouldn't mind a repeat, though presumably the suspense would be lost on second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, looking for this for ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Treasure 2 - Book Of Secrets [Blu-ray] [2007]
5.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews