Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid as is, slippery to mod
I bought this stick primarily as a shell to mod for use with a Sega Saturn, but gave it a spin on the PC first to see how it held up. I don't have a PS3, so cannot comment on that aspect.

This worked plug and play with Windows 7 64 bit, although a driver disk is supplied. The buttons are quiet and feel nice, with the shell being perfect. However a point gets...
Published on 2 May 2013 by UnderDefeat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for shoot-em-ups but not much else
I bought this specifically to play fighting games like Marvel vs Capcom on the PS3 but it's too unresponsive to use for fighting games as the buttons aren't very sensitive and have to be pushed down hard. This makes it difficult to execute special moves and such.
However, it is good for shoot-em-up type games which I have plenty of on the PC and it's a decent...
Published on 7 May 2012 by J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid as is, slippery to mod, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
I bought this stick primarily as a shell to mod for use with a Sega Saturn, but gave it a spin on the PC first to see how it held up. I don't have a PS3, so cannot comment on that aspect.

This worked plug and play with Windows 7 64 bit, although a driver disk is supplied. The buttons are quiet and feel nice, with the shell being perfect. However a point gets knocked off for the stick. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the microswitches are loud. It's a little distracting. There's also quite a large dead zone - the stick wobbles around a bit before it contacts a switch. Not exactly perfect if you're after precision dodging in a 2D shooter but workable nonetheless. By default the stick will operate as a hat switch, but hold down a button combination and it switches over to analogue (some games will only pick up the analogue control, so it's handy to have and saves you resorting to a key mapper).

This gets a solid 4 stars if you're using it as supplied. If you're out for something to mod - be warned, this is not the most co-operative of beasts. The ball top of the stick appears to have been glued in place, so you'll need to hacksaw the shaft to remove it. The buttons are also a non-standard size - the larger ones are frustratingly a millimetre or two smaller than a 30 mm Sanwa with the smaller ones about 14 mm. They also operate by contact with a PCB (like a gamepad), so are not as friendly if you want to keep them (a shame, as the smaller ones are otherwise ideal for Start/Select). It all mounts up to some grinding away - you may as well get a Dremel if you don't have one, because in addition to the button holes needing opening up, there's raised plastic around where the stick is held which will need to be cut away and sanded down if you want to put a different stick in there (you guessed it, the existing screw areas don't line up with anything else). The whole thing is at least easy to open up and the two PCBs (one for the 8 large buttons, one for the other buttons, stick and controlling components) are easy to remove - all done with phillips head screws and no glue.

Edit: I have since purchased a second one to use with PS2 - via its native connector to PS2, and to xbox 360 (xtokki) and Wii Gamecube (Mayflash) both via adapter. The comments above regarding the modding process still stand (although a breeze compared to the xbox 360 Hori EX2 which I eventually gave up on!), but I will add that the onboard PCB is fully compatible for PS2 and introduces no noticable input latency. I replaced the buttons with 30 mm Sanwa, the stick with a Seimitsu LS-32, and wired straight onto the main board. I kept the four buttons across the top - these are Start, Select and the other two when held (+plus a joystick direction press) allow you to switch the joystick from analogue to digital and back.

The analogue to digital switch works across adapters as well! This makes it an excellent choice above many stock sticks which just offer digital for the joystick - as some games will only offer one or the other (or, confusingly, one for menus and the other for gameplay!). With most consoles having an adapter that takes PS2 connectors, you can use this one stick for pretty much everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to complain for the price, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
Works well enough for the price. The base is nice and sturdy, but the buttons feel a bit hollow and make unsatisfying imprecise sounds. The stick is good, although has a little more travel than I'd like with a loose dead-zone in the middle. The Shoryuken motion is easy and consistent to pull off, but the Hadouken gesture isn't quite as easy because the stick 'sticks' into the diagonal corners a little too easily. I found double-tap for dash easier and more consistent than I was expecting, and a vast improvement over a gamepad.

The stick worked first time without drivers on Windows 8 with Ultra Street Fighter 4. I haven't tried any of the other platforms it supports, but it's great to know it works with everything so you can take it to friends' houses, local events etc and not worry about what hardware they have.

The unit has decent rubber feet and sits well on a table without moving. It's comfy on my lap too, with a flat base with nothing protruding downwards at all. The screws are all recessed and most of them are hidden under the rubber feet, so it is not designed to be opened. Removing the base reveal a reasonably sturdy construction - a thick steel plate for the base itself, then thick moulded plastic upper with all the components mounted to it. It has a couple of firm pillars beneath where your hands rest to increase the rigidity, and more pillars below each button stabilising the bits you press against the steel base. These work pretty well to give it a stable feel, though the button responses themselves harm that feel overall.

The buttons are not microswitches, but instead are separate pods with contacts that tap through to a circuit board. The board is connected via a wide ribbon cable, and if I were replacing the buttons I think I'd cut the cable itself and solder to the wires inside. The holes for the buttons are 28mm by my measurements.

If you're looking for a first fight-stick, and not sure if it's for you or not, you can't really go wrong here. If you choose to upgrade to something a bit more serious later, you could pass this one on to friends, keep it as a spare, or sell it on to another fledgeling fighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works with MAME, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
This is a great product, i bought the universal fighting stick to play retro arcade games on MAME and it works like a dream. My only slight criticism would be there could be a little extra room to the left of the joystick to rest your left hand when gaming, but to be honest its not a massive problem and you get used to using this arcade stick pretty quickly, and considering the price in comparison to others on the market it's definitely worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fighters stick, if your on a tight budget., 14 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
As the first reviewer, I too found that the stick registered all directional movements flawlessly. I had no problem playing Street Fighter 4 on my PC and was able to pull of special moves with ease.

The overall 'feel' of the product did not feel cheap and the 'directional stick' has good weight and slick/smooth directional movements. If anything, I would have prefered the 'directional stick' to have a little more weight and a reduction in the noise it makes when used. The 'press numbered buttons' could also do with a little more weight to give it a better quality feel. I did not even have to install the included Windows XP driver - as the product worked flawlessly once I plugged in the USB cable into my PC. I also use this stick with my PS3 console and it works perfectly.

This is an excellent fighters stick, if your on a tight budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why Low Reviews? Very Good Stick!!, 21 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
I was not really certain whether or not to get this stick due to the fairly mixed reviews however decided to get it as it was cheap and also my first stick so i did not want to spend too much money.
Im very glad I did as the stick works well!! I use it on the PS3 and it works flawlessly as a controller however it lacks a PS button so you would need to connect a ps3 controller to access the XMB. With Tekken 6 it works very well and will allow you to pull off certain moves that would be virtually impossible with a controller.
Quality wise is pretty good too as its very solid as a unit and also the stick is strong and can withstand vigorous movements.

Flaws- There are a few minor flaws to this Arcade Stick one being the buttons, when pushed it feels like rubber is underneath them. This makes you sometimes unsure whether you have pressed the button, the solution is to push the buttons all the way every time but this can decrease speed at times. Another flaw is that the stick is very noisy and the clicks can be heard through rooms :P This doesnt bother me much though.

Overall great stick for the price and it will make a good first stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great with MAME on Mac, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
This is a nice arcade stick for the price, with responsive buttons and stick. Its footprint is about the size of an A4 sheet of paper and it is around 6cm tall (not including the buttons and stick). There is a fair amount of play in the stick itself, but it doesn't interfere with the games that I play (shoot 'em ups and classic arcade games). I have had no issues with the buttons, which don't require much force and seem durable. The auto-fire feature is easy to set up and works well with most games. The cable is long enough that the controller can be played on your lap as well as on a desk. It is very sturdy, with a metal base and what seems to be a composite material for the upper surface.

The cable is split at the end with USB and PS2 connector.

The controller works perfectly with Mac OS X machine running Yosemite, showing up as a PS3 controller. It works very well with OpenEmu MAME arcade games and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stick, 18 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. C. C. Zammit (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
first stick i've ever pruchased/owned, considering the price i find this stick to be of excellent quality, there is a good amount of space to rest your hands on and it fits nicely on your lap and has rubber grips on the underside if you wish to place it on a table. The buttons at first seemed a bit rigid but after a few hours of breaking them in i find them to be just right, quick and very responsive. The stick itself is a square gate stick, it takes a bit of getting used to if you're used to a round gate from a ps3 controller analog stick for example but once you've been playing for a while you get used to it very quickly.

overall a great stick for the price, it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for shoot-em-ups but not much else, 7 May 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
I bought this specifically to play fighting games like Marvel vs Capcom on the PS3 but it's too unresponsive to use for fighting games as the buttons aren't very sensitive and have to be pushed down hard. This makes it difficult to execute special moves and such.
However, it is good for shoot-em-up type games which I have plenty of on the PC and it's a decent joystick for those types of games but I will have to purchase a different joystick at a later time to use for fighting games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My First Stick, 1 Feb. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
Came quickly, works straight out of the box no issues. Im primarily using it for SSF4 On PS3, the button layout needed changing when I first used it (All the kicks and all the punches were assigned to the leftmost buttons rather than the right) but other than that it was plug and play :) Has a nice weight to it, would have been nice with a slightly longer cable but hey. Buttons and stick are nice and responsive. Brilliant for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, very arcade like feel, works great with mame and other games, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) (Accessory)
At 40 pounds this is a good choice for people looking for a quality arcade stick. I was very happy with the purchase and although the drivers and software are old, I had no problems using it in Win 7 64 bit. Buttons and stick are very responsive and all in all a very good choice for people looking to play arcade games with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB)
Universal Fighting Stick for PC/PS2/PS3 (USB) by divers (PlayStation 3, PlayStation2)
£39.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews