Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Acid House
After Welsh's highly acclaimed novel trainspotting was released it was widely thought that this would be his finest literary work. However The Acid House smacks you right in the face with it's gritty, dangerous and somewhat blurry eyed view of the people we love to loathe. I believe this is on par with welsh's finest and shows a light into the often unseen lives of...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Mr C J Rawlings

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts
I bought this DVD in a second hand shop having read the book and my expectations were high. Having watched it, the same goes as with many other book turned films, it just didn't live up to them.
The comedy value here is probably what wins this film a half decent review. 'Larry', the twisted character in 'A Soft Touch' is nothing short of hilarious, if you are willing...
Published on 2 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Acid House, 1 April 2003
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
After Welsh's highly acclaimed novel trainspotting was released it was widely thought that this would be his finest literary work. However The Acid House smacks you right in the face with it's gritty, dangerous and somewhat blurry eyed view of the people we love to loathe. I believe this is on par with welsh's finest and shows a light into the often unseen lives of those unfortunates gripped by poverty and lack of self worth evident in todays modern society, although this sometimes is not shown to it's full potential in this video. My advice to other review readers would be, BUY THE BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a soul darker than the very fabric of the universe you will find this film hilarious, 10 April 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] (DVD)
I find this film hilarious.

The Acid House was unfairly judged as an inferior Trainspotting imitation upon its release. It's completely inaccurate as director Paul McGuigan was offered the job before that movie was even released and deliberately held-off on watching so as not to be influenced by Danny Boyle's overrated drug-fest. The Acid House is actually a very colorful, sporadically atmospheric, and so totally over-the-top movie experience that it makes Trainspotting look pedestrian.

Adapted by Irvine Welsh himself from his own outrageous short story collection the film features three 35-minute stories of depravity, revenge, existentialism, and nihilism. Dark matter indeed, especially for a comedy, but there's literally not one minute without a moment of humor.

The first story features Robert Anthony Coyle, more commonly known as Boab, a fat, lazy, unambitious loser still living at home with his parents at the age of 23. In the space of a few hours he loses his place on his football team (the pretentious Granton Star), his friends, his girl, his job, and is kicked out of home. Feeling sorry for himself over a pint of lager in a scummy pub he meets God, who is none-too-pleased with Boab for simply folding with the cards he has been dealt in life instead of playing the game. He punishes Boab by turning him into a fly. Because God is evil.

The second story is about the enduring romance of Jonny and Catriona, a spineless door-mat of a man and his utterly disgusting, horrifically common wife. They have a baby, but the odds are very high that it's not even his, and live in a squalid flat in the now-demolished tenement rows of Niddrie in Edinburgh. Life is miserable enough until Larry, a wacky, aggressive, hedonistic playboy moves in upstairs. Within moments he's taken a shine to Catriona and wastes no time taking over Jonny's life, who just lets it happen. Larry is one of the funniest, most realistic, characters I've ever seen in any movie and Gary McCormack plays him to absolute perfection. His impromptu musical number as he sings 'Hot Love' by T-Rex and Marc Bolan is just plain brilliant.

The third and final story features Colin 'Coco' Bryce, a Hibs casual who takes an acid tab and has a very, very bad trip, hallucinating his tyrannical father before being actually struck by lightning. When he comes to he is in the body of a newborn child to a middle class couple (played by Martin Clunes and Gemma Redgrave). The baby is in Coco's body, and Coco's gorgeous girlfriend Kirsty is taking full advantage of the situation by recreating him as her perfect man.

It's all very funny, highly surreal stuff. And despite the metamorphosis, body-swapping, magic, and a truly repugnant production design I can't help but find it an accurate depiction of Scottish life. Spend five minutes in a deprived area of this country (and believe me there is a lot of deprivation) and you'll encounter half of the cast of this film.

One of my favorite movies, and I am virtually word-perfect. There are many other stories in Welsh's collection that can be made into short movies. I wonder if we'll ever get a sequel.

This movie needs to be on Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad but also very funny !, 19 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Three very different short stories! Not a sequel to trainspotting, as has already been mentioned, but worth watching if you are a fan of that type of hard hitting shocking flim. I wasn't as keen on the first short story, as i was on the final two, the second story, "A Soft Touch" features Kevin McKidd as Jonny,who's just about the softest touch you can imagine. His performance in this film reinforced what a talented & versatile actor this man is. You would never believe that the same person who plays such a doormat in this film also played headstrong sword weilding hardman Bothwell, in Gunpowder, Treason & Plot.
The last of the short stories, "The Acid House" was also good, & was also easily the most comical of the three films. Ewan Bremner plays a pill popping acid taking raver who gets struck by lightening whilst on a 'trip' & gets transported into the body of a middle class yuppie couples baby! You have to see it to believe it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Sequel to Trainspotting, 14 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I have purchased the DVD of this movie today after watching it over 12 months ago. If you are looking for a sequel to Trainspotting... forget it! This isn't a sequel, doesn't contain the same characters and is, in fact, completely unrelated to Trainspotting.
The book which the film is based on is written by the same author, Irvine Welsh, who has written a total of seven books. The book contains a number of surreal short stories written in a typically graphic and unrelenting style.
The film brings to life the three best stories... not an easy task.
If you are broad minded, can watch and interpret something a little more taxing than the average American rubbish that is thrown at us week in week out, then this could be the film for you. It has a thumping soundtrack, great visuals, and storylines which are not for the faint-hearted, but certainly good for an audience with imagination.
If you are looking for the return of Spud Murphy and Simon 'Sick Boy' Williamson, then look up the book 'Porno', which is a follow up to Trainspotting. Unfortunately, they haven't decided whether to make this into a film or not yet... fingers crossed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mad but funny, 16 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film contains three short stories each very different. the first story was ok funny in parts. The second was disturbing and not funny but the third was hilarious. Worth watching even if only for the last short story. Not like trainspotting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - a must see if you like Irvine Welsh, 28 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This film is a must see for fans of Irvine Welsh, and highly recommended for everyone else. The director stays close to the story line of the originals, whilst bringing them to haunting visual reality. Comedy, pathos and a good dose of rooting for the antihero, all wrapped up in a picture of life on the rocks that never looked bleaker. In the interests of Metropolitan fairness, readers should know the tales are set in Northern Edinburgh and *not* Glasgow as some reviewers would have you believe! Sit back, watch, enjoy and keep the children's ears well covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts, 2 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I bought this DVD in a second hand shop having read the book and my expectations were high. Having watched it, the same goes as with many other book turned films, it just didn't live up to them.
The comedy value here is probably what wins this film a half decent review. 'Larry', the twisted character in 'A Soft Touch' is nothing short of hilarious, if you are willing enough to see past his evil side. The thing is though, he is exactly like the majority of psychos I have ran into over the years - so lifelike it really smacks you in the face.
'Coco Bryce' they character in the final short film is another comical genius. The sequence at the end with the Hibs boys in the pub and the fans on the street really is the best bit of cinema in the full film, the sound on it quite breathtaking. All in all however, I personally think it was a mistake making this into a film, as the idea of three short stories together really doesn't work considering the stories aren't really film material. If they had waited until 'Porno' and made a sequence to Trainspotting this may have been a far better idea.
I you have seen this film and haven't read the book don't write it off, the book is well worthy of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just watch the third one, 12 Aug. 2003
By 
Mr. K. T. Johnsey "kris69" (Newport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Acid house is a compilation of 3 short films. The first 2 are okay, worth watching once, but nothing more needs to be said about them. You need to own this just for the third short film, also titled "the acid house". It is hysterical. The softer ones among you may say its on the verge of being sick, but if you want something to put on when your mates come round so that you can laugh till it hurts, get this and chuck on the last short film. Just make sure there's a few of your mates round so you can fully appreciate how funny it is. You wont see the funny side if your easily offended by foul mouthed, talking scottish babies, but if your not, then its worth the money just for the one short film, it's that good. Genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one good three average, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Andrew Sinclair (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
as my title says there is one good short video on this and three average. i bought this specifically for the granton star cause, which i think is by far and away the better short storey on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of classic Welsh, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Acid House [DVD] (DVD)
Irvine Welsh is a great writer, humorous and dark in equal measure, and excellent at portraying the seedy underbelly of Glasgow -- gangsters, druggies etc. There was some great writing here too, and performances, but the foul mouthed baby story, The Acid House itself, was the stand out. It was worth buying the DVD just for that segment. Absolutely brilliant and if all three parts had been that good I would have given it five stars.

I personally also love listening to the accents and the dialect. I've developed an ear for it now and I just love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Acid House [DVD]
The Acid House [DVD] by Paul McGuigan (DVD - 2009)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews