Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value
Like a hot knife through butter on Porcelain tiles. For the price, you'll not find better than these hole saws. I used one for 8 holes through 10mm porcelain tiles and it looks like it could easily do another 8.
Great product and oh so cheap
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by Jim

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Hole Wonder
Poor quality compared to others. Good for one hole only in normal ceramic tile despite plenty of water at slow speed.
Published 21 months ago by Som55Boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
I bought a range of these hole saws from 6-45mm. I used them on ceramic tiles and they cut well. The secret is to use a wooden guide template, slow drill speed, plenty of water and take your time. I made a template from 12mm plywood (use normal wood drills not the hole saws to cut template). Hold this firmly in place on the face side of the tile. Keep the hole saw lubricated with water at all times (I used a plant sprayer). Keep the drill speed slow and let the drill do the work - don't force it. it may take minute to cut one hole. Once the hole is started, say 1-2mm deep, the template can be removed and the cut will guide the saw. The instructions on the packet say start drilling at an angle, but I found that the bit wandered. Also, practice on an off-cut.

I have no idea how long they will last or how they will perform on harder porcelain or stone tiles. I have cut 4 with 1 saw and it is starting to dull but is still usable. This is to be expected and even some of the more expensive tile saws state they have a life of 2-6 holes. I am only a DIYer so they are good enough for my limited use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to go slow, 23 April 2012
By 
Cool Dog (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
A cordless drill/screwdriver is the way to go as slowly is the name of the game. It also really helps to drill a piece of wood with an appropriate bit (1 or 2 mmm oversize) and then clamp this to the tile to be drilled - use this as a template = no scratched tiles and a hole exactly where you want it. Also keep the saw/hole wet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
Like a hot knife through butter on Porcelain tiles. For the price, you'll not find better than these hole saws. I used one for 8 holes through 10mm porcelain tiles and it looks like it could easily do another 8.
Great product and oh so cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Chunky1234 (Reading. Berks.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
Had a major tiling job to do and thought I should buy the right tools for the job, and this is one of them. Just ensure you read the instructions and keep them wet when cutting - should last you for ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works and for the price cannot complain, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
Ordered this with Amazon next day delivery(so paid extra), but still worth the price as all the others online were charging very high postage for the same product or they had more expensive products. Needed it the next day.

Used it to drill holes into Grade 3 Porcelian and must say, they worked fine. As others have mentioned just make sure you start at 45 degree angle and then you will not waste your tile and will get a perfect hole. Other half impressed.

I uses a couple of batons in an X formation just to ensure no slippage, with the 45 degress being at the upper cross of the X. Once the bit is in the tile you can remove the batons and voila..clean smooth holes.

Drilled 3 holes with it and am sure could get a few more out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tie hole cutter, 27 April 2013
By 
S. Patterson "Chill Daddy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
Quick delivery. Product as described and works well on tile as well as wood, MDF, etc. needs water cooling to make it last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cutter to cut holes into porcelain tiles, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
I have used these items before and would recommend them for cutting holes in porcelain tiles, it did the job for me (approx 5 holes) and it is still usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Drill Bits, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
This item arrived well within the RTA and was adequately packages. Please see review for 22mm Silverline Diamond Dust Hole Saw, this applies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for money, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
does exactly what it says on the tin follow the instructions and you will get the result. I drilled holes in 12mm thick glass with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm (DIY & Tools)
does the job but it would be even better with a guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 196606 Diamond Dust Holesaw 18mm
4.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews