Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius!
Even though this dvd looks (and is) like an item thrown together in a hurry being two Thames TV programmes back to back on one disc - It doesn't detract from the comic genius that is Victor Borge.
If the production values were as good as the content this would be a five star item!!
Sadly modern comedy depends so much on the dark side of the human character being...
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Scarletking

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars johnsview
no problem with seller
just jumbled re-released clips, not well chosen, but at the price a nice reminder of the man, and of a time when comedy did not need to be noisy, vulgar or rushed
Published on 22 July 2011 by FussyJohn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius!, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
Even though this dvd looks (and is) like an item thrown together in a hurry being two Thames TV programmes back to back on one disc - It doesn't detract from the comic genius that is Victor Borge.
If the production values were as good as the content this would be a five star item!!
Sadly modern comedy depends so much on the dark side of the human character being full of vitriol and sheer nastiness.
Watching Borge on stage is to be reminded of an age when comedy was craftsmanship and the ability to gently poke fun without over-stepping the boundaries of human decency.
Being an accomplished concert pianist himself allows Borge to play with his audience and a full concert orchestra proving himself to be one of the greatest comedians of all-time.
If only more of his material were available on dvd in European format!
Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. N. Darby "nickydarby" (Mallorca, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
I have old videos of Victor, but they are inferior compared to this. It is hysterical. Old school humour that is pretty much dead and gone nowadays. Very clever, very sophisticated, and way ahead of it's time. Incredible feat to turn the pomposity of 'Classical' music on it's head and laugh out loud about it.
A masterpiece.Victor Borge - Live in Concert [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Full Show, 24 April 2010
By 
Ulrik Gutt-Nielsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
As a collector and fan it is wounderful finally to see a full, unabridged show, with encore. I saw 10 live shows and the show was always a one hour show with an added hour of fun encores. So this is a true gem.

Ulrik Gutt-Nielsen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Borge at his best, 28 Feb 2009
By 
E. I. P. Smith "Smudger Smith" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
For admirers of Victor Borge's offbeat and quirky sense of humour, this 2-DVD set is a must-have item. The musical skits, in which Borge is ably assisted by a coloratura soprano and (apparently) a member of the back-up team, are especially successful and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borge - the Maestro of Mirth and Quality musoc., 9 Feb 2010
By 
Alexander Cunningham "Alex Cunningham" (Airdrie Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
We've been fans of Victor Borge for years and years. He never failed to make us laugh. Perfect timing. Not a wasted word. His playing and his wit and his total command of an audience fascinated us. It was amazing how right up till the end of his professional life he could still sustain a one-man show.

Relive that experience Buy this DVD and see the man as he made his music and he will still make you laugh at the same time. This disc is a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very healthy moment, 16 July 2009
By 
Franciska Brys (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
Since laughing is good for our health, this DVD surely does wonders for our brain and body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars johnsview, 22 July 2011
By 
FussyJohn (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
no problem with seller
just jumbled re-released clips, not well chosen, but at the price a nice reminder of the man, and of a time when comedy did not need to be noisy, vulgar or rushed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comic genius., 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this DVD for my mother who had an old video of Victor Borge. She is a bit of an officinado of good music and says you can only bring comedy into it if your really good. This is a good all round "best of". If you appreciate quality comedy from a master of the piano, this is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was brilliant, 11 Sep 2009
By 
A. Lowe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the show very very much. Even my 11 years old daughter was laughing her head off...hahaha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] (DVD)
The cover of this DVD shows a middle aged Victor Borge which is why we bought this disk - we have a couple of DVDs of him doing shows when he's older and thought we might get something new and perhaps more energetic from this disk. Imagine our disappointment when the show started and not only is this the same age Victor as our other disks but it's also very much the same content with very few differences. Basically this is the same show as we already own with a few minor additions.

So if you've not got any Victor Borge already then this is probably going to be a real treat, but please be careful if you have got some as this might be a repeat. No phonetic punctuation or inflationary language either which is a must for every show no matter how many times it gets repeated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD]
Victor Borge - In Concert & Encore [DVD] by Victor Borge (DVD - 2005)
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews