Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
I don't care that this film has had bad reviews, or that lots of people don't like it. I watched it at the cinema last year and absolutely loved it. I know I'm a hopeless romantic, but it had me crying solidly for the last half an hour or so. Anyone who knows how hard it is to say goodbye to someone you really care about will understand this film.
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prinze & Stiles deserve better than too cute romantic comedy
"Down to You" is a romantic comedy that insists on substituting style for substance at key moments in the proceedings. It wants to take a cute approach to a serious relationship, as Al (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) and Imogen (Julia Stiles) do a retroactive post mortem on their relationship. The problem, as they both confide to the audience, is that they were too young when they...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Lawrance M. Bernabo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I don't care that this film has had bad reviews, or that lots of people don't like it. I watched it at the cinema last year and absolutely loved it. I know I'm a hopeless romantic, but it had me crying solidly for the last half an hour or so. Anyone who knows how hard it is to say goodbye to someone you really care about will understand this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prinze & Stiles deserve better than too cute romantic comedy, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
"Down to You" is a romantic comedy that insists on substituting style for substance at key moments in the proceedings. It wants to take a cute approach to a serious relationship, as Al (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) and Imogen (Julia Stiles) do a retroactive post mortem on their relationship. The problem, as they both confide to the audience, is that they were too young when they met each other, implying that if only the timing was right the relationship would be right. The tagline for this film was "A new comedy about giving first love a second chance," which goes beyond the boundaries of either description or foreshadowing enough to warrant losing a star on the rating on that basis alone.
Al and Imogen meet at a bar and click immediately, which seems to be more of a surprise to him than to her. She has sworn off dating so can enjoy her college experience, but she is not about to let a rule make her pass on Al who she considers to be cute. He has some strange dorm friends (Selma Blair, Shawn Hatosy, Zak Orth and Rosario Dawson) who want him to swear off on Imogen, but he manages to ignore them most of the time. Meanwhile, the damage caused by his famous chef father (Henry Winkler in a nice turn, with Lucy Arnaz as his wife) does not seem to be too bad since he has the family cooking gene, but we have to wait a long time in this movie for him to grow up enough to be almost good enough for her.
Director-writer Kris Isacsson has two personable performers but never really does right by them. She is the more serious of the pair (it will be a long time before Stiles is ever the flighty one in a romantic comedy; it takes a Jason Bourne to get her to back down in a film), and he never really succeeds in bridging the gap to the point where we believe these two have a real chance. Al is just not in her league. The problem is that ultimately this is not a cute film about a serious relationship but a cute film about a cute relationship, and that can be fraught with danger, especially when songs get used to cover up the problems. When the character of Monk in this film becomes the voice of reason, you know the train has left the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite enjoyable., 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although it seems that everyone else has grand designs for what is essentially a 'chick flick', I was taken by the film. Don't expect 'The Madness of King George', or anything that you can bang on about at the hip cafes, because its NOT THAT TYPE OF FILM. Its an enjoyable film that you can quite easily watch on a Tuesday evening, when there is nothing on the tele. And yes, both of the actors have done better, but yes, the soundtrack is rather good. And Selma Blair is quite good in it.
In short, all I say is don't expect something deep and meaningful, but do expect a nice, watchable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Film, 4 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This IS a strange film. Initially I watched it because I liked Julia Stiles' other films, however gradually throughout the film I began to like Freddie Prinze Jr too. People can get allsorts out of a film, and sometimes the best films are ones that most people rubbish, but thats because they dont understand them. This could well be one of those films. The plot is strange, but you can see the lead character Imogen struggling to find her identity within a couple. I personally struggled to understand her committment to the relationship (until the end) - but can you tell me everyone it enthusiastic about their relationship? I'd say try it - you don't have to understand it to find something appealing about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice - A lot better than some of the reviewers would have you believe, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Down to You (Amazon Instant Video)
Almost discarded this after reading some of the reviews but am glad I didn't.

It was light and amusing as a romantic comedy should be. The talking to which another reviewer referred didn't irritate and added to rather than distracted from the movie.

Recommended for light viewing :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "down to you" whether you buy it or not..., 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] (DVD)
a great film, the acting may be wanting, but the narrative is fantastic, seriously - everyone should watch this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] (DVD)
Superb item, i would recommend this item, I love this item which i purchased, i would consider this item without a doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, terrible film though!, 22 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I stupidly bought this dvd after seeing the very well put together trailer. I thought it would be really romantic and sweet - it is, don't get me wrong, but I just hate the style of it. The two main characters are not at all endearing and the depiction of university life is so untrue. Unless you go or went to a university where everyone wears ball gowns and talk as if they're in a shakespeare play. The acting is really wooden and I know Freddie and Julia can do better because I've seen it! This film is so boring that I struggled to watch it all the way through the first time so I doubt I'll ever watch it again! Maybe it will be your cup of tea but it wasn't mine. Basically if you like films like American Pie and Road Trip and you expect this to be as funny and romantic then you'll be bitterly dissapointed. However if gloomy and kind of artistic films are your thing you may enjoy this. It reminds me slightly of Cruel Intentions in it's style but unfortunately it is no way near as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - A MUST See, 29 Jun 2006
By 
RB (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I first saw this film the other week on the tv, and its not a film i had heard of nor seen before, but after seeing this film i was hooked and had to buy it, so i went ahead and purchased it, and its a film which never looses its touch, i have watched it a few times already and every time it has been as good if not better than the last. A true romeo, Juliet type love film which starts with an almost love at first sight senario, and thoughout the film is sweet to the core, perfect love, and just makes you wanna go arghh. Great acting from Julia Stiles and Freddie Prince Jr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'M BEING GENEROUS, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have to say in giving this film one star i'm being generous. The film has two up-and-coming young stars both of which are too annoying to watch, the only thing that saves this film is the end credits - highly enjoyable because the film has then finished and you can celebrate. The only thing that saves this film is Henry Winkler (the man!!!!!). But, even if you love him you won't love this 'Down To Poo'!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down To You [DVD]
Down To You [DVD] by Lauren German (DVD - 2008)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews