Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference, 28 Dec 2007
This is the kind of book my doctor advises me to read, it's a very good reference, as well as Dr. Thomas Brown himself for his work in this field. I was pleasantly surprised to find out I had been lucky enough to read it before contacting my doctor, I had been searching in the right place, thank God.

For someone who wants to understand thoroughly AD/HD this is a must. Probably not as down to earth or apparently simple as some "practical" books you find here and there, but that's mostly because of some sections where the whole chemical or structural process is explained. He makes more of a medical approach to the problem. Yet, the personal experiences he uses in the book help us a lot to see how that affects real people, in common day to day situations. Sometimes amusing, others dramatic or even tragic.

In my opinion, you may find very useful to read this book plus Edward Hallowell's/John J. Ratey's "Driven to Distraction" and "Delivered from Distraction". These last two's approach is slightly more simple and will help you to get a wider perspective.

I guess Dr. Brown's seems to be more complete and structured for someone who wants an acurate understanding of this issue, but I think they actually complete each others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent book., 24 Nov 2007
By 
Very informative and well written. Nowhere near as technical as I thought it would be but full of interesting facts none the less.

Highly recommended!

I liked this book so much that the Library are chasing me to give it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Tom for Great Book, 21 Nov 2005
Dr Thomas Brown is really well known and respected for all of his work for ADHD and in this book he brings his knowledge both academic and reality of living with the condition through all he has learnt from patients into a great book to span through from childhood into adulthood.
The book itself is grounded by the scientific details of ADHD but it is just right for those of us who find books that are either too scientific or medical difficult to read as the author uses plain language to talk in detail of all of the aspects of life for the person with ADHD.
I am sure that as people read this book will find themselves reading about themselves or those they are either living, working with or love on virtually every page. The challenges that are faced with everyday life are covered from childhood through to adults which is fantastic as it gives ideas for families on how to help a child overcome some of the challenges they may face as they grow up and also for the adults it gives ideas how to work with things now.
The author talks about the correct treatment and monitoring for those with ADHD and how important it is to get this right to give the optimum benefit and also dismisses a lot of the myths that surround ADHD which is vital.
In all this is a must for parents to help their child, adults to help them learn more, teachers to enable them to help students and medical professionals to help with the recognition and evaluation procedure.
In all a book for everyone who wants to know and understand more about ADHD from someone who has done many years of work within the world of ADHD.
Caroline Hensby
adders.org
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for people with ADD, 14 Mar 2012
By 
simon edgley (surbiton, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attention Deficit Disorder: The Unfocused Mind in Children and Adults (Yale University Press Health & Wellness) (Kindle Edition)
Turns out there is a reason for having ADD, and its no-ones fault.
A reason, black and white that no-one can argue with.
Well, you can apparently so long as you also think the world is flat and that the Sun orbits us.

Its not your fault; you don't need to keep making allowances for the people all around you.
And if they won't make allowances for you, tough!

This book is all about facts, not fads or whims, but what causes ADD and what can prevent the symptoms; because there is no cure.
And then how to deal with it as once the ADD is understood and can be allowed for, there is 30+ years of dealing with things like: constant disappointment / patience / frustration
Add to that if you have ADD you also have a wickedly increased chance of having something else (Aspergers / bi-polar).
Oh, I could go on...

When it gave the medical explanation of each type or thing I thought, I don't have that.
Then I read the real world example given by his patient; turns out all the things I consider to be my character traits are nothing more than classic chronic ADD :)

So do yourself, and the people around you, a favour.
Read this book, get the facts and start correcting all the miss-informed ignoramuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and well written, 27 Oct 2005
By 
C. A. Rousell "chris128542" (Bath,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A new and interesting book on people with ADD covering all ages but mainly for adults to read. It gets very scientific at times when explaining what's going on in the brain and offers no drug-free alternatives, but still a fascinating book. It has been very useful as I have a teenage daughter recently diagnosed, and a husband who now realises that he has it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book on Understanding Everything About ADD - Excelllently Researched & Very Well Written, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. T. White (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is extremely well written and full of interesting anecdotes from its author's many patients & his most detailed research. It is not technical, as other reviewers have observed, and very nicely strikes the perfect middle ground between readability and being genuinely useful to anyone who wishes to understand the disorder for what it is. Note too that this book was published within the past few years, and, as such, includes updated research on the subject - much of which is absent in the pioneering books of 1997 & 98.

Loved ones may also greatly benefit from reading the many recounts in this book from other sufferers, and absolutely recognise the disorder as it appears in others. The book's chapters on how ADD affects each stage of a sufferer's life are, furthermore, particularly useful. I'm happy too in reporting that it's not Americanised and is clearly written for an international audience - even the resources section has further worldwide guidance for those seeking help.

Lastly, the mere fact that there are over 25 pages of reference notes should give anyone an idea as to just how much painstaking work has gone into writing this book and making all that medical, psychological & scientific research accessible to the general reader. Dr. Brown is most definitely to be commended for producing such an excellently readable book. This book should remain one of the most important texts in its field for many years to come. And as such, you too should be greatly pleased to purchase it. Full marks for sure! And I hope you found my review to be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody brilliant, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good and thorough introduction to the neuroscience and medical facts of ADD from a qualified and experienced expert.

He takes on the doubters and addresses the prejudices against ADD /ADHD calmly and with un-deniable facts, figures and research. Interesting info on where some of this prejudice comes from too, for example, the Church of Scientology actually *funds* groups to lobby against ADD research and medications? (yes, the same ones who think that you can cure cancer and depression with chewy vitamins and jumping on sofas).

Highly recommended if you have been recently diagnosed, or are close to someone with ADD.
Yes it is fairly detailed and science-heavy in some places, but worth persevering with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb in depth book, 25 Sep 2013
By 
M. Mcdermott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a few ADHD books and this is probably the most comprehensive.

Not as easy to read as `Driven to Distraction', but more factual information which is useful and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews