Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite good mic for home use
A good mic for home use. Not particulary suited to Garageband as it records too quietly. Better performance with Logic Pro or the free Audacity.
A well made product if a little pricey.
Published on 20 Jun. 2009 by Mr. Paul C. Stork

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Background Hissing
Be careful you are buying this for the right purpose. The sound is perfect, and gives your voice a wonderful depth which sounds very crisp. But beware the background noise! If you are going to have audio in the background thats fin, put if you are doing something like a podcast with no background music etc, this is NOT for you.
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. J. R. Ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite good mic for home use, 20 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
A good mic for home use. Not particulary suited to Garageband as it records too quietly. Better performance with Logic Pro or the free Audacity.
A well made product if a little pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 Mar. 2011
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
I'm having great results with this microphone so far. It's perfect for anyone who is setting up a home studio but does not have the budget or space for all the pro equipment. Not only is it a mic but it works as an audio interface so it really is a plug in and go piece of kit. Very simple to grasp. The audio interface feature also means you can plug in compatible instruments directly... things like electric guitars. You'll even get all the cables you need for this included in the box.

I use the mic with Logic Express and get very professional sounding results. I use mostly for vocals but have also plugged my electroacoustic guitar into the instrument line with promising results. It's just as sensitive as any compressor mic... in that it will annoyingly pick up random sounds such as licking your lips. Although, a plus for me is that it doesn't really pick up much ambience from outside. I also record in the same room as my computer and that doesn't seem to notice on my tracks either... which is good!

Pretty much if you're looking for professional sounding vocals but don't have much need to invest in an interface you will get great results from this piece of equipment. I'm a singer/songwriter that works primarily with a midi keyboard and very few live instruments and it's perfect for that. So particularly great for those making popular music. I would definitely recommend getting the shock mount to go with it though (and a pop shield if you don't already have one). Obviously, for the better results decent recording software is a must...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars samson g track, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
brilliant peice of kit, so simple and easy to use.. just connect via the usb and youre ready to go. this is not just a microphone, its a recording solution. amazing value for money, so simple even an idiot can use it. personally i hope samson bring out a new model, dont get me wrong this one is fantastic and well worth every penny but i cant wait to see what else samson can do with it. a no brainer.. 9 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Clarity, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
I bought this mainly to use for doing some youtube stuff. I gives quite astounding sound quality for the money, keep your blue yeti nonsense and give me one of these any day. One issue i ran into was a problem with hissing. This seems fairly common and is a windows 7 issue with mic boost that is fairly easy to solve settings so If you've seen worries about it cast them aside. One of the best features of this mic is that you can receive active sound from it in your headphones when it's live via a mini jack in the base of the mic. Also there's no need for a sound card for it either as it has a really decent one built in. Overall one of the best buys i've made on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samson G Track USB Condenser Mike., 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
I had been looking for a good, not too expensive, uncomplcated USB microphone for some time. I stumbled across the Samson G Track on a YouTube clip where some guy was giving a demo of its functions. Impressed, I bought it, and I have to say it's one of the best pieces of kit I have owned. Simple to set up and use, its ideal for the beginner who wants to get started in recording his/her voice or instrument or both. The accompanying software (Cakewalk Sonar LE) is a bit of a handful for the beginner but I enjoy tinkering with it and becomming familiar with its capabilities. I'm still learning, and after a month don't think I'll ever be fully up to speed. It's got more functions than you'll ever need, but don't let that put you off. The microphone is well worth the money and there are plenty of tutorials on YouTube to get you on your way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORKS WELL AFTER CONSIDERABLE MESSING ABOUT!, 10 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Works well if used in conjunction with a Pop Shield.
Please note that supplied software only works with Windows despite the manufacturers claims.

Manufacturer states that the item will work without driver software on MAC OS 10.5 and above.
This is partially true. However, it took some degree of experimentation to get the mic to
function correctly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 8 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
If you're after a plug-and-play device that lets you record a decent quality pieces straight to your laptop then this is it. The vocal can be slightly flat and them mic's capacity seems to struggle at the top notes but it is great for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting the stand took me a Google search to fix, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
I bought this elsewhere for more than the Amazon price. Should have bought it here. The stand did not attach. I searched and one helpful Amazon reviewer of a similar mic mentioned removing the US fitting. This is an internal thread on the attachment that connects to the stand. Unscrew this 'internal threaded connector' with a kitchen knife or large screwdriver and 'voila' the stand fits! Microphone itself is very good indeed. JP :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they love this, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
My daughter and her teenage friends say this just does the business, and it has great sound - they think it's 'professional'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Samson G-Track, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. Gareth Clark "Gazareth" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson G Track GM1U USB Condenser Microphone with Cakewalk Sonar (Electronics)
I'm an aspiring voice actor who realized he needed good quality recording equipment at home. I chose the G-Track after a lot of Umming and Ahhing between it and the "Blue Yeti", because it is the best mic WITH a built-in mixer in this price range. The option to plug in an instrument or other input won the toss (this way my brother can use it for his musical pursuits). The results from the g-track are GOOD. Undoubtedly, the results from traditional, more expensive, "professional" equipment would be better, but this will suit my purposes perfectly. A lot of people complain of a hiss, but with some reading up on the internet and some tweaking pre and post-recording the quality is spot on for vocals.
A GREAT BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews